• Jay Bharat

  • (7)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Lacto
Indian
Fast food
Take-out

Indian vegetarian restaurant with an original location in Artesia, CA; this one est. 2013. Specializes in Gujarati cuisine. Uses dairy but not egg. Spacious interior. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-2:00pm, Tue-Sun 5:00pm-8:00pm, Sat-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Jay Bharat
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by mmeghani

hetalshah24

Points +678

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Awesome gujurati food!

Loved that the owner is a vegan himself and is able to customize many of the dishes. The undhiyu is amazing! The food is not crazy spicy but is flavorful and enjoyable. The kacchi dabeli is good as well.

Pros: Vegan gujurati thali option, Food is very flavorful , Reasonably priced

Advertisement

NilangGor

Points +22

Vegan
04 Jul 2021

Delicious & Vegan Friendly

I love Jay Bharat, Newark and frequently enjoy their delicious vegan food! Their menu has lots of vegan options and staff is very friendly. My personal favorites are Mini Thali, Dabeli, Sev Khamani, Pantra, Puran Poli, Garlic Dosa and list goes on :)

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-04

vegarao

Points +86

Vegan
12 Nov 2019

Vegan friendly

I've been visiting this restaurant for a few years since it has a well marked vegan menu which is not common for an Indian restaurant. One of the owners is vegan and gluten-free.

I usually have the shaak (roti and 2 curries) or the thali along with a snack (e.g. vada pav, khaman) and it's never disappointed me. The undhiyu curry could get a little oily though.

Pros: Quick service and friendly staff, Vegan options and menu, Good value and small portions

Cons: Slightly greasy curry

SFRobbie

Points +1060

Vegan
28 Mar 2018

A notch above

Completely vegetarian Indian restaurant with a menu that identifies vegan and vegan optional items, as well as most popular items. Almost all of the customers in the restaurant were South Asian which I think is always a good sign. The host at the register was excited to know it was our first time visiting and she was very happy to recommend great vegan dishes. We tried the Gujarati Thali without the raita and the Samosa Chaat, both of which were incredibly good. (See accompanying photos of each.) Great variety on the Thali, and really yummy mixed together on a roti bread. We also really enjoyed the Masala Dosa which is a big crepe with a potato and onion mix inside. The crepe part was a little oily but very thin and delicious when mixed with the coconut and tomato chutneys. The restaurant is very casual with easy parking, and unlike a prior review, there were plenty of tables available and dining-in was perfectly pleasant. Definitely worthy of return visits!

Updated from previous review on 2018-03-28

Pros: Good value, lots of vegan options, Helpful staff

soma

Points +115

Vegetarian
04 Sep 2016

Excellent Gujarati vegetarian restaurant in Silicon Valley

Excellent Gujarati vegetarian/vegan food, reasonably priced, fast service. Definitely worth a trip or more.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-04

Pros: Authentic Indian vegetarian food , Large menu, Good tasting and reasonably priced

SushantRao

Points +47

Vegan
26 Jun 2015

Good vegan options

Their menu clearly states "vegan" and "vegan optional" although I suspect some items like the vada pav may have butter on it, to be sure you should ask for it vegan. Otherwise this is probably my favorite veg Indian restaurant in the bay. For the most authentic experience try the Undhiyo. Not great for dine in as its always busy.

Pros: Delicious

Cons: Not great dine in experience

vegarao

12 Nov 2019

We've been reassured many times that the vada pav has only oil. On the other hand, the procured bread might have some milk derivatives.

mmeghani

Points +526

Vegan
13 Mar 2014

Great Indian Gujarati vegetarian food

Great Indian Gujarati vegetarian food. The restaurant is clean, with modern furnishings & classical paintings. The service is friendly, helpful & fast. The food is excellent. This joins the ranks of the best vegetarian food in the SF bay area. They have various thalis, which are complete meals in themselves. Today, I tried their Bombay Quesadilla, which was very good, & loved their eggless cupcake! For good drinks, their chaas is also very good. Great place for lunch or dinner.

Pros: vegetarian, vegan friendly, Gujarati food




This page has been viewed 3384 times.