• Jacksons Wholefoods

  • (17)
    14
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Small wholefoods store that sells many different types of organic food, such as flour, sweets, canned goods and muesli bars. No fresh produce. Also has cosmetics, hygiene products and essential oils. Open Mon-Sat 09:00-17:00.


Venue map for Jacksons Wholefoods
Ā© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by Sally1

thetofutravellers

Points +4309

Vegan
26 Oct 2023

Large selection

I was surprised when I entered this shop. It looks very small, but inside it is almost like a very small supermarket, as the selection is so varied. The owner really manages to offer many, many things within such a small space. We only bought some biscuits because we already had all the supplies we needed, but we would have liked to try a lot more.
Apart from staples such as grains, canned food, tea, condiments and spreads, there are also sweets (biscuits, chocolates, muesli bars,ā€¦). The shop also has toiletries, hygiene products, detergents, health supplements and essential oils.
Not everything is vegan, so always check!

- Visited in 2023 -

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-26

Pros: Many things on offer, Good location

Advertisement

siemsdenise

Points +134

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

Quick visit

No veggie broth and no fresh vegetables or fruits. Kind of disappointing.

fabienroche

Points +1094

Vegan
08 May 2023

Lovely little shop with many items.

Lovely little shop with many vegan and/or organic items. Great choice of faux cheeses and faux meats and many other staple foods and drinks. ļæ¼

Pros: Great choice of items, Lovely staff

Cons: Not everything is organic - pay attention

toratas

Points +627

Vegan
14 Apr 2023

Nice to have

It's a nice option if you are looking for anything specific that the regular shop doesn't offer.

HattiebluebellšŸŒ±

Points +847

Vegan
06 Jun 2022

Good little local store

Nice little store full of items you wonā€™t find in the co-op over the road. Dried beans and pulses. Bombay mix and nutty snacks. Small fridge where we bought some vegan black pudding, tofu sausage and Bonsan cheese spread. They also had a couple of types of tofu & some vegan cheese

Pros: Nice whole foods shop

avocado_jess

Points +2682

Vegan
25 May 2022

Good for self-catering

Some good bits here if self-catering, but quite a small fridge section. Worth a stop to top up a picnic.

LynnCVoss

Points +202

Vegan
06 Nov 2021

Good place for snacks

I popped in Jackson Foods to look for something to eat and to stock up on snacks.

I was able to get vegan cheese, Tofurky, vegan oatcakes and vego chocolate.

The oatcakes, tofurky and cheese made for a decent lunch and had some left for a snack or two.

Iā€™m glad this place was here!

Pros: vegan options , good selection , nice people

Cons: none.

rubis

Points +50

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

Small town heath food shop

We were able to get what we needed for 6 days on Skye here. No produce, as is standard. The things you might want in a larger store are absent: plant based yogurts, kombucha, hummus or dips, but a number of options for vegan cheeses, tofu and plant based protein. The shop keeper is knowledgeable on what she carries and can offer advice. She does manage to keep a lot in a small space. It was wonderful to have this spot as it's the only option on the island right now.

Updated from previous review on 2019-12-26

Pros: Vegan options in a fairly remote place!, Variety of cheeses and plant based protein

Cons: Limited selection

Simon_Keller

Points +1449

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

Small but some nice option

Friendly service, some nice (standard vegan) options, but good to see a store like this in a small town. I had the organic falafels out of the fridge, they were nice (but very expensive - over Ā£4).

Pros: Vegan / veggie everywhere

Cons: Pricey

anelad8

Points +50

Vegan
18 Jul 2019

Nothing fancy but does the job

Don't expect to find anything too exotic but they carry basic vegan products (tofu, egg replacement, vegan energy bars, mock meats etc) and lots of tea. Other than that not much you wouldn't find at the co-op across the street.

Moontje

Points +123

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

A small but nice shop

A small shop with al lot of Vegan products

LindaMaria

Points +182

Vegan
02 Apr 2019

I expected a little more

From all those 5 stars reviews my expectations might have been a bit high.

Pros: Vegan cheeses

Cons: Expensive

hayls04

Points +326

Vegan
10 May 2018

Wonderful shop

Happened upon this shop, and it was a saviour! Great selection of products and snacks.

xJasperx

Points +96

Vegan
10 Aug 2016

Great shop!

I had read on HappyCow that the fridge of this wholefoods shop is always well-stocked, and it was! We wanted to get some things to cook our own breakfast and dinner for a few days and found everything we needed.

Pros: Good selection of mock meats and vegan cheese.

Cons: None

Marianne1967

Points +1935

Vegan
24 Aug 2015

good range for vegans

I find it so great to find a shop like this on Skye. The shopkeeper told me a lot of people are surprised there is a shop like this on the island; I think the same. This shop has a lot to offer for vegans and vegetarians like cleaning products, vegan cheese, vegan chocolate and a lot of other ingredients and ready to make wholesome veggie loaf mix from Artisan grains.

Pros: full range of products, friendly shop, lot for vegans

Rosa and Joe

Points +422

Vegan
17 Aug 2015

Great shop

Really handy shop with lots of great stuff for picnics and cooking - smoked tofu, various v bites (sausages), seaweed, miso, tvp chunks - surprisingly great range of vegan stuff for a small shop in a remote place.

Pros: Friendly, Great range of vegan stuff, Gorgeous location

Sally1

Points +36

Vegan
07 Feb 2014

Compact with extensive range

This was a real find. The space is quite small but the shop has an extensive range of vegan foods and ingredients.




This page has been viewed 6778 times.