Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Salad bar
Juice bar

Hare Krishna center that offers a set menu Mon-Sat 12-3pm which includes main dish, soup, salad, juice, and dessert. Sells wheat bread, ready-to-eat food and other desserts as well. Also hosts cooking classes and events. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Govinda Gopal - Govindas
© OpenStreetMap contributors

46 Reviews

First Review by Nibor6000

NasSkorobogatovSaad

Points +18

Vegan
03 Feb 2024

Una buena alternativa para los veganxs!

Muchas opciones veganas! Desde almuerzos hasta platos a la carta

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-03

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas! ✨

Advertisement

Clarissa1dc

Points +141

Vegan
02 Dec 2023

Pure food-do not miss!

I loved this place! Wholesome food at incredible price in cute clean shop. Amazing place

DDDennis

Points +1279

Vegan
16 Sep 2023

Went twice (set menu + a la carte)

Went here twice, once for the set menu on a weekday and once for the a la carte on the weekend. We enjoyed both meals.

Calm place with friendly people

Sophie&Nico

Points +235

Vegan
26 Aug 2023

Cheap lunch

We ordered the Chuaflan, Churrasco and empanadas. The empanadas were definitely the highlight. The other two dishes were quite bland, but the servings were big and it cost $11USD in total. (No menu del dias on Sundays)

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-26

HayleyBee

Points +436

Vegan
27 Jul 2023

Excelente

Me encantó la experiencia. La comida estuvo rico y me dieron un montón… una sopita; un plato fuerte de arroz, curry de berenjena y una ensaladita; postre era higos y jugo también. La gente era muy amables y atentas. Después, fui al templo ahí. Buen precio de $3.50.

madijuana

Points +91

Vegan
30 Jun 2023

Big hype but no flavour

I arrived at around 2.55 and watched one customer be served the buffet lunch. the man behind the buffet counter told me they were no longer doing buffet lunch even though he still had food in the dishes? He then proceeded to serve other people (who were there before me but not in any queue) and then told me I could order a la carte. I ordered the first dish, which was a sort of fried rice, and it literally tasted of nothing, incredibly bland, I poured the whole bowl of aji on simply to give it flavour. Then when I went to pay no one was around and I had to track someone down to pay. This was really unfortunate because the reviews are good and I hope that they can go back to their old ways because the vibe was weird and the food was disappointing.

Pros: Seemed like a nice space/building

Cons: Would not serve me even though there was food , Bland, disappointing, uninspired dish, Strange customer service

PauliusZenevicius

Points +117

Vegan
01 Mar 2023

Filling, healthy, cheap vegan food

The restaurant is located in a Krishna temple, that's built inside a beautiful colonial house.

They serve lunch deals for $3.5, which is a standard price in the market.

Their lunches are always vegan.

They also have a restaurant that opens later in the day and offers vegan and vegetarian food: salchipapas, burgers, steaks, desserts, smoothies, empanadas, tacos, etc.

The empanadas are AMAZING.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-01

Pros: $3.5 lunch deal (soup, main, desert, drink), Amazingly delicious Empanadas

Cons: The alacarte restaurant opens from 14:30

HashBrown

Points +257

Vegan
25 Feb 2023

Lovely place to have lunch

I ate here twice during my time in Quito. The set lunch menu is $3.50 for soup, rice, veg, salad and a pakora plus a drink. Nice heartwarming food and really friendly staff. The vegan cake (Coconut and raisin) is lovely

sannelaan

Points +88

Vegan
29 Jan 2023

Many options, cheap

Cheap Indian food. You can get a whole daily menu for 3,50. Things on the menu are also 3 dollar. Almost everything is vegan. The have also plantbased milk, vegan desserts. This centre also has free yoga and meditation classes.

Pros: Many options, Cheap

LaAcida666

Points +375

Vegetarian
27 Jan 2023

Lugar pacífico 🙏

La comida es rica y accesible. Amé el gato 🐱

MariskaBouterse

Points +64

Vegan
17 Jan 2023

Lovely place and food

Simply love this place, I go here several times a week for lunch because the food is always healthy and I love the atmosphere.

They have a daily buffet which is very healthy and a great menu, with some healthy and some more fast-food like things. All have always been great, and very cheap for the big portions.

I also love their yoga classes and all the people there are really friendly!

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-17

unruly_traveller

Points +287

Vegan
10 Jan 2023

Amazing location, food, and staff!

This place is awesome. You can get a satisfying and delicious meal from the buffet line for $3 for lunch. I also went back and ordered from the menu - I was not disappointed. It’s in a great location, has a nice feel, and the staff is lovely. Would highly recommended! When I was there the lunch was all vegan.

Timbur

Points +16

Vegan
10 Jan 2023

Excellent food, excellent people

This is a great choice for vegan backpackers on a budget that are close to the historic district of Quito. They serve lunch cafeteria style for only $3 which came with soup, a large plate of food, desert and juice. Everything was vegan and delicious for the price. I've also ordered from their menu before which has cheap, tasty and filling options. I highly recommend getting at least one empanada even if it's to go for later. They're only $1 and so good!!

Pros: Cheap, Tasty, Filling

VeggiJakob

Points +40

Vegetarian
25 Dec 2022

Amazing place

Delicious and cheap vegan meal, including a soup, main course and natural juice. In addition to the daily meal, they offer meat alternatives a la carte. The place has a Yogi-like setting

kentsta

Points +16

Vegan
21 Dec 2022

Unreliable - were out of food by 2:15

We showed up and we’re told they have no more food. This was 2:15pm. So have a backup plan.

Cons: Unreliable

OrangKnitan

Points +1121

Vegan
22 Oct 2022

Perfect

The set lunch including soup, main, dessert and drink was really good.
And so was the home brewed kombucha.

Pros: Inexpensive , Good portions, Lots of vegan options

HattieBailey

Points +44

Vegan
02 Oct 2022

Tasty vegan food

There are plenty of vegan options. We tried a friend rice, vegetable and soya "meat" dish which was lovely and a huge portion. Very good for the price, especially in Quito.

Pros: Cheap and tasty vegan food

livyjasmine

Points +19

Vegetarian
15 Sep 2022

Cheap, good vibe

We went here around 2pm on a weekday. The location is central and the place is so peaceful to sit. We had homemade kombucha (super cheap) and pineapple juice. The service was pretty slow and when it came to order, they told us they weren’t able to make most of the menu that day. The a La carte dishes were super cheap however, about $3.50. In the end I went for a pasta dish which was a bit of an unusual taste, but nice none-the-less. Definitely good if you’re veggie/vegan but not the most amazing food I’ve ever had.

CamilaGalvez

Points +1335

Vegan
30 Aug 2022

Increibleeeee

La comida del día es deliciosa, los platos a la carta ni que decir, no pensé q volvería a comer pinchos y además son de seitán. Los postres son un must try.

Pros: Pinchos de Seitán, Postres increíbles , Precio excelente

maxineowen

Points +230

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Tasty cheap food

We went 2 days in a row, the lunch special is always vegan and only $3. You get a soup, main, drink and a little sweet. They also have an al la carte menu which looked delicious and very good prices. There’s a little shop attached which sold vegan cakes and cookies too.

Pros: Very good prices , Tasty food , Mostly vegan

Minnemade

Points +1160

Vegan
01 Mar 2022

Very cheap vegan place close to the basilica

All vegan lunch for just 3 dollars: soup, main, dessert and juice. The restaurant is part of a hare Krishna center and you can take part in classes and workshops. They also have a small cafeteria where they sell cakes and sandwiches, all vegetarian, some vegan. We had the coconut-raisin cake and it was heavenly. Nice place for lunch when you're visiting the city center of Quito.

Pros: All vegan lunch, Cafetaria with a few vegan options, Workshops and yoga classes

LAnna

Points +269

Vegan
21 Feb 2022

Excellent food & very cheap

A lot of vegetarian and vegan option, the price are very cheap and the place is lovely

VicCatalà

Points +20

Raw
24 Oct 2021

Nice and cheap

Vegan food, good atmosphere, menu for $3.5, and other options. Also cultural center with yoga, meditation, mandalas...

AbiStevens

Points +70

Vegan
12 Oct 2021

Really tasty food

Great vegan food, really reasonable price, friendly staff and lovely building

LisaSpykers

Points +6714

Vegan
21 Feb 2021

Cheap lunch, good food

For $3.5, I had a quinoa and potato soup, a big plate of rice, polenta, salad, seitan, and deep-fried vegetable ball, some poached strawberries for dessert, and a pineapple drink. It's a pretty good deal and it was all vegan. The food isn't mind-blowing but certainly tasty enough. The service is friendly and the courtyard is a lovely place to eat in.

Teji

Points +189

Vegan
18 Mar 2020

special religious restaurant

food is good, sometime just ok but its so cheap !
for 6 peoples i paid 23 dollars !
i like this place because it give me good vibes

Pros: price

robertodb

Points +302

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

Amazing food, 3 courses for 3.25$!!!

I love this place. Lovely calm atmosphere with beautiful and friendly Harre Krishna devotees cooking and serving.

The food is all very fresh and full of flavour, lot's of variety on one plate!!

3 courses plus a drink for 3.25$ , much better food than in much more expensive establishments in Quito.

All my lunches here were fully vegan. Highly recommended!!

Pros: Fully vegan lunches, Insane value for money , Incredible food and 3 courses!

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 10622 times.