Vegan-friendly
Western
Chilean

A simple, colorful Rastafarian vegetarian restaurant. Call ahead as it closes one day a week. Relocated from Caracoles 169. Open Mon 10:30am-10:00pm, Wed-Sun 10:30am-10:00pm. Closed Tue.


Venue map for Estrella Negra
© OpenStreetMap contributors

81 Reviews

First Review by mikewinnemuller

_rocha____

Points +2165

Vegan
21 Feb 2024

Best Vegan Option in San Pedro

We practically became VIP customers at this restaurant. We went for lunch and dinner practically every day. Good food, not too expensive and quite honest. It practically "saved" us during our time in Atacama. The service was good, although not excellent, but very pragmatic. The location is good, in downtown.

Praticamente nos tornamos clientes VIPs neste restaurante. Íamos no almoço e no jantar, praticamente todos os dias. Comida boa, não muito cara e bastante honesta. Praticamente nos “salvou” neste período em que tivemos no Atacama. Atendimento foi bom, embora não excelente, mas bem pragmático. A localização é boa, bem no centro da cidade.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-21

Advertisement

StiinaKristal

Points +84

Vegan
13 Feb 2024

Great place!

Great vegan food - they have huge empanadas, vegan pancakes, falafel bowls, sandwiches, fresh juices and more.

siemsdenise

Points +152

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

Mostly vegan place

Healthy vegan food, I had the falafel bowl.

Pros: Lots of vegetables , Tasty sauce

Cons: Slow preparation, don’t arrive starving

Vivis_Rod

Points +42

Vegan
05 Jan 2024

Mushroom Burger

Super tasty! I loved it! Also I loved the restaurant #Veganuary

mariamc27

Points +1071

Vegan
04 Jan 2024

Delicious

The lady who runs this does a great job - epanadas were great and we LOVED the banana, oat and coconut smoothie - delicious!!

Loenny

Points +1234

Vegan
17 Dec 2023

Very good

The seitan estrella was tasty and filling but not particularly healthy. Had a chocolate something for dessert and it was pretty good as well.

HeinrichRau

Points +13

Vegetarian
09 Dec 2023

Erster Eindruck von Chile

Die Falafel und die Salate waren optisch und geschmacklich einfach perfekt.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-09

annaxenia

Points +57

Vegan
07 Nov 2023

Tasty!

We had a vegan burger with Seitan and a vegan empanada. It was very delicious!

JoeyR

Points +326

Vegan
30 Oct 2023

Vegan snickers!

We had a lively dinner here, vegan chillean food followed by home made vegan snickers!

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-30

Pros: Snickers, Chillean

CassdeBrice

Points +50

Vegan
29 Oct 2023

Tasty and well-served

I had the seitán empanada (the seitán had an incredible texture) and the pastel de choclo with the traditional Chilean salad, all very very tasty and in big portions !
Je recommande 100%

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-29

ChrisBrandt

Points +24

Vegan
03 Sep 2023

Tolle Auswahl an authentisch veganen Gerichten

Eine tolle Auswahl an authentischen, frischen und leckeren veganen Gerichten. Die dort arbeitende Person war überaus freundlich und die Preise waren angemessen.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-03

Pros: Auswahl an veganen Gerichten , Geschmack , Atmosphäre

okbat666

Points +90

Vegan
27 Aug 2023

Good options

One of our best meals while in San Pedro. Most of the menu is vegan, besides 1 or 2 things. Their fries were delicious and their abundance burger hit the spot. We were able to pay by card with no problems. The server was really nice and attentive.

nick14

Points +889

Vegan
10 Aug 2023

Great place with lots of vegan options

From what we could gather almost everything was vegan or could be vegan.
We had a seitan dish and a soy meatball dish and both were delicious!
Lady serving was very friendly and there was a nice atmosphere.

Pros: Many vegan options, Food is tasty, Fair price

vegansoul88

Points +646

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

Delicious food

Nice little place with heaps of vegan options and even some veganized traditional Chilenean dishes. We liked all dishes we ordered and would visit again.

Thanos2.0

Points +800

Vegan
03 Jun 2023

Melhor opção vegana em San Pedro do Atacama

O Estrella Negra me pareceu a melhor opção para veganos em San Pedro do Atacama. A comida é muito boa e farta e, apesar de alguns pratos vegetarianos, as opções veganas são bem variadas.
Fui 3 vezes e experimentei o Seitan Estrella (foto), um spaghetti à bolonhesa vegano e o crepe de nutella vegano.
Uma dica é que o Estrella Negra também oferece muitas opções de doces no balcão para levar para os passeios no deserto, como bombons, alfajores e pedaços de torta.

Pros: Comida saborosa, Ambiente agradável

Cons: algumas opções vegetarianas

martiger

Points +131

Vegetarian
27 May 2023

Delicious food

We went there a few times and always ate good food. Most dishes are vegan and the prices are reasanble.

AlexandreFagundes

Points +25

Vegetarian
18 May 2023

Foreigners, beware!

When we arrived we asked to the waitress if it was possible to pay by card (tarjeta), she said yes. We ordered the food then: one menu of the day and one sea ty ceviche (veggie). It took a while to get ready and the ceviche was too acidic. But the problem wasn’t that… when we were about to pay the SAME waitress said that pre paid card (like Wise card) didn’t work in the restaurant!!!!
I was already pissed off to use another card (I had to use my credit card from my country that charges for international purchases) and the credit machine in the restaurant charges 1.031 pesos chilenos more just because it was a international transaction!!!!!
Don’t go there!! It’s not prepare to receive foreigners!!!!

JulianaCasati

Points +2506

Vegan
29 Apr 2023

The best in San Pedro

Cute restaurant in the main street of San Pedro, very easy to find. Unfortunately, when I went there they didn't have a lunch menu, so I had to order from the regular menu which is not that cheap. But they have many options and most of them are vegan, so it was even difficult to choose! I had the Pastel de Choclo, a traditional dish with a base of corn. It was really good! The dish itself was tasty and creamy, and the salad that came as a side was fresh and well-seasoned. I definitely recommend this place as it is by far the best option for vegans in San Pedro.

Queensnbeans

Points +1538

Vegan
15 Feb 2023

Lovely place!

The menu of the day costs CPL10,000, is a 3-set menu, and has 2 options for starters and mains. Tasty vegan options available. Very friendly service and incredible vegan baked goods - try the vegan snickers if you can, it’s quite the treat!

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-15

Pros: Great menu of the day

Cons: Restrictive opening hours

Vegandario

Points +1408

Vegan
21 Nov 2022

Almost fully vegan!

This place has tons of vegan options from empanadas, tacos, pastas, falafel, and soups! 95% of their menu is vegan, they also offer regular cheese which makes this place not fully vegan. Food is delicious! They always have a menu of the day which includes a soup or salad with choice of main course and a dessert…all for $8. We stayed in this town for 6 days and came here almost every day. Try their empanadas, they’re large and filling!

Pros: Many vegan options , Friendly staff, Inexpensive

marissandtim

Points +1582

Vegan
14 Nov 2022

Tasty falafel

We came here on our first day in San Pedro for the lunch menu. It costs 8000 Pesos and consists of a starter, a main dish and a dessert. In our case the menu was a mushroom ceviche, a main dish consisting of rice with falafel and a vegan mayonnaise as well as a fruit tart with a wine sauce for dessert. It all tasted quite good except for the main dish being quite bland as there was only a bit of sauce and just three small falafel next to the rice. Also, the portions were not that big for the expensive price. Also keep in mind that it takes some time until you get your food, we waited for longer than an hour before our main dish arrived.

Pros: Vegan option on lunch menu, Vegan sweets for dessert

Cons: Not completely vegan, Quite expensive, Small portions and long waiting time

PedroNogueira

Points +454

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2022

Simple and delicious

Tomato soap was very good and daily menu with rice and fallafel was very good

Tommy17

Points +105

Vegan
26 Apr 2022

Delicious vegan food

A cute little place which offers different vegan options every day. You can get a meal combo with a starter, main dish and a dessert for 8000 CP. It was a lot of food and it was just super tasty.

ManoelaZambroni

Points +23

Vegan
15 Apr 2022

Muito gostoso!

Muito gostoso e opções boas (2 por dia, menu completo).

Pros: Bom preço , Menu todo vegano

CocoP

Points +212

Vegetarian
19 Feb 2022

The Food was really tasty!

The food was really tasty and flavorful! We have had the lunch menu for 8,000 pesos, therein contents are an appetizer, main course and dessert also the portion size was good 😊

We tried to eat here on three days and only on the third time it worked out-
The opening hours do not coincide with those here at happy Cow

Pros: Taste, They use whole grain products like rice and pasta

Cons: Loud annoying music from the neighbor ambience, The location is not so comfortable

MarleneLizamaCordova

Points +21

Vegan
13 Jan 2022

Enero 2022

Esta un poco escondido el local, pero preguntando llegas. Muy rico y con empanadas veganas muy sabrosas, las empanadas son grandes! #Veganuary

Pros: Empanadas veganas muy ricas!!!!

Cons: Difícil de encontrar, esta en una galería.

MirandaVerboon

Points +25

Vegetarian
18 Dec 2021

Friendly and local

I visited multiple times and had the daily menu. Sometimes they offered veganised local dishes, and I loved that they actually used a protein replacement (e.g. Pastel de Choclo with seitan). Staff was very friendly and spoke decent English!




This page has been viewed 9371 times.