• Citizen Cafe and Bakery

  • (13)
    2
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Organic
Take-out
Bakery
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has 3 vegan sandwiches and many of the other dishes can be made vegan. Also has vegan and gluten free baked goods.


Venue map for Citizen Cafe and Bakery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by TaylorKyle

vickybfranklin

Points +42

Vegan
04 Feb 2024

Cute Desserts

First time trying this cafe. I got the vanilla blondie and it was super good. I also tried their banana chocolate muffin and it tasted like it was baked 10 minutes ago, super fresh.

Pros: Cute desserts, Had valentines themed drinks , Clearly labeled options

Advertisement

veganmustache

Points +16

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Delicious vegan panini

The amped Reuben panini as delicious

Pros: Some vegan options , Great coffee , Friendly staff

Cons: Washroom not working

GFGoldenLady

Points +1855

Vegan
16 Mar 2023

Horrible

The service at this place is atrocious. I went twice and the first time I almost left without ordering and the second time I did. Staff literally staring right at you, talking amongst themselves with zero acknowledgment that you even exist.

The pastries aren't that great for vegan and gluten free although the pumpkin shortbread cookie was amazing everything else was mediocre.

I won't be back for a third try. I cannot tolerate a business with such poor service.

Kaitlin80

Points +76

Vegan
21 Mar 2022

Breakfast Panini!

Baking and breakfast panini are amazing to pick up on the way to the cottage! Also a quiet cafe to study in. Their vegan pop tart is super cute and tasty! Note that the vegan panini is not on their menu but can be made vegan for you!

Pros: Clearly marked vegan options

jeffrey_ca2003

Points +133

Vegan
21 May 2019

A really lovely cafe

I was in Saskatoon for a conference. My hotel was around that corner. Not many vegan options, but the (chickpea) sandwich I ordered was extremely good and brought me back multiple times for breakfast.

Lovely light filled cafe with a relaxed vibe and plenty of outlets for laptop.

Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, Great tea and tasty food, Friendly service

Cons: Few vegan options

ChantelleButterfield

Points +183

Vegan
31 Mar 2019

Great vibe

Lots of labeled options, as I write that statement it reminds me that I like to know what I'm eating is vegan and not have to ask! This little spot is full of sunshine, lovely energy, and great food!

Pros: Lots of vegan options., Parking , Great sandwiches and soup :))

meowmeowmeow

Points +110

Vegan
28 Oct 2018

great selection of vegan baked goods!

They have so many delicious vegan baked goods- we enjoyed a POP TART (!!!), caramel pecan bar, and huge peanut butter blondie. We were only in Saskatoon for the weekend but are planning to stop again on our way out of town!

Pros: lots of vegan baked goods, many items can be veganized, super accommodating staff

maulydaft

Points +626

Vegan
14 Jul 2018

Impressive

The women behind the counter were sweet to make me a veganized sandwich, even at 9am in the morning. It was tasty! Plus two decadent vegan cookies and a very good muffin. Great place for Saskatoon to have.

Pros: Great vegan selection, Open early

natalinacwilson

Points +28

Vegan
25 Mar 2018

yummmmm

Me and my daughter went it just for a wee vegan treat... $35 later lol
I got the vegan peanut butter Blondie... Holy crap it was sinfully delicious!

Pros: good sweet vegan treats but.....

Cons: they need more vegan choices that aren't sweets

mmc96

Points +38

Vegan
16 Jan 2018

good food nice ambiance

I love their baking, but I wish they had more vegan sandwich options.

Jellyfish1

Points +50

Vegetarian
06 Jul 2017

Not as impressed as others

I find that Citizen has low-quality food, so that even when there are vegan options, they aren't very good. I once ordered a sandwich and I think it was made with Wonderbread or some other cheap, nasty stuff. It does have quite a lot of dairy-free baking, but last time I was there and asked why many of the same items had recently changed from vegan to dairy-free, the employee didn't know (and didn't offer to check).

Pros: Has dairy-free cookies and squares , Pleasant atmosphere

Cons: Not overly tasty veg fare (in my opinion) , Not great service

VeganPrairieGirl

Points +115

Vegan
15 Jun 2017

Wonderful Coffee/Lunch Spot

A great cafe serving one vegan sandwich (Currently the "Hall"), with the option of changing one other vegetarian sandwich into a vegan one (Order "Beets by Dre" and sub hummus instead of cheese). Daily soup is vegan, and salad is vegan without cheese. They also have several vegan baked goods including cookies and brownies and have several alternative milk options for beverages.

Pros: Vegan Friendly , Locally owned/opporated

TaylorKyle

Points +13

Vegetarian
26 Mar 2016

Awesome!

Loved going to a place with a variety of vegan options. My boyfriend is not vegan, and he also had options! Loved the decor of the restaurant and the service was quick and friendly.

Pros: Vegan options, Quick and friendly service, Nice area to sit

Cons: Small, but reasonable space




This page has been viewed 3134 times.