• Ceylonta

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Indian
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Staff can advise on which dishes are or can be vegan. Most vegetarian items on the menu are vegan suitable. Open Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:00pm, Mon-Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-2:00pm.


Venue map for Ceylonta
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by MichaelHenschel

mylene_t24

Points +82

Vegan
31 May 2022

Yummmm!!

I have only ever done take out but it’s been so delicious every time. I can confirm from other reviews that the Kothu Roti is SO GOOD! The thali is also a fun experience but many of them are too sweet for my liking. Not worth it more than once or twice for me but I highly recommend you giving it a try, it’s super fun getting all the small dishes!

Pros: Vegan options, Super yummy

Cons: Didn’t love the thali as much as I had hoped

Advertisement

spacedoubt69

Points +32

Vegan
11 Oct 2020

My favourite restaurant

Amazing vegan thali. Kothu roti is great too, as is the coconut sambol. If you know, you know.

I have been a regular here for more than 10 years, highly recommend it.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , They know what vegan means

lauraismynametoo

Points +214

Vegan
07 Sep 2019

Delicious most of the time.

The service is great but can be very slow/laid back. Friendliest people ever but not the place to go if you have somewhere to be after dinner.

Delicious food and knowledgeable servers. Lovely decor and always being upgraded.

Pros: Vegan options, Friendliest service

Cons: Can be slooooooow

EmmaHawley-Yan

Points +18

Vegan
14 Mar 2019

Some of the best food in Ottawa!!

Ceylonta was the best food that my partner and I had while in Ottawa. Everything was fresh, flavourful, and each dish tasted so different. The owners of the restaurant are very knowledgeable and so passionate about what they do. We just said that we were vegan, and they had recommendations for us that they very excitedly offered up. We had the best time! If you're visiting Ottawa and are looking for vegan options, you have to check this place out!

vintagemaple

Points +153

Vegan
28 Feb 2019

No longer a favourite...

This is definitely the only restaurant I've ever been to (Somerset) where staff have insisted on arguing with me about what I should order; trying to explain that I have allergies/intolerances & had studied the menu prior to arriving, so knew very well what I could eat, proved rather difficult • that said, my curried squash was delightful, once they'd finally agreed to let me have it.

Cons: Pushy & argumentative staff

yiradati

Points +194

Vegan
28 Aug 2018

Amazing hospitality and great food

Went here for lunch on a Saturday, a time they are normally closed but this particular day, they were luckily open due to a visit from old time regulars (visiting Ottawa after having moved away). Great for us.
Never having had Sri Lankan food before and with so many vegan options, we were bewildered. Luckily, our host put together an assortment of 10+ amazing sample dishes for us.
If you find yourself in Ottawa, be sure to pay a visit and try their coconut sambol, a toasted cocunut dip served with roti.

Pros: Great food, Great hospitality, Great udnerstanding for what vegan means

Cons: Clsoed on Sat lunch

impkokay

Points +144

Vegan
28 Feb 2018

Wonderful experience

I was pleasantly surprised to see many vegan options marked on the menu. The service was exceptional and the food was plentiful and delicious. The owners/managers were extremely friendly and generous. They even gave my friend a ride home at the end of the evening. I will definately be back and will recommend to my plant based and mest eating friends as well.

Pros: loads of plant based options, friendly and helpful service, generous portions and delicious

Cons: none

MichaelHenschel

Points +56

Vegan
09 Feb 2018

repeat customer

This should be listed as a vegan restaurant with non-vegan options. I eat here often and the staff are as awesome as the food. I've taken clients here and I've popped in on the way hone for take out. The tali is flavourful and always delicious.

Pros: just say vegan please and you will be happy




This page has been viewed 2660 times.