• Calypso Restaurant

  • (11)
    9
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
European
Greek
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu lists over 6 vegetarian dishes, and the staff is well-trained and willing to assist.


Venue map for Calypso Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by Leo Rademakers

Assepoes

Points +155

Vegan
09 Sep 2022

a menu with vegan choices

a cozy busy Greek restaurant with a menu in which you can choose from different food choices / allergies. Not a lot of choice but fine. The portobello plate was teasty but greasy

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-09

Pros: good value for money, good atmosphere

Advertisement

Tonydeanofficial

Points +16

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Delicious and flexible

Food was great. The owner was very flexible even went to the store to get almond milk for our coffee.

jaz*

Points +42

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

Can’t recommend

Some appetizers can be veganzied or are vegan. Nothing special, a typical tourist bar. Meals overpriced and without taste

Bradjwt

Points +44

Vegan
07 Aug 2020

Very accomodating

We visited whilst on holiday here after seeing a review. We spoke to the waitress who informed the chef that we are vegan. I ordered stuffed tomatoes with roast potatoes which were amazing. My girlfriend are the mushroom fajitas, minus all the animal sides which were also very good. The chef came out to us to table check to see if the food was okay. He was lovely and we had a conversation about being vegan. He said that he worked in the UK for 5 years so understands what vegans can and can't eat and he also says that he would like to introduce a vegan menu once we are through the worst of covid. The waiting staff were also very welcoming and the vodka and apple juice was definatly a Greek measure 😂

ChloeMonaghan

Points +258

Vegan
28 Jul 2020

Delicious!

Highly recommend coming here! Had the vegetarian fajitas which can easily be made vegan! The chef came out and asked if everything was okay for me and was very aware about what foods I can eat being a vegan!

Pros: Understands what vegan is, Are extremely helpful

Videojock

Points +86

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Vegan menu next year

We found this restaurant after reading other reviews and were pleased we made it. It is a very lively restaurant with friendly and knowledgable staff. Although only veg dishes were highlighted on the menu the staff are aware of how to adapt to vegan dishes. Also the briam was superb. Must try the mushroom fajitas (with extra salsa and guacamole), which was excellent. The chef Kostas came to see if the meal was good and he was very enthusiastic about the dishes and is planning a vegan section on the menu for next season. If you are ever local please try this restaurant and say hi to Kostas. 😀

Pros: Lots of vegan choices, Vegan menu coming, Delicious dishes and friendly staff

Cons: On a very busy strip

AmandaThomas

Points +62

Vegan
06 Aug 2018

Yummy Greek food

We explained our diet as “vegetarian but also don’t eat cheese, milk or eggs” and the waiter understood and helped us select the options best suited to us. We had the dolmades, stuffed roasted tomatoes and hummus platter. Filling and good value!

Pros: Easily adaptable for vegans, Lots of vegetarian options, Great location

lifeasjemy

Points +90

Vegan
06 Aug 2018

Good experience

Staff were great and food was good

Pros: Friendly staff, Able to adapt food for you, Great for a vegetarian

Cons: Limited vegan options

Alexandra_Sunshine

Points +154

Vegan
23 Aug 2017

Some vegetarian options

Besides the hummus, there are not many vegan options. I was not impressed since in Tsilivi you can find other places with better options. (I will not add them in HappyCow because they also sell meat, but as an example restaurants like Seacret or Sweet Revenge may be a better option for vegetarians and vegans).

Healthybackpackers

Points +262

Vegan
12 Jul 2017

Followed the recommendation

and were not disappointed!
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice vegan options, good prices. Had a delicious dinner and a good chat with the chef :)

Pros: helpful staff, tasty

Cons: too oily (missed to tell them in advance)

Leo Rademakers

Points +79

Vegetarian
09 May 2016

Restaurant with great vegetarian and vegan options

As vegetarians we sometimes have problems finding good, creative restaurants in faraway places, but this time (may 2016) we really were very happy to find Calypso in Tsilivi! They offer several vegetarian dishes that were all equally fantastic. We have been there three times in a week, and each time the food was great.
The staff are very friendly and very hospitable. Every special wish we had was met with enthousiasm and the owner came to check if we liked our meals every time.
Highly recommended to everyone!

Pros: six standard vegetarian dishes, very helpfull staff, They know what they are talking about

Cons: Only outdoor seating; bit cold in spring




This page has been viewed 3170 times.