• Cafe Karibo

  • (12)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
American
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Lunch and dinner menu offers a few veggie items like Thai noodle salad, veggie burger (mayo), veggie wrap (feta), and dinner tofu tower. Could ask to make your dish vegan. Open Mon 11:00am-3:00pm, Tue-Sat 11:00am-9:00pm, Sun 10:30am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Cafe Karibo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by 2Chickens

TheRuralVegan

Points +241

Vegan
08 Nov 2023

Great lunch!

Nice outdoor Cafe while shopping the Historic District.

Pros: Outdoor seating, Active bird fountain outside was fun to watch., In historic shopping district

Advertisement

BestL

Points +243

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Such a great find on the Island!

I had the Mediterranean salad for lunch, and the veggie wrap for dinner. Both were delicious. My son had the chicken sandwich and rated it 10/10! The sweet potato fries were some of the best I have ever had. I only wish I had found it earlier during our stay, and not on the last day!

Pros: Yummy vegan options, Ability to add tofu as a protein option , Cute outdoor seating

tessinsalaco

Points +20

Vegan
23 Mar 2022

Just Okay

I was excited to get the Thai Noodle Salad because a lot of vegans on here say that it was good but it has fish sauce in it!! Don’t get it unless you eat fish sauce!!! But I got a portabella sandwich with no cheese and no mayo and it wasn’t bad. Wouldn’t come running back to get it again but it was a good portion and had fresh ingredients. There were other vegan options I didn’t try.

Pros: Staff was lovely , Quick service , Good portion sizes

Cons: Not TOO many vegan options

RunsOnPlantz

Points +244

Vegan
19 Sep 2021

Great Veggie Burger

We ate here for brunch and they have great outdoor seating. The house-made veggie burger was incredible and served with regular or sweet potato fries or you can get a combo of both, which I really enjoyed! There were several other vegan options for lunch and dinner, including a grilled tofu and vegetable plate. We definitely plan to go back for dinner next time we are on the island.

Update: We have been back every time we are on the island and love this gem. The tofu tower at dinner is incredible (see pic)!

Updated from previous review on 2020-09-05

EmilyTrotter

Points +26

Vegan
10 Sep 2021

Mushrooommms

We had a lovely experience and there were a couple vegan options. I will be back for the mushroom sandwich

Pros: The portobello mushroom sandwich is sooo amazing!

JohnStokes71

Points +391

Vegan
02 Oct 2020

Really great place

The tofu tower is spectacular. Chef came out to describe the dish to us and what a great vibe!

Pros: Many options and the staff is knowledgeable

Cons: None.

LOVRemy

Points +30

Vegan
12 Aug 2020

Great Sit Down Vegan Options

I went to Fernandina Beach and was looking for Vegan restaurants and came across Kafe Karibo.

They had some vegan options and I decided to order the Tofu Tower if im not mistaken. It was one of the best sit down Vegan Meals I've ever had in my life.

Pros: Has Vegan Options

Cons: Not an extensive Vegan Menu

mikeanthony

Points +47

Vegan
27 May 2018

Yum!

My experience was great. Good food nice atmosphere will definitely go back when I’m the area.

Pros: Lots of vegan and vegetarian options. , Very tasty , Great quality

TracyWeiss

Points +15

Vegetarian
04 Nov 2017

Great options, made fresh.

I’ve been to Cafe Karibo many times and enjoy their tasty food. The Mediterranean Couscous salad is a favorite. Call to be sure they’re open.

Pros: Made Fresh, Will make changes to suit your needs.

Cons: It’s busy during tourist season. , Call ahead to be sure they are open.

CielMarie

Points +23

Vegan
07 Mar 2016

Ugh

I had the veggie wrap. The tofu was really squishy and just had a terrible texture. The bean sprouts had a sour-bitter flavor. The wrap was soggy and the beans' juices were leaking all over the place. The decor was cool, but the food was really bad and took forever to get to our table, and the staff seemed really unattentive.

Pros: Decor was alright.

Cons: Expensive, bad food, bad staff.

conrad5

Points +21

Vegan
27 Jul 2014

Excellent veg-friendly restaurant

I can't say enough about how much my husband and I enjoyed eating at Cafe Karibo. We tried four of their small plates and shared the veggie burger. There were so many tasty looking options for us that it was difficult to choose. Everything was excellent but the lentil plate and burger were really phenomenal. Service was top-notch and atmosphere was laid-back and comfortable. I would definitely recommend for veg and non-veg folks alike.

2Chickens

Points +33

Vegan
23 Oct 2011

My favorite local veg-friendly restaurant!

I have lived in Fernandina for three years, and upon moving, was delighted to find Cafe Karibo. They have the best veggie burger I have ever had! I think it is very popular because a couple of times that I have been, it hasn't been available. The Thai noodle salad with tofu is also very, very good. I just recently made the transition to vegan, and I'm not sure if those items are vegan, but I will find out! Karibo is going to cater our wedding party next spring, and they're open to doing at least a couple vegan items. Definitely a favorite of mine! Laid-back atmosphere, good live music are also a plus.

Pros: Yummy food, Laid-back atmosphere

Cons: Service sometimes slow if busy




This page has been viewed 4750 times.