• Arepita Cafe

  • (7)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Venezuelan, Latin American
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Name comes from arepa, which for most Venezuelans is known as their daily bread. The arepas are vegan and gluten-free, and can be poached, grilled, baked, griddled or (most often) fried and stuffed with various fillings. Option to build your own, staff will accommodate. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Arepita Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by spiffysavannah

fletchjeanie

Points +151

Vegan
04 Feb 2024

Would Not Go Out Of The Way

The arepa itself was fine, but the “vegan lover” option filling just felt lacking. It was missing the avocado in the description and in the end was just a cubed squash & pepper medley. Everything was just *too* greasy as well.

I can definitely see the potential, so perhaps I just picked the wrong menu items.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-04

Pros: Clear Vegan Options

Cons: Greasy, A Bit Bland

Advertisement

Mparq

Points +39

Vegan
28 Oct 2022

Nice spot with lots of good vegan options

They had nice clearly marked menu with vegan arepas, we got the eggplant one with fries and their lentil soup. Staff was super friendly and able to walk us through vegan options including even which sauce was vegan and which was not. The sauces were delicious especially cilantro.

Pros: Good vegan options, Knowledgeable staff just say you're vegan, Nice atmosphere

IanDrake

Points +93

Vegan
25 Aug 2021

Vegan Cachapa!

Plenty of vegan options and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable! The Cachapa was delicious.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options

MatrixGypsy

Points +39

Mostly Veg
15 May 2019

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

Happy Mother's Day? NOT!!! We are very vegan & our favourite restaurant, Avocado Cafe, is just 2 doors down, so being Mother's Day, my daughter wanted to treat me for lunch, both of us completely forgetting that they're closed on Sundays. However, on our last visit a few months ago we noticed Arepita Cafe had vegan options so, loving various ethic foods, and having a Latina daughter, we made a note to ourselves that we had to try it and yesterday seemed like the right day. We won't be back. I don't normally write reviews, but this was so bad I had to warn others not to waste their time or money.

The visit started off pleasant enough. The restaurant was mostly empty when I arrived at noon, and Randy, the floor manager, and I chatted while waiting for my daughter to arrive. Andrea, our assigned waitress, was really sweet and tried her best but wasn't able to answer most of our questions.

What seems like a fairly large vegan selection gets *really* tiny when your allergic to bell peppers, which seems to be the bulk of their "veggies" put in nearly every meal, but following Randy's suggestion we found an eggplant arepa I could eat subbing out the hummus for avocado, also upon his suggestion. We were having difficulties communicating with the staff because most of them don't understand English, though Clara also tried her best, but we ended up placing the order directly with Randy.

When the floor manager can't get it right and has a [censored] attitude, how will the staff get it right? Poor Andrea tried. My daughter placed the order for us, 2 appetizers, an arepa for each of us, a side of fries for us to share "extremely fresh & hot please (though looking back, $8.99 for what is essentially a small sandwich, without fries or any kind of side, is really insane}, & 2 juices.

We can excuse a kitchen making a mistake by forgetting to put the avocado on my arepa, it happens.

However, we can't excuse the fact that the manager didn't even bother to order one of the appetizers, we can't excuse the fries coming out cold, especially when we specifically requested they come out piping hot, and we can't excuse the rudeness of the manager when we pointed out the mistake of forgetting the appetizer and the avocado.

The flavourless arepas were already falling apart, and his suggestion was for me to do the kitchen's job of attempting to stuff the forgotten avocado into the sandwich, which was also now cold just from waiting for him to return to the table. I politely requested they redo the sandwich properly, and to bring us fresh hot fries, as well as the missing appetizer, which he didn't even remember us ordering, even though we ordered it 1st. Imagine my surprise when this Alpharetta born/raised local manager "who's been in this field since he was 11," literally snatched the plate out from in front of me, along with the fries, when I requested they redo my lunch properly, He actually asked, "You really want them to redo your lunch? Fine! It's going to take a few minutes." :::::SNATCH:::::!

Andrea was appalled at her boss' behaviour, and said the correct thing to do was remake our food politely. It didn't happen. Even the remake came out with arrogant attitude.

The food is boring and flavourless, and if it weren't for the green sauce (I think it was mojito sauce but I'm not sure; it reminded me of a mild tomatillo sauce) which we had to heavily put on everything (drown) in order to eat, the food was barely palatable.

Then the bill came. It was his suggestion to sub avocado on my sandwich, but he never once mentioned an upcharge for the substitute. When you're suggesting to a patron to make a change, you're supposed to tell them in advance when it's going to cost more money.

Ohhhhh, but then he also charged us for the remade sandwich, too. Thankfully Andrea knew he was wrong about charging us as he did and fixed the bill .. BUT HE'S THE MANAGER. I have ABSOLUTELY no desire to be treated as rudely, snidely, or overcharged again, especially for food that's overpriced & tasteless. Next time Avocado Cafe is closed we'll go to Adobo!

Pros: The wait staff did their best

Cons: Overpriced, not worth what they charge. , Tasteless unless you drown it in sauce, Poor management

KatieBush

Points +3172

Vegan
08 Sep 2018

Greasy

The food was okay but it was so greasy it made me feel sick.

Soul2Soul Educare

Points +1090

Vegetarian
20 Mar 2017

Good options for Vegans/Vegetarians/Gluten Free

This was our first time eating Venezuelan food and we were not at all disappointed. This place served really delicious food with great service. We ordered the Venezuelan sampler appetizer which was yummy! Then we ordered the stuffed peppers which were also very good. We also ordered their Cheese Cachapa - which tasted more like dessert and was really delightful. The only thing I didn't like was the Arepa Eggplant - the arepa was tough and heavy and the eggplant was undercooked and there was barely any hummus to even notice. The whole sandwich was very dry and not tasty. The place is cute and the service was great. There was lots of veg options on the menu and I will return to try some of their other veg things.

Pros: vegan/vegetarian options, good service

spiffysavannah

Points +174

Vegan
15 May 2016

Very nice!

I have gotten the arepa eggplant and the arepa avocado! I prefer the arepa eggplant because it's got lots of black bean hummus :) yum. Vegan and vegetarian options are noted on the menu, and arepas are vegan and gluten-free- it says so on the menu and the staff is familiar with both terms, which is always nice! The menu I see online is different than what I've been given in the restaurant, but even if they're changing their menu, they are so accommodating they would probably make you an arepa with whatever you want.

Pros: vegan friendly, delicious, good value

Cons: sometimes slow




This page has been viewed 2517 times.