27
Lacto
Indian
Buffet

Indian vegetarian restaurant founded in Singapore in 1986. The food is cooked and served by volunteers. The traditional Indian vegetarian cuisine is simply presented in a buffet spread and there is no fixed price for the food. The guests pay any amount as he/she wishes. The concept is "Eat What You Want, Give What You Feel, We Believe in You, We Trust You." Use Exit F from Tanjong Pagar Stn or Exit 3 from Shenton Way Stn. Open Tue-Sun 11:30am-3:00pm, 6:00pm-9:00pm. Last admission 15 min before closing.


Venue map for Annalakshmi Restaurant
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by Pascal_HK

HuiEeLee

Points +66

Vegetarian
30 Aug 2023

Delicious

Thank you for the pay as you wish buffet. The food is really delicious, the service is excellent and the place is clean. Appreciate your kind act. ๐Ÿ™

Pros: Pay as you wish, Excellent service, Delicious food

Cons: Contains allium (Chinese Vegetarians please note)

Advertisement

ChowLee

Points +27

Vegetarian
20 Jun 2023

Awesome food

Great food, buffet style. There is always a great selection.

Peace ...

Points +3070

Vegetarian
22 Sep 2022

Delish Vegetarian Indian Food

Love the decor and food of this restaurant. Like the concept Eat as you like, pay as you feel, also the delication of volunteers in such delish plant-based food and the good causes they support, making this world a more beautiful place.

They are moving soon and cease operations till further notice. Last day of operations is 24 Sep 2022.

IsidroAnivdelarev

Points +137

Vegetarian
30 Nov 2020

Home-made delicious Indian food

Cozy place with great Home-made Indian food. Not vegan, but a good variety of options. You pay (donate) what you decide.

Pros: Tasty food. You pay what you wish to donate.

Cons: Service so so. Not vegan.

pumokel

Points +2081

Vegan
06 Oct 2020

Something different

Nice atmosphere, most of the food was vegan and actually very good.

PickleRick

Points +892

Vegan
15 Dec 2019

sounds good in principle.......

if you look at the header description, "Eat What You Want, Give What You Feel, We Believe in You, We Trust You."

well, okay. that is true, but socially, not really.
the setting is quite fancy (though in a bit of a desolate neighbourhood), with lots of staff around (3 different people asked me if i wanted a drink). food is refreshed constantly. there are prices listed at the register for group rates (SGD15 for lunch, 18 for dinner), so you would have an inkling of what you should be paying. also, if you don't pay enough, you'll get a frown.

a similar concept in Berlin requires you to purchase a drink, then pay within a suggested range. but you really should be paying the upper limit of the suggested range, or you'll be frankly asked for more.

a similar concept in Bali would have you calculate how much you ate on your own, then stuff the money into a 'box'.

i'm just curious about how this model operates across different cultures and economic contexts.

ACTUAL REVIEW TIME:
the food is good; not mind-blowing, but definitely not bad. what i didn't like was the selection, which is my own problem; there were several difference kinds of rice, 2 curries, dahl, vadai, pappadums (SUPER salty), naan, plus 2 desserts (watermelon + plain sweet rice [sakkarai pongal]).

the problem is that i don't prefer to eat much starch (so veg + protein), so for +SGD15, i'd rather be able to choose what i want instead. BUT, it was good to be forced to try new things... the peanut chaat was really good and the pidi was interesting.


maybe i will revisit to try it out again, but it's absolutely not on my to-do list.

AnneRam

Points +90

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Really tasty food

I really liked the food from the buffet. All but 3 options were vegan. I tried the rice, and a few curries. The food had a nice aroma, good use of spices. It seems some of the curries has very similar ingredients (mainly bell pepper).
The service was friendly. I did not try the drinks. chose to pay SGD 22 for one person.
Definitely coming back.

Pros: Lots of tasty vegan options, Got in spontaneously without a reservation, Buffet- choose what you like

Cons: incense smell a bit heavy for me, but was OK

Robp123

Points +13

Vegetarian
04 Aug 2019

Great food and service

Really good place. We turned up shortly before they closed but they were kind enough to let us in. Fabulous Indian veg buffet!

Pros: Lots of vegetarian food!

Cons: Non!

Zehbeehoon

Points +1128

Vegetarian
02 Jul 2019

indian vegetarian buffet

food is good, staff is friendly. vegan-friendly dishes are available, do ask the staff before helping yourself

Pros: friendly staff

Starmone

Points +613

Vegan
15 Mar 2018

excellent service and good food

The staff here is very friendly and knowledgeable, just ask them what are the vegan options and theyโ€™ll be quick to guide you! The service was really good! Upon knowing that we are vegan, the server who was serving vegan Indian bread came back several times to our table to offer it to us! They also refilled our water and ask us what drinks we would like! The food options were not very extensive but most things tasted great! Would come back again!

Cqveggiefinds

Points +11268

Vegan
17 Jan 2018

Worth the Try.

Clarify with staff to find out which selections are not vegan friendly.

The restaurant is run by volunteers and customers get to choose how much they are willing to pay for the meal.
Make a reservation if youโ€™re with a big group

VillVanilje

Points +365

Vegan
18 Aug 2017

Worth supporting

You just got to love the concept. Nice spread, not overwhelming but simple authentic food. The ambience is a little much but the staff is just lovely - attentive, warm and all smiles.
It's not fine dining but more like a dinner at a friends' place, or at your granny's I guess.
We gave 20$ per person and it was fully worth it.

kkylaye

Points +936

Vegan
26 Mar 2017

30th Anniversary Lunch Buffet

Even though it was crowded, the service was still quick and the servers are very hospitable.
Food is homely and fares better than those you find at indian stalls in singapore.
Must visit if in the area.

Pros: good service, homely cooking

craigmc

Points +30889

Vegan
15 Jul 2016

Spicy buffet

One of the first pure veg Indian restauranta in Singapore I have found without ghee everywhere.
Warmly welcomed to a very busy buffet restaurant, o was on here on Friday night and the place was heaving. This of course meant the food was fresh and changed frequently.
A large selection of curry dishes served in a thali style tray from the buffet. O ghinknibhad about five different curries all tasting different and varying in spice and heat. Two to three rice choices and a limited amount of bread.
A selection of fruit for dessert if required, however I didnt manage.
A pay as feel policy is in operation and the staff were discreet with this.
A great evening option close to central.

Pros: Choice , Staff, Spicy food

Pascal_HK

Points +313

Vegetarian
09 Aug 2015

Nice buffet

Went there yesterday, on a Saturday afternoon. First I though it was closed, as this area is pretty empty at noon during the WE. So I was surprised when I entered the restaurant, to find a large and nice room, very well decorated, almost full, mainly with Indian families.The staff was very nice. They asked me if I had made a reservation. I did not. So I sat with another Indian on a business trip from Bangalore. Good way to meet people. We had an interesting talk about France, India and Singapore. What about the food? Good. Large choice of different dishes. Went twice to refill my plate. Can order a drink as well. Pay as you wish (I gave 20 which I find fair). I'll come again!

For the location, you'll easily find Central Square on Havelock road. Then it is wihtin the square, but from outside - i.e. NOT directly on Havelock rd and NOT inside the commercial centre. You'll find it.

Pros: Food, Room & staff, Concept of pay as you wish

Cons: Not clearly indicated what is vegan, Location (unless u live around like me)




This page has been viewed 19136 times.