HappyCow is loading...

Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Are they suitable for vegetarians?

I ask this because one facebook post said that the preparation involves the use of grease that is derived from pork lard.

The McDonalds UK website denies it. But I dont see any english faq in the McDonals Korea website. Can any koreans answer this plese?

Responses (6)

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by ahimsa32fa at 03/18/16 05:49:00


    I worked at McDonald's as a young man in 1962! They used animal fat for deep-frying for many years until recently.

    The last time I ate at McD's was in 1974, when I began to move to vegetarianism.

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by DavyKOTWF at 03/20/16 15:12:58

    It cannot be healthy, eating those fries, might as not be vegetarian.

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by phaniraj at 03/20/16 22:34:36

    Ahimsa32fa- Thanks for the information
    DavyKOTWF- Thank you.

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by phaniraj at 03/20/16 22:39:10

    McDonald UK does not use any animal product according to this news report:

    However, I do not know if the Korean branch follows the same procedure...

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by phaniraj at 04/10/16 18:43:12

    I recently got reply from McDonalds Seoul regarding this query. A korean friend helped me in this. Here is the message in Korean:
    안녕하세요?파니 고객님, 맥도날드 CS CENTER입니다.
    고객님께서 접수하여 주신 1:1 문의는 잘 받아보았습니다.

    문의 주시어 감사 드립니다.
    후렌치 후라이의 경우 식물성오일을 사용하고 있는점 참조 부탁드립니다.

    맥도날드 이용시 궁금하신 사항이 있으시면 언제든지 문의 주십시오.감사합니다.

    The simple translation is that french fries is suitable for vegetarians.

    Thank God.

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by WhatDoYouEatThen at 12/31/16 10:28:35

    FWIW last i heard they have beef fat in their ingredients, no matter what they are fried in

You need to be logged in or registered to post.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now