Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

I became a low calorie vegan over a month ago in order to lose weight rapidly. I've lost 23 pounds in 32 days so far. I cannot take iron pills because of the extreme pain they cause in my esophagus. And from what I have read, I should be able to get enough iron from the right vegetables. Same with protein. But I am new to this, and I am afraid I'm not getting enough iron or protein in my diet. Suggestions?

Responses (6)

Report Abuse

Posted by Awakening at 05/10/12 20:26:28

I was low in iron too so I looked up online a very popular iron supplement which cost about $40 per month and was non constipating. I can't remember the name of the supplement. Their website seemed to suggest that it could take as much as nine months to get the iron levels back up to where they should be. $40 times nine is $360. I decided to compare this product to Black Strap molasses which has a lot of naturally occuring iron in it. The google search revealed that this company that made the iron supplement was importing large vats of organic blackstrap mollasses from South America. Their pills were made of it. So... I saved myself a ton of money by just taking a tablespoon of organic blackstrap mollasses every day. One tablespoon equals several of those pills and it's way cheaper. I hope this helps.

Protein is in everything so you shouldn't get deficient but if you want to be sure, you can have soya milk, tofu, beans, etc. to get enough protein.

Report Abuse

Posted by Sernicki at 05/13/12 09:21:29