Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

I am new to being a vegetarian (about 4 weeks) I live in a family of meat eaters and am having a hard time maintaining the diet. I started changing my eating habits due to the information I received from the movie Forks Over Knives and in the book The China Study. Now I feel weak and have no energy. I need help with knowing what to eat and how much to eat. If anyone has anything that will help I am all ears. Thank you in advance.

Responses (7)

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 11/08/13 07:42:56

For many it takes their body a while to adjust to the change.

Plus there's a lot more to a healthy diet than just being vegan. A diet of soda pop and potato chips might be vegan...

Go to any of the thousands of vegan websites and you'll find books, essays, etc. that will help you adopt a healthy vegan diet.

• Report Abuse

Posted by VictoriaLT at 11/24/13 12:09:23

Hello there! I am obviously not a nutritionist but I can share my personal experience. I didn't feel weak or with no energy when I switched to vegetarianism but I still made some changes in my diet.

1. Do you still eat fish? You haven't mentioned what type of vegetarian you are. When I became vegetarian, I use to eat fish. I cut out meat only. I use to have fish 1-2 times a week. If you don't eat fish as well as meat, I would say look for vegetarian meet substitutes in supermarkets or healthy food stores. They can make a great replacement for meat and fish, and they will fill you up too. :] (Spicy bean burgers are my favourits. ^^ )

2. I didn't limit my intake of vegetables when I turned to vegetarian. Ways of eating vegetables are unlimited! You can find numerous salad recipes very easily. On the other hand, I never searched for salad recipes. I create my own combinations. I always mix whatever vegetables I have, add some spices and it always tastes good. :)