Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Hi, I unsuccessfully tried to become a vegetarian as a child. I have always been conscious and have been una le to eat any meat where there's is a bone in site. For the last two years I have worked in a developing country and during that time I have once again questioned eating meat. I have had some unfortunate experiences here with Animal welfare and I think in the UK it's a case of out of site out of mind. So far I have given up Pork (6 months) Lamb (6 months) and Beef (1 month). I only meat I now eat is Chicken. It occurred to me recently that I was still purchasing Leather shoes etc...How can I continue this? What is the general opinion on this? I am now trying to find alternatives...

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards, James

Responses (4)

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 12/15/16 13:40:14

There are literally hundreds of books out there addressing the advantages of a vegan philosophy and lifestyle.

Regarding chicken...they are not health food, and life is a horror for factory farmed chickens. Read one of Karen Davis' books, "Prisoned Chickens, Poisoned Eggs" or "Instead of Chicken, instead of Turkey".

• Report Abuse

Posted by arb84820 at 12/15/16 18:41:42

Hi!

I think you are doing great so far!
    You are doing your best and sounds like you are already very close. I would suggest you seek out meat substitutes, many of which you would not be able to tell the difference.

Also keep in mind that chicken contains arsenic as well as the other hormones, anti-biotics, and chemicals (www.msn.com/en-ca/foodanddrink/foodnews/finally-the-fda-admits-that-nearly-over-70percent-of-us-chickens-contain-cancer-causing-arsenic/ar-AA8cWca)

Also, for eggs it is illegal in the US to make the claim that they are healthy. So from a health and ethical perspective there is no reason to keep them in your diet.