Community: Forum: Health & Healing

Vegan Health & Nutrition Discussion Forum

Hi all, I am new to this forum and would like some advice or personal experiences regarding your cholesterol levels.

I have been vegan for just about three months, and my last cholesterol was still a bit high (215). I do have a family disposition to genetically high cholesterol, but I asked my primary care provider for another three months on a vegan diet before re-testing. I would rather not go on statins if I don't have to.

So my question for the forum is for those who have had cholesterol issues: does the vegan diet actually lower your cholesterol?

I am a REALLY good cook, I have tackled the creativity you can have while making wonderful vegan meals: but is there some other whole-food strategies I can add to my diet that might help?

About me:I get moderate exercise (I ride my bike/walk) every day weather permitting, as don't own a car. So I am in pretty good physical shape.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Responses (10)

• Report Abuse

Posted by Owen at 12/29/15 10:29:00

Hello Lisa,

I've been vegan for several years but have only recently began to only eat whole foods (i.e. no processed foods or added sugar & no added oils or fats). I've been monitoring my cholesterol every other week for nearly two months now and am amazed at the impact the diet change has had (we have Theranos here in AZ at which one can have bloodwork done without a doctor's orders or involvement). My LDL has dropped nearly 20%, & HDL is up 13% in just 7 weeks. I've added things like brazil nuts, dark chocolate & split-pea soup to my diet. I've also increased exercise a little - about an hour 5 days a week.

So, my advice: try to be really rigorous about whole foods for a couple of weeks & cut out all processed foods including bread; oh, & eat lots of greens! In addition to losing weight, your cholesterol should plummet :)