Browsing Tag:


Cooking/ Products/ Recipes

Vegan Baking: Many Uses of Agar-Agar

Agar-agar is a vegan substitute for gelatin. Traditional gelatin is made with powdered cow hooves. Agar-agar is made from dried red algae. As with traditional gelatin, this vegan substitute has a neutral flavor and does NOT taste like seaweed. According to the Science et Technologie au Service de la Creation Culinaire, a Japanese innkeeper in Kyoto named Tarozaemon Minoya discovered the gelling aspects of this seaweed during the 17th century.…

Continue Reading

Health/ Nutrition

What is Excipient Free?

  You may be eating excipients in your vitamins and other nutritional supplements without even knowing it. What are excipients? Excipients are fillers, binders, flowing agents, and various types of glues that hold nutritional supplements and vitamins together. Most excipients generally test toxic and some of the commonly used excipients are animal-derived. Excipient fillers and binders can affect the absorption rate and benefit of the rate by as much as…

Continue Reading