HappyCow is loading...

Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Hello! I'm new to Happy Cow and have been living a plant-based diet for about 8 weeks now and feel great! I'm experimenting with different recipes and am looking for a tofu brand that tastes very mild, without the "nutty" taste. Any suggestions?? Thanks!!!

Responses (6)

• Report Abuse

Posted by Libra77 at 09/30/16 22:20:44

Glad you're feeling great and gave made the change :) I'm not in the US so can't suggest a brand unfortunately. But I would definitely recommend getting a tofu press, mine has made all the difference.

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 10/23/16 14:48:55

I use only organic tofu and find it's flavor very pleasant.

The best is freshly made tofu, which can be found at some stores, especially in bigger cities. Back in the late '70s my roommates girlfriend created organic home-made tofu and it was delicious!

• Report Abuse

Posted by Ana.J at 11/04/16 09:46:52

I like spicy tofu with herbs and chili peper

• Report Abuse

Posted by tooyoungtopolka at 11/12/16 00:29:16

I am a big fan of Wildwood brand.

• Report Abuse

Posted by ccaatt at 11/30/16 23:56:48

Hmm...I usually buy for consistency rather than taste. It's kind of slim pickings at our local grocery store but when we want something a little firmer (like for stir fry) we go with Nasoya Extra Firm. It's organic and doesn't break up super easily. I haven't really detected a lot of nuttiness, but I don't have a lot of variety to choose from. The only other option at the store we usually go to is that Mori-nu silken stuff which I am not a fan of.

• Report Abuse

Posted by GustavoWoltmann at 12/10/16 00:42:41