Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Hi everyone!

So I have been looking into studying abroad for my entire life and now that I am in college I finally have the opportunity. However, I am now vegan and that changes my opinions recently. The dilemma is that I have to choose within the next week if I want to go or not because I have to apply for next semester...
I would be going to Seville, Spain and be staying with a host family for about 4 months. Im from the United States so the program I will be working with is going to teach all of the classes in english. However outside of class, I will have to speak completely spanish, which I have no background with. I have never traveled alone or outside of the country before. The thing I am most afraid of though is eating as a vegan. I know the spanish culture surrounds themselves with meat and eggs, so I'm not sure if they will understand my beliefs or if I will be offending them. My school advisor also told me she might be able to find me a vegetarian family but probably not a vegan one.
I know it would be a leap to go but I REALLY want to study abroad and may never get the opportunity to go again.

IF ANYONE HAS ANY OPINIONS PLEASE HELP!
THANK YOU

Responses (4)

• Report Abuse

Posted by evgkor at 03/21/15 19:28:32

Hey!