Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

hey I'm a student at Temple University and for my youth cultures class I am studying the vegan subculture. I am very interested and amazed in how you guys do it! I have a few questions and would very much appreciate it if I could get some replies. Please be as detailed as possible
1. By identifying as vegan, what challenges do you face?(ex. shopping,eating dinner out etc.)
2. What are the factors behind your choice to become a vegan? 3. Do you hope others will follow your example and become vegan?
4. In what ways are vegans changing the mainstream culture?
5. What challenges did you face when you first started to learn and participate in veganism? thank you very much!

Responses (5)

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 11/09/15 04:37:58

If you want detailed answers to your questions, I would suggest simply reading a few of the hundreds of books by vegan authors.

Or read the past Forum comments here on HappyCow...

• Report Abuse

Posted by Thalassa4 at 11/12/15 16:46:38

I'm actually a vegetarian transitioning to vegan, but I'll be happy to reply to your questions to the best of my ability.

1) I have it relatively easy because I live in Los Angeles so I'm always about 3-5 miles away from a WhOle Foods, Seeds, or veg friendly restaurant. However I know if I lived in a smaller town, the challenge would be greater...as it is, I have had to learn to avoid companies that participate in blatant animal cruelty, as well as making food choices. Even in L.A, I have had a late night where I wasn't home, and the only thing open near by was 7/11...but I was still able to find hummus, chips, and fruit. I think the struggle is real if a person only has a microwave or hot plate, or is pretty much homeless. I think about all of these things because I live in such an urban environment.