Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Hey im new to the vegan thing, it was a bet that my friend and i have to go completely vegan for one month to see the results. Im going to be documenting everything from beg. to end. I was wondering if any of you guys are atheletes that could give me pointers on meals that are balanced and can help me get a good balanced meal or maybe give me examples of meals that i can do. i have read alot but i was wondering if i can get your personal opinions and who knows if i like it keep this vegan thing up as long as possible.

Responses (3)

• Report Abuse

Posted by noedavne at 05/07/15 09:13:18

Hi jeoper!
    I found the "Vegan Pledge" from the Vegan Society very helpful, they send you an email every day with useful information, tips, recipes and good resources.
    www.vegansociety.com/try-vegan/take-vegan-pledge/30-day-pledge

I'm sorry I can't give you much advise, I'm pretty new into this as well! Anyway, I hope you find this vegan thing as fulfilling as it's being for me.

Report Abuse

Posted by Kayales_XC17 at 05/09/15 00:23:16

Check out the blog and the book "No Meat Athlete."

• Report Abuse

Posted by Unnamed Narrator at 05/14/15 12:10:32

Hi jeoper

Legumes Legumes Legumes.

I make my own hummus and eat it with everything. I highly recommend this to any vegan athlete. Also invest in a high quality non GMO vegan protein powder. I recommend SunWarrior or PeaProtein. (Although I respect Vega and VegaSport for their vegan approach, the ingredients cannot be certified non-GMO).

STAY AWAY FROM SOY! (Want moobs and irrational emotional swings? No? Stay off any and all soy products {read: tofu, soy protein, soy milk..}).

In order of importance for an athelete: Olive Oil, Beans, Nuts (unsalted), Garlic,cruciferous vegetables {read: cauliflower, cabbage, brussel sprouts, kale, cress, bok choy and broccoli}, red grapes, pumpkin seeds (unsalted) and figs.