Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

It was suggested to be vegan on its commercial, and websites say it is made in the same way tea is. And calorie free! It sparked my interest and was recently FDA approved. But is it really or just psuedo-vegan?

Responses (3)

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by JohnnySensible at 03/25/09 06:23:48

    Here are the ingredients - http://www.truvia.com/ingredients.html

    The main ingredient "Erythritol" is a product which is often made with a process involving pollen / honey comb / bee abuse - so we can be pretty confident that it is not likely to be vegan.

    For "techies" - http://www.springerlink.com/content/px36r07605518l06/

    It is certainly a highly processed product - so it is unlikely to be "health giving"!

    For more see - http://nutritionalconcepts.blogspot.com/2008/07/cargills-stevia-blessing-and-curse.html

  • Mina's avatar
    Report Abuse

    Posted by Mina at 05/03/09 06:09:34

    Yes, the ingredients are posted, but they don't state what they are derived from...? Natural flavourings may be derived from dairy or other noxious sources. I'd rate its vegan status - Uncertain!

  • Report Abuse

    Posted by pinkdiesel at 05/29/09 13:59:22

    I e-mailed customer service and this is what they told me:

    Thank you for your email. The natural flavors are compounds that come from natural sources and are used in small amounts to enhance the flavor of the sweetener. Truvia contains a proprietary flavor system that does not contain any of the major known food allergens such as: wheat, soy, milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish or shellfish. Truvia is caffeine free, gluten free, contains no MSG and is safe for diabetics. Truvia natural sweetener is also Vegan.

    Thank you
    Truvia Customer Service
    www.truvia.com

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support