HappyCow is loading...

Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

...to the vegetarian world. i've been reading a lot about "whole/balanced living" for the past year. in the past two weeks i've been thinking about switching over to vegetarianism...well the other day when i was out eating with a coworker, i finally came to the realization that it's time for me to start learning. i'm open to any advice you guys can dish. i appreciate it all in advance. thank you.

Responses (8)

• Report Abuse

Posted by 10hcaro at 05/24/10 04:03:09

I'm also a newbie to the Vegetarian world. I have been vegetarian before, but I was pressured by everyone around me to go back to meat for my 'health'. Don't make my mistake! You'll get a lot of people who question your dietary choices and try to convince you that it's not the right/healthy/natural way of living. However, as long as you eat a wide range of vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes and, if you choose, dairy, you'll probably fulfill your nutritional requirements better than before! If you feel you want to do better, go the extra yard and make the transition to veganism (like I'm trying to). But either way, you're still making a difference. Just check with the doctor and make sure you haven't got any deficiencies that need addressing beforehand.

• Report Abuse

Posted by lmzeigler at 05/24/10 21:04:36

Congrats on your decision! I've been vegan for about 1.5 years (I was vegetarian for about 15 years before that) and it is a WONDERFUL way to live! I think the best thing to do at first is just immerse yourself in information. My favorite resource is a podcast called Vegetarian Food for Thought, done by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau of Compassionate Cooks. I've listened to every episode and have learned so much! Some great books to check out are Healthy at 100, Diet for a New America, Eating Animals, Skinny Bitch...there are so many great ones out there now!