Community: Forum: Vegetarian Discussion

Vegan / Vegetarian Discussion - All Things Veg*n Forum

Im loosing so much hair! I have just 15 days since I went vegan, is this normal? I dont want to go back please explain it to me

Responses (12)

• Report Abuse

Posted by AndyT at 03/20/13 23:10:22

Isela,

believe me, there is no "magic ingredient" in animal products that keeps your hair attached to your head, and makes them fall out immediately if you stop to have it for 2 weeks!

I can not explain why you are losing more hair than "normally", but generally any changes from a major dietary change need a long time (e.g. 3-6 months) to really materialize.

I think (mind you, I am not an expert) that is possible that your body is "de-toxing" (getting rid of all the junk accumulated in your body) and that this also has some input on the amount of hair you are losing right now. But be aware that losing hair is a natural process (all the time we grow new hair and lose some of the old), and I have not heard of any documented cases of bald vegans (well, I myself will be there at one point in time, so I might actually be a case of that, but my hairline started to recede 25 years before I went vegan, so I can not blame it on the diet)

Best regards,
    Andy

• Report Abuse

Posted by happycowgirl at 03/21/13 14:55:24

hi Isela,
    Sorry to hear about your hair falling out, but rest assured, going vegan has nothing to do with it. There are lots of reasons why women lose their hair, keep reading and see if any of this applies to you:

Although it's not common, there are two dietary reasons that can cause hair loss - taking too much vitamin A or not getting enough iron. If I were you, I'd take a multi-vitamin that has iron in it just to be sure you're covered.