Community: Forum: Health & Healing

Vegan Health & Nutrition Discussion Forum

Namaste, I am a recent "convert" to veganism, many factors drew me towards it - health social awareness and it just made sense that it the real way I should eat.

I am 44 and recently underwent a lower back surgery. I was 80lbs overweight before the surgery and when I "converted" to vegan lost 20 the two months prior to surgery. Fortunately the surgery was successful but I'm in a bit of pain which can be expected. However I know that extra 60lb I still have I need to permanently leave my body would help my back feel and recover better. With the healing I have going and the meds I am on I am limited to what I can do.

Anyone have any thoughts the best approach to go about shedding the weight healthily. Been thinking a green smoothie fast fair a while or a mix of smoothies / raw salads / and bean soup.

I'm a real newbie to this and looking for advice! Don't want too screw up the surgery plus really would feel better is I was not overweight.

Responses (6)

• Report Abuse

Posted by ankacitah at 06/18/15 12:43:18

for back pains , my suggestions is> do some exercise and find an pranic healer or smt similar

• Report Abuse

Posted by anahidscv at 06/24/15 12:18:22

Watch,"fat sick and nearly dead" its on netflix. Its an excellent documentary and very very motivating. If you are at home and not working, it will make it easier to follow. Believe me, if you follow the juicing advice in this documentary, you will surely lose weight and feel great. I know someone personally that tried after having a baby which she had gained weight, and lost a lot of weight. I too have back pain and know how that feels. Good luck to you.

• Report Abuse

Posted by Alyssasmithsweet at 07/12/15 03:04:59

You may want to try some vegan omega 3s. I know that helps with joints and pain...Best wishes to you!

• Report Abuse

Posted by ahimsa32fa at 07/12/15 04:47:23