Browsing Tag:


Cooking/ Products/ Recipes

Vegan Baking: Many Uses of Agar-Agar

Agar-agar is a vegan substitute for gelatin. Traditional gelatin is made with powdered cow hooves. Agar-agar is made from dried red algae. As with traditional gelatin, this vegan substitute has a neutral flavor and does NOT taste like seaweed. According to the Science et Technologie au Service de la Creation Culinaire, a Japanese innkeeper in Kyoto named Tarozaemon Minoya discovered the gelling aspects of this seaweed during the 17th century.…

Continue Reading