International
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu features some vegetarian dishes. Vegans to specify. Relocated from 108 E York St. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Zunzi's
© OpenStreetMap contributors

29 Reviews

First Review by erninu

kayveg2008

Points +161

Vegan
31 Oct 2023

This Place is not the same

What a disappointment!! This place is NOT the same. This was my favorite place in Savannah. They got rid of the only two vegan options they ever had. We probably won’t be back. The only have the fried falafel now for a vegan option.

Pros: Sweet Tea

Cons: Not many vegan option , Pricey

Advertisement

Shiru

Points +2027

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

Nice falafel

We didn't sit down for a proper meal here but got some vegan falafel and chips to go. It was yummy and fresh falafel with a really flavourful hummus.

knotmelaniev

Points +24

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

Great

Loved the Johnny roll. Good beer

VeganDrainer

Points +1318

Vegan
28 Mar 2023

Great meatball sub

Tasty vegan options

colbyjam

Points +117

Vegan
28 Oct 2022

Bomb vegan sub

Had a very tasty vegan meatball sub. The meatballs were pretty basic but all the flavors came together well between the peppers and onions and hummus and sauce.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-28

Cons: Styrofoam takeout containers

kattinoel

Points +102

Vegan
09 Jul 2022

Love/hate relationship with Zunzi’s

Zunzi’s is no doubt a staple of Savannah, but I have some qualms with them. Ever since they switched ownership, food quality has gone down. Additionally, all of their sauces used to be vegan, but this changed a couple years ago due to a Vegenaise shortage and they only have one vegan sauce which is very tasty but insanely watery and runny. Their vegan meatballs are no doubt tasty, but I wish they had more options other than just hummus, salads, etc. Also, ever since the switch to the new location, it seems that service has suffered. It could just be growing pains. I hope so!

Pros: Delicious frikkadels, Unique food

Cons: Has changed a lot over the past few years

MalloryMorris

Points +116

Vegan
27 Mar 2022

Great, filling, and fast food!

The Johnny roll was the perfect portion size and very filling! Service was excellent and very helpful to find vegan options! Would definitely return. We also got pita with veggies and homemade hummus! So good!

Pros: Decent vegan options that were clearly marked , Great service , Portion sizing were appropriate for a good price

sarahdavis89

Points +1134

Vegan
23 Mar 2022

Delicious options, fun atmosphere

We absolutely loved Zunzis! The vegan meatballs are delicious, as are the grilled veggies and hummus. Absolutely recommend!

Pros: Vegan options, Fun atmosphere , Delicious!

RebeccaSullivan

Points +3089

Vegan
21 Feb 2022

Delicious Sandwich

Visiting Savannah and came to Zunzi’s for lunch. Ordered the Johnny Roll with VooDoo chips and a 50/50 iced tea. Sandwich was so good and super filling. Perfect spot for lunch after walking all over town!

MichelleLawson

Points +46

Vegan
08 Feb 2022

5 star quality food and service

All vegan options are clearly marked on the menu. We always stop in and eat here when we are in Savannah. The food is so good!!!!

Pros: Beyond meat meatball sandwich and bowl available , Mushroom and veggie sandwich (it’s amazing!) , Hummus and guacamole with pitas

Deadly

Points +372

Vegan
03 Dec 2021

Get the vegan meatball!!

The vegan meatball sandwich is absolutely delish! Highly recommend and really big portion size too.

queenofthefluffies

Points +214

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Flavorful food!

I had a portobello lettuce wrap and it was amazing! I have a gluten allergy so I couldn’t indulge in the vegan meatball sub but my boyfriend had it and he was very impressed!

jojacob

Points +215

Vegan
23 Jun 2021

Great vegan meatballs

Food was pretty good, it’s nice that the meatballs aren’t beyond meat or anything what you could get at your local Whole Foods.

DulceDudley

Points +24

Vegan
12 May 2021

Great food!

We had a quick bite to eat while visiting Savannah 😊 tried their Johnny Roll and their pita with hummus and avocado-both were made with fresh ingredients and delicious 😋 unfortunately the app did not allow me to give it 5 stars but it deserves 5 stars!!

MSydlowski

Points +231

Vegan
15 Feb 2021

Vegan meatball sammy

Would give 5 stars if the app would let me! Loved loved loved this place! I haven’t had a meatball sub in forever and this was perfect. The signature zunzi’s sauce was vegan and tasted great! Have a great outdoor patio too with a fun vibe! I’m guessing this is where a lot of the SCAD students go!

VeganDE

Points +195

Vegan
03 Nov 2020

Comfort Food & Subs

Take out or eat at tables behind the store front. Order on kiosk with lots of options for toppings.

malzimm6

Points +367

Vegan
11 Jul 2020

Great vegan sandwiches

We were visiting from out of town and this was a great find considering Savannah’s vegan options are very minimal. There are 2 vegan sandwiches on the menu- a veggie loaded one and a meatball sub style. Both were delicious and a large portion. Online ordering and pickup easy.

Pros: Vegan options , Large portion

12 Jun 2020

Vegan Meatball Sandwich

We ordered the vegan meatball sandwich and it did not disappoint. Great flavors. I’m from out of town and would put this on the list to go back to if I return.

RudyWolpink

Points +266

Vegan
17 May 2020

Even delicious during a pandemic

A few vegan options that are all delicious. The meatball sandwich and the mushroom sandwich were both winners

EricaRose1990

Points +162

Vegan
08 May 2020

Great sandwich

Very friendly, had the rising sun, it was wonderful

ConnieSmith

Points +34

Vegan
18 Jan 2020

Wonderful sandwiches and the line moves fast

Wonderful sandwiches. We had the Rising Sun and the Johnny Roll (Vegan Meatballs). I’d wait in line again for these 2

MCZaros

Points +2747

Vegan
16 Nov 2019

Delicious, Only One Option

Although there is only one vegan option here, the Rising Sun is delicious! It’s a great way to get your veggies in for the day... ask for extra SY sauce.

Pros: All sauces are vegan

Cons: One vegan option

fresh_air_gal

Points +18

Vegan
07 Jul 2019

Delicious!

They asked right away if we had any dietary restrictions. I said I was vegan and she told me that although the sauces are marked as vegan on the menu, they weren’t actually vegan at the moment. She recommended the Rising Sun sandwich and said she would put on some broth from their vegan stew as the sauce. The sandwich was amazing, but was definitely spicy!

Pros: Tasty

Cons: Vegan indicators on the menu aren’t correct

SonnyJ

Points +8

Non Veg
04 Oct 2018

Good food/experience but expensive

There was no line when I showed up and there was plenty of staff behind the counter to assist folks quickly.
I ordered the Gaby's Greens ($10.99) with the Vegan Frikkadel's (add $3). It includes 2 types of Vegan sauce. To drink I had a Sprite ($2.39). So it was over $17 (incl. tax) for essentially a salad in a takeway container and a Sprite (note: I believe all meals are placed in Styrofoam takeaway containers even if you are staying to eat)

Food was excellent. Weather was perfect for the outdoor seating and it wasn't too crowded. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Only disappointment is the cost because it will need to be considered a "once in a while" lunch place versus part of my regular rotation.

Pros: Excellent food and friendly staff, Pleasant patio seating during nice weather, Nice alternative to standard lunch places

Cons: Cost for a takeway, Styrofoam packaging and plastic forks

RaeMyss

Points +39

Vegan
01 Jul 2015

some zunzi's love from a vegan staff worker : )

I'm vegan and also work at Z2 (the restaurant version of Zunzi's that just opened up). If your complaint about the original zunzi's was the environment--be sure to check out the restaurant just a few blocks down on Drayton and Bay street (also the original Zunzi's was just bought out by the owner of 5 guys who wants to franchise the place so if you want to support the actual owners, definitely go to Z2).

While there aren't many options available, the few they have are pretty good. Always specify vegan with whoever's waiting on you--almost everyone I've worked with at Z2 is very accommodating and helpful--as is the kitchen staff, who'll take precautions to keep meat and dairy away from your order as they're preparing it.

My favorite meal here is definitely the mushroom sub without cheese--and I recommend ordering it as a wrap on pita.. for whatever reason the pita absorbs the flavors a lot better and tastes phenomenal.

The veggie curry on rice (mash has butter in it) with any of the sides (ask for no feta on the spinach salad) is also a good go-to. We offer a vegan-friendly balsamic dressing.

The felafel is also exceptional. Ask for no yoghurt sauce and a side of hummus instead and you got yourself a bang-ass wrap : )

calamaestra

Points +3290

Vegan
08 Jun 2015

great taste but few options

I had the mushroom pita. It was good but there were not many vegan options. I also don't like outdoor seating.

TheVeganVagabond

Points +145

Vegan
14 Jul 2013

Limited Options

Zunzi's is very popular, even with some vegans, but I'm not quite sure why. The menu is limited to start with, and only a few options are vegan. I had the felafel, but the sauce wasn't vegan so they gave me raw tahini instead, which was gross. It may be worth a second try, but if you're looking for a good, quick lunch downtown I'd head over to VegHeads instead.

Pros: Quick, Outdoor seating, Friendly

Cons: LONG lines at lunchtime, Very few options




This page has been viewed 11041 times.