74
Vegan
American
Take-out

Wirral's first all-vegan junk food restaurant. Open Wed-Fri 16:00-21:00, Sat 12:00-21:00, Sun 14:00-19:00. Closed Sun-Tue.


Venue map for Zero Clucks Given
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

30 Reviews

First Review by JoroVeganEatery

Nattyy

Points +1431

Vegan
13 Aug 2023

๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ

Travelled here to try the doner but unfortunately they had sold out โ˜น๏ธ we were not disappointed with what we ordered though and will definitely be returning to try the doner!

We had poutine fries, portion of curly and a portion of straight. The Mother Clucker burger, chocolate milkshake, mini Korean wings, Elotes, cheesy hawkes. All were exceptionally good, fresh and full of flavour. Great takeaway food for if you want something a little naughty.

Stand out flavours were on the Korean wings.

Advertisement

Berni_76

Points +80

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Amazing vegan junk food!

The most amazing vegan junk food, friendly and efficient service, and a sizeable seating area with cool decor - honestly, what's not to love? ๐Ÿฅฐ

Frijoles

Points +416

Vegan
02 Jul 2023

Fat Scran !

Wow! Enormous plate of gyros - we should have shared one dish between two! Really great seitan / junk food. Thumbs up!

joshosullivan

Points +52

Vegan
11 Feb 2023

Such good food!

Really enjoyed the tasty food and shakes! We had Mother Clucker burger, Chickun & bacon waffles, animal fries and Nicklmac Macโ€™nโ€™cheese. Well priced for the amount of food we had and will definitely be returning.

Pros: Spoilt for choice, Proper โ€œjunkโ€ food, Friendly staff

Cons: Uncomfortable seats on the wooden bench.

nicole_m

Points +2586

Vegan
31 Dec 2022

Vegan junk food (a good thing)

A two-person operation with a few tables inside. We tried the pizza box (fries, chicken, onion rings and slaw), Mac and cheese, and a beef-style burger. The chicken and fries werenโ€™t really to my taste (seitan for the chicken and fries a bit undercooked imo but seems normal for the UK compared to NZ), but that wasnโ€™t any fault of the staff. The Mac and cheese, onion rings and coleslaw were good, and my como inn loved the burger. #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan , Good variety of junk food options, Nice staff

Cons: Not all items to my taste, but thatโ€™s just me

tiny.vegan

Points +139

Vegan
12 Dec 2022

Fast food go-to!!

This is somewhere weโ€™ve been meaning to visit for around 18 months but never gotten round to it for some reason ๐Ÿคท๐Ÿผโ€โ™€๏ธ I have been majorly missing out!!

We had the Hug-a-Bull Burgers, Bluffalo Wings & curly fries ๐Ÿ— The wings were too spicy for me (Iโ€™m a whimp) but my bf really liked them & I didnโ€™t have much room left anyway after my giant burger ๐Ÿ˜

The staff were so lovely and really apologetic that we had to wait quite a while for the food, but it was definitely worth the wait ๐Ÿ’š Plus, Iโ€™d rather see lots of customers lining up for vegan food than the place being empty ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

Inside has giant street art murals covered in vegan puns and graphics ๐Ÿ˜… This will deffo be my new go to place for when I have fast food cravings

Pros: Fully vegan menu, Kind and helpful staff, Independent small business

Cons: Service was a little slow

LaLaBeans

Points +114

Vegan
10 Nov 2022

Clucking Delicious!

This was our first visit. It will not be our last!!! Great vibes, really lovely host (donโ€™t know her name, sorry)! And absolutely gorgeous scran.

My partner had the Big Mic burger, which massively alleviated his long term hankering for a โ€˜Big Macโ€™, and then some! I had the Mac n Cheese, so fit! Couldnโ€™t eat all the bacon bits as very rich, but tasted scrummy, and there is an option without. We shared the Animal Fries which we found a little too saucy for our liking, but thatโ€™s totally just a personal preference! The flavours and sauces were divine. And a little side of coleslaw, yum. Canโ€™t wait to try more of their menu!

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-10

Pros: Totally vegan, and a great, delicious menu, Really reasonably priced , Cool venue and lovely staff

Cons: Would have loved a beer with our meal, Be awesome to have a bean burger option

ElleHancox

Points +58

Vegan
27 Oct 2022

Wow!!!

This is such an amazing place!! Firstly the food is top class. Iโ€™m not normally a gravy with โ€œchickenโ€ kind of girl but this was hands down the best gravy Iโ€™ve ever had!! The burger was delicious. Had waffles for pudding which were to die for!! The interior is really cool and the owners so friendly and allowed our noisy pug to sit and eat with us. Canโ€™t wait to come back to the Wirral to visit again!!!

DylanPT94

Points +73

Vegan
12 Oct 2022

Best Scran on the Wirral

I can't help but over-order when I come because there's so much to choose from and it's all amazing! Lovely people serving delicious food, we really are lucky to have a place this good in Birkenhead.

Pros: Great food, Great service , Great value

zoehuckerby

Points +96

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

Would give this place more stars if I could!

This was probably the best vegan food place that I have ever visited. The food was incredible. We had donner chips, big Mick and the pizza box with wings, chips, onion rings and coleslaw. Everything was perfect and the portion sizes are really good too.

Pros: Amazing food, Good prices with extensive menu, Lovely owners

jennywebby

Points +36

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

McDonaldโ€™s but better!

The Big Mick is tremendous the loaded fries are superb. The milkshakes are the best!! Highly recommend this restaurant and take away. Everything totally vegan and amazing. Plant revolution!

Pros: All vegan , Fast food style , Amazing desserts

Cons: No delivery, Only 4 tables to eat in

ChristopherNorman

Points +28

Herbivore
19 Jun 2022

Seitan wizards!

Itโ€™s incredible what they do with seitan, from the โ€œchickenโ€ to the โ€œdoner meatโ€ itโ€™s all incredible, Iโ€™ve eating here at least 10 times so far, even basic things like the chips, the gravy & the hummus are really delicious. Did I mention they do ice cream? Highly recommended.

Pros: They do ice cream!!, Vegan chicken wings & donner kababs!, Very friendly staff

Cons: They donโ€™t deliver.

Deanrubin

Points +65

Vegan
08 May 2022

Funky vegan place - hidden gem!

I was so excited to find this vegan restaurant just around the corner from me! I'm recently vegan and also have severe lactose & gluten intolerances - so finding "safe" food for me can be a challenge. Additionally, I don't really like to eat processed pretend meat. But Leila was extremely helpful and the blonde chef (didn't catch her name) told me that they are developing a gluten free mac & cheese, can't wait! Instead I have a small animal friendly fries and it's AWESOME! Chillin' out surrounded by cool graffiti and listening to the retro alternative music (yeah, I'm a child of the 80s) is a super way to treat myself on a Saturday. Had a chat with Carl, co-owner, lovely guy, and just an overall brilliant vibe in there. You can take out, but I prefer to eat in and relax - its awesome! #Veganuary
UPDATE May 2022 - so after enjoying the animal free fries for the past 4 months, Carl and Angela very kindly created some new GLUTEN FREE dishes to the menu and gave me some complimentary portions to try out....!!!!Gluten free mac and cheese and a chicken kebab with garlic sauce OH MY GOODNESS I INHALED THEM BOTH!!!
I've attached the new photos and I'm not kidding you guys, you HAVE to try this out! It's just SO amazing knowing that this food won't make me sick! They are also going to put gluten free desserts on the menu I mean C'MON!!
I can find no faults here - nothing but great food, people, art, and music! You won't regret eating here!

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-06

Pros: Very cool place and very friendly staff/ owners!

KelseySalisbury

Points +47

Vegan
14 Apr 2022

Amazing

Loved the menu and prices ! Incredible for either sit in or delivery.

Pros: All vegan menu , Well priced

Claire_Louise16

Points +371

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

Amazing tasty vegan food.

Amazing food, the staff are very friendly. The Big Mick was so tasty! I've eaten in & had take away. The wings and gravy are yummy!

๐Ÿ”๐ŸŸ๐Ÿฆ๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿฉ๐Ÿช๐Ÿฅค

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-13

ClaireRC

Points +42

Vegan
01 Feb 2022

Delicious

The food here is outstanding. We recently placed a large order so we were able to try a variety of different menu items. Everyone was so impressed by the flavour and quality of the food. I can't wait to order again soon!! Check out the poutine fries.

Pros: So much choice, Tasty and satisfying

MontyFN

Points +57

Vegan
18 Jan 2022

Loaded vegan junk

This place is a quality find in Birkenhead, bit of a mad setting as not many vegan places in the town but an absolute must visit. Food is loaded and tasty, decent price, service is quick, staff are friendly, setting is pretty cool inside (although the plants in the window could do with bit more tlc) will keep going back again and again cos the foods boss!

Pros: Quality food, Tastes awesome , Boss little desserts

MissGreenwood

Points +462

Vegan
16 Jan 2022

Will be back!

Absolutely loved it here. The music, friendly service, great art work and the food. We parked over the road on a car park for ยฃ1 per hour. We had checked opening times on Instagram. Lovely polite service. Food came out quite quickly and was generously sized and really tasty.

Pros: Large portions, Tasty, Car park opposite

TammyIreland

Points +24

Vegan
13 Jan 2022

Amazing

Lovely staff amazing vegan food!

Pros: All vegan, So much flavour, Lots of choice

BaronVonVegan

Points +103

Vegan
26 Sep 2021

Life saver!

Absolutely incredible! The dirtiest of vegan by far!! Stopped here to grab a takeout for lunch, planning to return soon for the dine-in experience and to take my time sampling the rest of their extensive menu. Sweet Jesus the Big Mic definitely hits the spot๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

Pros: Great menu, Great service , Great food

Cons: Parking is a nightmare

RealityIsJustaDre

Points +13

Vegetarian
08 Aug 2021

Amazing Vegan Junk Food

The Big Mick burger taste just like a big Mac but much bigger. The price is also very good value. I think this place is going to be big everyone in our party loved it and the staff are also great.

Pros: Everything is Vegan

plantpoweredsteph

Points +124

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

GET THE DAMN FRIES!

First visit today and WOW!
Weโ€™re local to Chester and usually travel into Liverpool for โ€˜dirtyโ€™ food, but tbh, we couldnโ€™t be bothered and remembered ZCG was this side of the water.

Wow. The place is super cool and quirky, staff were awesome and the foodโ€ฆ THE FOOD!

Burger was amazing!
The wingz and gravy were very much how I remember kfc before my vegan days, but without the dead animals โœŒ๐Ÿผ๐ŸŒฑ
The fries though! Little crispy fries, with melted vegan cheese and the burger sauce is to die for!!! Holy hell!!

A must visit! Good range of desserts too but thankfully we were too stuffed! Not to be missed this place!

mattthegrayt

Points +247

Vegan
08 Jun 2021

Brilliant food given

A fantastic vegan restaurant / take away selling great burgers, beef style and chicken style, as well as different chips and sides such as vegan mac and cheese. I walked in to order - they have slots for prebooking but you seem to need to book early in the day to secure a slot - they welcome walk ins though and the wait wasnt too long at all. The big mick burger was amazing as were the katsu fries and the โ€˜chickenโ€™ wings. Cant wait to go back. Cant wait to get all my friends and family to eat from there.

Pros: Excellent burgers, Excellent fries

SarahNorris

Points +18

Vegan
01 Jun 2021

Yum yum yum

Wings and gravy to die for. Animal friendly fries are a meal on their own. And the cookie slabs..๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹ All very reasonably priced and proof that vegan food doesn't have to be all rabbit food or expensive! And the owners are lovely lovely people, it's nice to see how busy and successful their business has become

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Nothing

colt

Points +20

Vegan
08 May 2021

Absolutely Brilliant

Fantastic Vegan street food

Pros: Great food, Good choice, Fantastic value

Cons: nothing, nowt, zip

TigsManley

Points +270

Vegan
10 Apr 2021

Vegan, Tasty and Cool

The whole menu is vegan which includes a bunch of burgers, chips and other typical fast food. If you after some fast food, this definitely somewhere to consider. The chips portion are big. The decor inside is quite interesting and cool like graffiti style. The staff were nice and covid safety was implemented well in the shop.

There stairs to get to the counter, I didn't see a lift or a ramp anywhere, if you want to get to the counter may good to ring ahead though you can ordered online or phone and I am sure they can bring it down the stairs. I saw there was door leading to the toilets, though I did not use the toilets, toilets were gendered and I am unsure if there was a accessible/disabled toilet.

We will definitely be coming back as food was really tasty.

Pros: All food is vegan

Rich03

Points +16

Vegan
30 Oct 2020

Amazing

Burgers are better than Frost Burger (Liverpool) and that takes some doing! And the staff are kind, sweet and lovely. I could visit this place every day it's so nice.




This page has been viewed 6555 times.