Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Chinese
Juice bar
Delivery
Take-out
Asian

Chinese and Asian vegetarian food. Variety of dishes include mock meats like General Tso’s chickn and roasted veg duck plus fruit and veggie juices, soups, salads, and appetizers are offered. Reported the lo mein noodles are made with egg, Nov '22. Open Mon-Thu 11:30am-10:30pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-11:30pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:30pm.


Venue map for Zen Vegetarian House
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by heysan

elvisvbr

Points +365

Mostly Veg
30 Dec 2023

Amazing taste, pricing and options

We live on the same block and this is one of our top 3 places to order takeout from, because they are worth it. They also have truly yummy soy milkshake options ;P

Advertisement

MichaelMatsakis

Points +42

Vegan
05 Jun 2023

One of the Best Tasting Vegan Chinese Takeout

The garlic eggplant and udon noodles with tofu are my favorites. Also the scallion pancakes are pretty great.

The only other vegan Chinese restaurant that I feel like is as good as this is Amituofu. But that's up in East Williamsburg, so if you're down in Flatbush, stop here!

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-05

Pros: Garlic eggplant, Udon with tofu , Scallion pancakes

KylaEvans

Points +37

Vegan
07 May 2023

unbelievably good

They have cheesecake this doesn't taste the least bit vegan - it's so good, I want to believe that it is! I'm very glad I ordered from here on a whim (:

veganredgyal

Points +18

Vegan
05 Feb 2023

Love this spot

Such great food. Had the general tsos meal and spring rolls. So delicious

Pros: Inexpensive, Quick delivery

jalopy

Points +205

Vegan
08 Nov 2022

Sus

There are claims they all vegan but I’m skeptical…

Lo mein wasn’t v flavorful
Chocolate cake was as deadly as they say (sooo sweet and huge slice 😵‍💫🥴)

Pros: Cheap tho

whitness

Points +20

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

The food is great!!

The food was sooo good! We got General Tso Chicken, veggie spring rolls, veggie dumplings, beef and broccoli, and the pad Thai. Everyone loved their food! I was with omnis so this was very satisfying to here.

Pros: Tons of options, all vegan/vegetarian , Inexpensive , Quick delivery

Ameisherry

Points +7936

Raw
07 Aug 2022

Thank you :)

She’s a very cute Malaysian mama😄she speaks mandarin Cantonese English and more😄super friendly😄thank you😄
😆I always order things that’s not on the menu #vegan besides some lomen they still use eggs the rest all are vegan 🌱:)

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-07

EmilyMoody

Points +18

Vegan
31 Jul 2022

Delish and cost effective

Super friendly staff, quick service, and YUMMY food.

Pros: Tons of vegan options

sweetdaddygotu

Points +382

Vegan
17 May 2022

Zen House

Dish had a very good presentation, especially for a take out order.

Pros: Very polite staff, Muck meat texture, appearance and taste on point!

Cons: Pricey, no seating , Steamed broccoli was very hard. , A excess water from broccoli ruined teriyaki sauce

veganed

Points +467

Vegan
06 Feb 2022

Fresh and Tasty

Delicious flavors and good portions. Everything was fresh and amazing. We had the General Tsos, Curry chicken, and steamed dumplings. Highly recommend these choices.

Pros: Big portions , Almost everything is vegan, Fair prices

gabandtonic

Points +2750

Vegan
24 Sep 2019

Great standard Chinese takeout

I tried the teriyaki Seitan with snow peas and the ginger soy chicken. I also loved the steamed veggie dumplings. I only wasn’t impressed with the spring rolls. Overall everything was great!
Update: have also got the pumpkin cheesecake since and it was incredible!

RobertRessler

Points +182

Vegan
08 Aug 2019

Zen

Had the chicken fried rice and the veggie duck. Very good. The owner told me everything is vegan.

Pros: Excellent food, Parking , Fast service

YamilaNieves

Points +140

Vegan
23 Apr 2019

Riquísimo y rápido

Pedimos una sopa que estaba riquísima, muy picante pero rica.
También pedimos “tutitos de pollo” y chesscake, todo delicioso

chanel21

Points +129

Vegan
05 Mar 2019

Very tasty!

I enjoyed the vegan sesame Chicken. The chocolate cheese cake was sooo good.

enoughtoil

Points +15

Vegetarian
27 Dec 2017

Reliably good

The food is delicious and the servers are prompt and friendly. If you eat here with any frequency, as I do, they remember you; and if. like me, you also take out a lot of food, they may even offer you a free drink or french fries while you wait for your selections to be prepared and packaged.

Keith_Thode

Points +712

Vegan
12 Aug 2017

Good selection of very good food

Cheescake was really good. Meal was very good.

Bryan_M

Points +16

Vegan
24 Mar 2017

Really Tasty Food

I order from these guys pretty much daily.
My favorites are the, Sesame chicken, Teriyaki Chicken, Chicken sandwich, chicken nuggets, chocolate cake, and Fried wantons.

Others that are really tasty but I dont get often: Orange chicken and wanton soup.

Their food has some pretty delicious food, and it's not too highly priced. I don't usually

Pros: Nice environment, Good food, Friendly workers

Cons: English isnt first language

gboysko

Points +63

Vegan
20 Feb 2017

Great Asian vegan

I enjoyed the vegan beef and broccoli. Good value and taste.

CathyDavid

Points +252

Vegan
25 Jan 2017

Ordered in take out

I was so excited to get an asian food delivery to my home last night without having to ask a million questions about the food preparation and ingredients.
The entire menu is vegan other than maybe 2 -3 dishes that contain fish.
The food was very good, not great but certainly delicious enough to thoroughly enjoy my meal.
We even ordered vegan ice cream (on the menu) for dessert.
Delivery was fast and prices were very reasonable. The restaurant looks nice and I would consider dining in as well.

Pros: almost 100% vegan, Brown rice offered , great variety of options

Cons: food was very good, not excellent

kmanchester306

03 Jun 2017

What dishes contain fish? I come here often and I'm friendly with the employees, they told me everything is vegan.

cottrellbentley

Points +223

Vegan
09 Sep 2015

Decent Chinese fare in Brooklyn

Hungry for Chinese food, my daughter and I headed here. Their food is fusion of American and Chinese and they are heavy on the mock meats. Most of what we had was great, but a few things were just too meaty! Yeah, I know, that's our fault, but we couldn't quite eat that much mock meat.

If I were to go back, I'd order less, and have the meals that I was ordering explained to me. I wanted more vegetables! :) Flavors were good. Service was good. Quickness was reasonable (we ordered, went shopping for 20 minutes, came back and it was ready for us).

Pros: Chinese food, Fun fusion ideas, Service

Cons: Heavy on the mock meats, A little oily, Not cheap (but not expensive, either)

kmanchester306

Points +837

Vegan
17 Nov 2014

Amazing asian style dishes

Wonderful establishment, with friendly, helpful staff! Food is delicious, servings are large. I live in the neighborhood and come here at least once a week because the food is so tasty. I was told everything on the menu is vegan, not sure if this is new based on previous reviews. Although not located in a popular area of Brooklyn, definitely worth checking out if you're in the mood for some delicious asian food.

heysan

Points +16

Vegetarian
24 Dec 2010

Wow

We went December 2010.

Lets see: clean, tidy, super friendly, lots of action in the kitchen. Small place - seating for about 12 people. I guess takeaway/delivery is popular.

We had: seaweed soup and miso soup. Both were both a hit. I had the seitan with ginger and fresh crunchy steamed broccoli -- very tasty; interestingly they used pickled ginger. Actually am getting peckish while writing this review so helping myself to leftovers. . . Pretty big portions. Mushu vegetables with hoisan sauce was also very tasty - but the pancakes were a bit dry. Ooh - fresh carrot juice with ginger!

Definitely going back -- such a big menu (18 Appetizers, 10 salad/soups, 27 mains (brown or white rice), 5 types of fried rice, 8 noodles, 13 items under vegetables/tofu).

Ceramic crockery and plastic cutlery.

Prices for Appetizers from $3 - $7.
Prices for mains averaged at $11.
Fresh Juices $4.

Lunch special (noon to 4pm) $6.

Here is a link to their menu: http://www.flatbushvegan.com/2009/04/vegan-eats-zen-vegetarian-house.html

Pros: fresh + delicious food, friendly staff, clean place




This page has been viewed 7973 times.