Ovo
Japanese
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Little place offering Japanese food. Has vegan miso soup and sauces. Soy products are non-gmo. Ask for vegan options. Open Tue-Thu 5:00pm-9:30pm, Fri-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm. Closed Mon-Sun.


Venue map for Zen of Sushi
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by AmyFord

Juju1313

Points +50

Vegetarian
16 Nov 2023

Yummy!

So excited to find this exciting place. Veggie sushi and so many options!
Will definitely go back.

Pros: Veggie sushi, Tofu appetizer

Advertisement

MattChester

Points +2085

Vegan
30 Jul 2023

Wow, what a gem

I agree with another user— I’d give 5 stars if I could. Such an unassuming place in an unexpected location but the vegan options were all a home run. Staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about vegan options. Worth the trip!

AlexiaL

Points +503

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Amazing. Ordering is simple AF b/c vegan menu

Vegan options are not an after thought at Zen of Sushi. They have a vegan menu and clearly highlight vegan items elsewhere on the menu. The vegan sushi rolls are just as creative and thoughtful as the other sushi rolls. The staff is warm and attentive. I highly recommend the Navajo Roll.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-29

Pros: Thoughtfully crafted vegan items , Great staff, Vegan menu

AimeeAngello

Points +18

Raw
07 Aug 2022

Awesome and Creative

The rolls are very unique and there are so many wonderful things to choose from. Would give them 5 stars if I could.

Pros: Vegan menu, Great staff, Amazing food

DaisyBrant

Points +24

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Won’t let me rate 5 stars wish I could FULL VEGAN MENUE

First of all they have a full vegan menu aside from the regular menu which is awesome. This is by far the best non-vegan restaurant with vegan options that I have ever been to. Not only are the people that work there so kind but they really make an effort to provide you with Tons of delicious and creative options. Also extremely fair prices for high quality food. Perfect place to take your non-vegan friends so everyone can have something to eat and just overall one of my favorite restaurants if you get the chance give it a try.

Pros: So many vegan options I can’t even list them, Delicious and fresh food, Super kind people

Cons: Nothing it is awesome

TrtlGrl

Points +24

Vegan
22 Feb 2022

Our favorite place!

We take all of our relatives when they come to town. Good variety of vegan sushi rolls. Vegan ramen, and other options. They also have non-vegan options. Great food, wonderful staff! Highly recommend! They do get busy on weekends.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Cool staff, Great food

erinesha81

Points +173

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

Great vegan selection

I ordered for a pick up order and ask different questions about the vegan sushi that they offered because it was my first time. The girl that answered the phone was very friendly and helpful and explain to me the different rolls that they offer and they also had a special roll for the night. When I picked up my order the people that were working at the restaurant and the sushi maker were super friendly great atmosphere delicious sushi and a huge vegan selection which was very nice plus other items than sushi they had available. Would highly suggest us and will be back.

queenofthefluffies

Points +214

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

Amazing vegan selection

I’ve tried almost every vegan roll on their menu and they’ve all been great! Service is always amazing too.

JacksonEllis

Points +61

Vegan
11 Apr 2021

pretty, pretty, pretty good

Good food. Was told that fried items are done so in shared oil. I got a mixed veg and rice with tofu. Was told that the tofu would have to be steamed to be vegan, but they pan fried it. Was OK. Flavor was good, plenty of tofu, but the hugely cut mushrooms and carrots didn't pass. Spicy edamame and miso soup were fantastic. Salad is a waste of time.

Cons: shared oil for fried foods

vegelicacy

Points +777

Vegan
22 Sep 2020

Very vegan friendly!

Amazing owners, very attentive to vegan clients, so glad we visited this little Cafe. We tried 3 sushi rolls and had thai tea with Coconut milk. We enjoyed the sushi a lot, especially mushroom and sweet potato tempura. The Lady was so sweet and kind. Definitely recommend this place!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, staff aware of veganism

Cons: No

KellieMarieKupcake

Points +124

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Definitely a must stop if you're in the area

This place is small and adorable, but not cramped. It has character and charm and the staff was so nice and sweet. We went because of the vegan options and we were not disappointed. The vegan spring rolls were a great starter. My sister and I shared 6 rolls which was way more than enough for the two of us, so we shared with everyone else at the table.😄Everyone loved the food. No complaints at all. Reasonably priced and just a lovely overall experience. I will definitely be back. Probably many many times. Lol

Pros: Tons of options, Quaint atmosphere, Inexpensive

Paulien

Points +100

Vegan
13 Nov 2019

Mega lekker!

Wauw, wij gingen hierheen om te lunchen. Super lekker, toen we bestelden begrepen ze meteen dat we vegan aten, maar toch zei ze nog heel netjes bij alles erbij dat het vegan is. Het eten was heel lekker en zag er goed uit!

Pros: Vegan opties duidelijk aangegeven, Zeer lekker

kellyadams1

Points +56

Vegan
06 Nov 2019

Vegan sushi! Amazing vegan ramen!

The owners are so nice and encouraged us to try the vegan options. The rolls we had were so good! We had the mushroom Ramen and it was loaded with flavor and so so good. Highly recommend.

Pros: Amazing vegan options, Flavorful vegan ramen , Lots of options for sushi rolls

Chris666

Points +373

Vegan
03 Oct 2019

Great food, knowledgeable staff.

I found this restaurant on this app and was impressed. First off, they had all vegan items clearly labeled with a vegan icon. The staff (maybe owner) was friendly and very knowledgeable about vegan options. I had the food to go, but it was very good. I had mixed veggies and rice with tofu. The veggies were big chunks of veggies, very hearty and flavorful. It didn’t have that artificial, msg taste some Asian restaurants have. You could taste the veggies, not just the seasoning. But they were still seasoned tastefully. Perfect balance. I had fried tofu... but the tofu wasn’t overly fried to the point you just taste crispy shell... you could taste the tofu (also big, hearty chunks) and not just fried garbage. But the food was excellent, staff friendly and knowledgeable, and everything vegan was clearly marked, making ordering a breeze. (I hate having to ask about ingredients item by item to a server who has no clue... not an issue here). I highly recommend you check this place out.

Pros: Delicious food. , Clearly marked vegan items. , Friendly staff.

Cons: None.

JennaHirth

Points +44

Vegan
24 Jun 2019

Vegan menu

I was super surprised to find out that there was a sushi place in my town that had a whole vegan menu!! I absolutely love sushi and have been here a couple times since I found this out! Highly recommend!

Pros: Owner is open to veganism, Fairly inexpensive , Delicious

ssiss

Points +20

Vegan
18 Apr 2019

Fresh and creative

While not vegan they have made a strong effort to have lots of options that are clearly labeled. Everything I've had is delicious and the chef it's always willing to answer questions about the menu. We love the diverse sushi menu which has probably 10 varieties instead of the usual 1. Becoming a new favorite for us.

Pros: Lots of sushi options, Clearly labeled

shalanos

Points +13

Vegetarian
10 Apr 2019

Wonderful Place!

I am a regular at this restaurant! I always get the Shitake ramen, the vegan sushi (The Monk is my favorite,) and Thai Iced Tea. The owners are so kind and are willing to change up recipes if need be, though they have plenty of vegan options so it isn't necessary. Side note, it's always a bit chilly in the restaurant so being a jacket!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Chef is willing to veganize food, Food is delicious

Cons: It can be chilly in the restaurant , Some days only open for dinner, Some days open 11:30-2, closes and reopens at 5

renee.duquette

Points +531

Vegan
17 Mar 2018

impressed

I decided to go to this place because of the delicious looking photos. I definitely was impressed. This place puts love into their food and pays attention to detail. The cook will make just about any type of vegan sushi that your hear desires. He will even create a plate for you if you aren’t feeling creative. You don’t have to order from the menu. Just let him know you are vegan and he will work his magic. Love love love this place.

Pros: creative , many options , friendly staff

Cons: serves flesh, a little slow to plate

AmyFord

Points +125

Vegan
30 Dec 2017

A Vegan Sushi Haven

Zen of Sushi is a cozy little gem with one of the kindest chefs I have ever had the pleasure of receiving a dish from. His passion for the creation of magical medleys is still blowing my mind after two years of eating here. A true Sushi chef takes time to get to know you. They can read what you crave, even if you are muddled and unclear. Your favorite local place becomes a nurturing home away from home where you can revive and rejuvenate from the first sip of miso soup.

I have stopped at many a sushi or Japanese restaurant for everything from a quick hand roll to a full on feast. At Zen of Sushi, the bowls of Miso Soup are always Vegan, giving you a transfusion of love! There are many Veganized choices. Go for the Agedashi Tofu. It is pure Vegan, Non-GMO and gluten free made with a light crunchy coating of sweet potato flour. Yummy doesn’t even begin to describe it.

Try the Navajo roll for a little zap of jalapeño, tiny slivers of lime, cilantro and creamy avocado. My new obsession is the truly addictive Spicy Edamame perfectly steamed, coated with spicy toasty deliciousness. These became so Pavlovian that just typing this has caused me to drool a little. Have them during Happy Hour with hot sake or beer.

Chef Gary’s culinary artistry is so mouthwateringly good, that my Vegan friends living in other states have called me up and begged me to stop posting. As I have told them, “No, I shall not!”

More of my favorites include every Futomaki he has ever made me, vegan Chirashi Sushi and delicate little cucumber wrapped veggies with a gentle pop of rice vinegar. I have loved every hand roll and Nigiri sushi Gary has ever placed on my plate. Did I mention the Miso soup? It is a warm hug from a long-lost lover.

Gary is also your hot food order chef. He tempts his hungry followers with noodles and stir-fries that inspire audible yummy noises from across the dining room. Are you in the mood for something warm? Try a steamed delight with silky tofu and broccoli over Forbidden rice. This is one friend’s favorite dish.

Once Gary gets to know your quirks, he can read you like book. What does a Vegan do in Florida? Eat here of course!

Pros: Lots of Vegan already on the menu., Chef is happy to Veganize for you., Chef cares about your likes and dislikes.

Cons: Closes between lunch and dinner., Closed Monday lunch., Closed Sundays.




This page has been viewed 3377 times.