Get the HappyCow App

HappyCow mobile application
The App Stores #1 vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide
Thousand of listings across the globe
Featured on CNN, NY Times, and Wall Street Journal
Download the app

© HappyCow 2018

Yuan Xiang Idealite

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 7 reviews )
Contact
62647100
Find

153 Rochor Rd, Bugis Village, Central Singapore, Singapore, 188428

圆香素食 has multiple outlets in Malaysia advertising as a wholesome dining place. Uses whole grains and ingredients. No garlic or onion. This branch is its first venture into Singapore. Serves dishes like tomato spaghetti, red curry ramen, pumpkin vege set, bak kut teh rice, and other local dishes. Previously named Idealite. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Chinese, Organic, Western, Take-out, Malaysian, Singaporean

7 Reviews

First Review by veganeconomist

improbable

Contributions +30

Non Vegetarian
09 Jul 2018

Cool Place - Edit

Doesn't play pop music. Will be returning.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Satrai

Contributions +230

Vegetarian
29 Jun 2018

Good, confirmed open June 2018 - Edit

Several (local/Malaysian) Chinese dishes on the menu. Prepared fresh. I took the (modified) nasi lemak. Had great fresh ingredients.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

breakfastparadise

Contributions +95

Mostly Vegetarian
22 Mar 2018

All-time fave cafe in bugis - Edit

Idealite is definitely one of my fave cafes in bugis! Really love the Hokkaido pumpkin miso soup which is so thick and generous with their veggie and tofu! Love it that they don't serve any mock meat at all here, and no MSG added in their dishes! Everything is so yummy, healthy and wholesome! Their bak kut Teh ramen is a must-try too! Looking forward to trying their new power bowl during my next visit there! 👍👍👍

Pros: highly accessible, walking distance from bugis MRT, no mock meat/MSG used, wide variety of wholesome delicious food

Cons: prices can be on the high side, plus GST charged

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

consciouscookieee

Contributions +484

Vegan
21 Mar 2018

Yummy, nutritious meals - Edit

My fav bowl of comfort food is their millet porridge with firm tofu marinated in a five-spice gravy & some crispy pumpkin floss :’) Also they serve some of the best marinated black pepper mushrooms I ever got to try in my 19 years of life on their Happy Plate 201! The black pepper gravy was on the sweeter side & didn’t have the strong black pepper kick typical of many black pepper dishes, which made for an amazingly harmonious blend of mushroom & black pepper flavours :’) The cute lil’ pea? sprouts paired with crispy pumpkin? floss the sweet & juicy watermelon cubes complemented the chewy brown rice grains really nicely as well :) And not forgetting. The soup. It’s probably one of the most delicious soups I’ve ever had, which may sound familiar (given the first line of this chunk of text) but really, no kidding y’all friends :’) Love the solid 清甜-ness (light sweetness) of the warm broth (special thanks to the corn), & how it’s not overly salty and not bland at all unlike some other places. My favourite but sorely underrated dish!

Pros: Yummy, Nutritious

Cons: A lil’ expensive

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

th24

Contributions +52

Vegan
13 May 2017

Finally A Vegan Cafe in Bugis - Edit

Good quality vegan choices in a district that has pretty awful veg options. I like how they try to be innovative with some dishes like the sushi. The noodles are nicely done. Prices are fine as it's a proper cafe that's nicely designed. They offer a small discount off your next bill if you return by a specific date which is a nice touch.

Pros: Beats all the unimaginative, unhealthy vegetarian

Cons: Robotic staff who speak mainly Chinese.

JimmySeah

13 Nov 2017
the boss has clarified that the cafe is not fully vegan.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

ouikouik

Contributions +2401

Vegetarian
30 Jan 2017

idealite - Edit

clean, healthy food (no msg, peanut, microwave, synthetic colouring, vegetarian gluten meat). but not cheap by singaporean standards, especially in bugis where veg*n food is aplenty.

my father and i ordered rice dishes with red/green curry. while i have nothing against white space, the way these were presented was underwhelming - i could count the number of papadum, cashews and sesame seeds (see photos). the most generous portion seems to have been watermelon. soupy dishes such as my mum's bak ku teh seemed more generously apportioned as contrasted to the rice dishes.

i ordered a set meal which comprised soup, salad, drink and main course. as we went on a monday, soup was on the house for everyone, even those who hadn't ordered set meals. from a customer's point of view, i'd have appreciated if they had offered a discount or an additional snack/dessert to account for this discrepancy.

besides our three mains, we also ordered a fried mushroom dish to share.

the waitress who served us was friendly, but we still had to pencil in our own orders, which caused a bit of confusion with special requests. although we were there before the lunch crowd thronged, and although the waitress had repeated our order, egg was still served when i had asked for it to be omitted from my dish.

with so many veggie choices in the area, this is not a place i would bring my omnivorous friends if i'm intending to wow them, healthy as it may be. i'm not against revisiting it, but will probably do so only when i've finished trying out the other eateries in bugis, or if there's a promotion going on.

Updated from previous review on 2017-01-29

Pros: wholesome, healthy food, friendly staff

Cons: servings could be more generous, not cheap

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veganeconomist

Contributions +102

Vegan
17 Aug 2016

Healthy, vegan friendly vegetarian restaurant - Edit

Had the red curry ramen and Hokkaido sushi at the restaurant yesterday. Both dishes were good; I especially enjoyed the sushi. I also liked that they use whole wheat noodles for the ramen. The service staff was friendly, but seemed a little disorganized at times.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Central Singapore Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Yuan Xiang Idealite closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3658 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support