• Ykillamoocow Food Stall

  • (16)
    15
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Western
Fast food
Take-out
Take-out only

Long-established Aussie food stall at the Green Flea Markets selling no-bull pies, not-so sausage rolls, not-such-a dagwood dogs, samosas, soy lassis, and more. Was previously vegan but added cheese in 2015. Take-out only. Open Sat 6:00am-2:00pm.


Venue map for Ykillamoocow Food Stall
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by krystaljadexvx

NirvanaRoseWilliams

Points +4386

Vegan
02 Oct 2022

Must do at the West End Markets

Matt the owner is always lovely. The pies and rolls are hearty and tasty. The Dagwood dog is the highlight but aren’t always available. Samosas are also super good.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Dagwood dogs , Cheap

Advertisement

leesar

Points +16

Vegan
22 Jan 2022

Consistently outstanding

Vegan pies don't get better than this!

Pros: Epic vegan options, Friendly and fun service, Warm and ready to eat, or chilled to take home

nafanc

Points +1615

Vegan
10 Feb 2018

Nice snack at the market

I stopped by for a no-bull pie and Dagwood dog. Both were savory and satisfying. This is a great place to stop by while you’re at the Davies Park Market.

Pros: Savory snacks

necius

Points +457

Vegan
18 May 2015

Not healthy, but delicious food

I came to the West End markets with a friend, knowing that there was at least one stall at which I could get vegan food. After walking around the markets for a while, I happened to notice it. It's not especially well signed, you can easily miss it.

Boy am I glad I didn't miss it, though. As is often the problem when finding Vegan places the problem was narrowing down what I wanted to order. I decided to go traditional and had a no-bull pie and a vegan dagwood dog. The man who served me made sure I was under no illusions that what I was ordering was healthy; I wasn't. It was cheap, too. I paid no more than I would have paid for the non-vegan versions in a bakery.

Both of the things I ate from there were delicious. It's been a long time since I've had "the real thing", but I'm sure the pie was just as good, if not better, than any pie I've had in my life. The same goes for the dagwood dog.

If you're looking for classy, health conscious food, this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for traditional australian unhealthy, but delicious food, then go no further. I know that next time I'm in West End on a Saturday, this will be my go-to lunch.

Pros: Delicious, Cheap

Cons: Stall only operates on a Saturday

wrinklefish

Points +32

Vegan
20 Mar 2015

Delicious, good price, did I mention delicious?

I first came across ykillamoocow products at The Food Co-op at Griffith Uni Nathan. They had the pumpkin and barley rolls, as well as the No Bull pies (my favourite). Since I stopped studying there I hadn't been able to get any (I work on weekends) but the owner delivered some to me on a Friday! Best day ever! The food they make is delicious. Not all vegan, but do ask as they know what 'vegan' actually means. The price is great and the food is excellent.

Nikki1801

Points +963

Vegan
08 Jun 2014

Great pies, great guy!

This guy is super friendly and awesome- his pies are good (not the best I've ever eaten but still a great pie).
First time we went at 11:30 and he was sold out except a few samosas, so we returned following weekend. So if you are in town for just one weekend, GO EARLY to avoid disappointment!
We returned so early I ended up eating one for breakfast, haha! The samosas are good and so was the pumpkin barley roll.

annette

Points +110

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2014

No more steamed dumplings

Unfortunately the steamed dumplings are not available anymore but the fabulous samosas, pies, hotdogs etc. are still there. Love this stall.

Pros: bite size & delicious, good value, friendly staff

Cons: sell out fast

DavidHearne

Points +82

Vegan
01 Mar 2014

No Bull pie is the best you will ever taste! EVER!

Just get to the West End markets at Davies Park and try the No Bull pie - or the other tasty treats, and enjoy wonderful veggie street food! No Bull pie is vegan and Matt is a lovely, funny guy who will look after you. The No Bull pie is the best I have ever had, yes I'm vegan, but I wasn't always and this is just the best thing you will ever have! The other options are also great. Enjoy and get there - knowing you can enjoy a great Aussie pie without causing an animal to suffer.

Pros: No Bull Pie - wow!, Other options - really nice!, Matt is a top bloke

pitty

Points +72

Vegan
18 Jan 2014

Yummy pies

I love it - I'm a regular at this place and love the no-bull pie with tamarind/date sauce and every now and then a dagwood dog.

Pros: Cheap , Friendly guy, Yumm

blinki

Points +920

Vegan
20 Nov 2013

A good pie

Makes going to the market worth going out of your way for. Tasty pie to eat then loads of fruit and veg to be bought at the market.

Peppermintpatty

Points +32

Vegan
13 Apr 2013

The best pies I've ever eaten

These guys are the best reason to go to the West End markets. Amazing mock meat pies and Dagwood dogs. My only complaint is that they sometimes sell out.

Pros: so tasty, cheap, tomato sauce art

Cons: need more pies

ClarkeVincent

Points +163

Vegan
08 Apr 2013

Great market food

Great pies and rolls, served hot with sauce. Delicious to munch on as you stroll around the market. Cheap too, plus even cheaper if you buy bulk. Cooked and uncooked pies available - we often take some home and store in the freezer as a quick meal option. Not everything is vegan, so just check when ordering.

Pros: tasty, cheap, served hot or cold

Cons: not all vegan, will run out if you're there late

j0rdana

Points +32

Vegan
17 Mar 2013

INCREDIBLE

If you haven't been to the Ykillamoocow then get moving!! They have THE BEST vegan & vegetarian pies, pastry rolls, samosas and dagwood dogs.

Some of the best food I have ever tasted and only $4 each! So cheap and beyond delicious. Even my carnist sister was spewing over how good the vegan dagwood dogs and 'no bull' pies were.

Great for vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike! Since going there last Saturday, I haven't been able to stop raving.

Pros: EXTREMELY TASTY, Cheap, Very friendly

LeighW

Points +34

Vegetarian
11 Sep 2012

Great food in the outdoors

We often go to the market and always have to get something from Ykillamoocow. Great variety, value and location.

Pros: Tasty and interesting, Well priced, Great staff

Cons: Only Saturdays, Sometimes sell out of what you want

sunsatori

Points +561

Vegetarian
01 Sep 2010

Gotta try one

We tried twice to find this place, the first time they had already run out of dogs and had closed. Gah!!

Second time was a success!! And what a thing. It's basically a hotdog on a stick, covered in batter, dipped in tomato sauce - genuine HOT DOG!! Oh hang on, there's no meat in the dog. You'd never guess.

Good novelty value.

Pros: Novelty hot dog, Cheap

Cons: Sometimes sold out, not nutritious

krystaljadexvx

Points +18

Vegan
23 Aug 2009

loved it.

went to the green flea market specifically to try ykillamoocow's food.
my boyfriend and i had a not so dagwood dog each and then went back to try more. they were delicious. i bought myself a samosa and him a no bull pie and once again they did not disappoint. definetly going to buy some frozen to take home. all vegan except for their spinach and feta pie. also had barley and pumpkin sausage rolls on offer. all day i have been craving a pie. the two gentlemen at the stall were also very friendly, an added bonus was that after eating so many things from there, my boyfriend and i did not feel sick or heavy in the stomach. much better than meat pies or real dagwood dogs.
great value too, nothing over $4. couldn't of asked for a better stall.
also the market where the stall is located has a fantastic vibe, everyone seemed so friendly and genuine, great to buy fresh organic produce!

Pros: so friendly., so delicious., awesome value.

Cons: newly found cravings. :)




This page has been viewed 13093 times.