Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Vietnamese
Honey

Small vegetarian Vietnamese restaurant. Uses a variety of faux meats. Owners speaks English. Relocated 2016 from no. 644. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-10:00pm, Sun 6:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Yen Ninh
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by rus2311

Johannpohl

Points +73

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

Delicious food and very friendly family owner

We visited it 3 times during our 1say stay in Dien Bien Phu

Advertisement

Here.To.Travel_Jade

Points +8653

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Cute little place

Went here twice and also got some food to take away with us for the bus journey. It’s a cute little place which I think is the front of their home, with just a couple of tables and lots of books. Menu is in English and staff can speak English. It’s family run. Didn’t like the crispy chicken/tofu all that much- tasted mainly of fried batter but the rest was really good. Was well priced. They weren’t open the first time we tried despite listed opening times on google maps

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-05

SerinaRöben

Points +279

Vegan
26 Dec 2022

Super!

Sehr leckeres Essen mit viel Auswahl und netten Inhabern! 😊

Pros: Viele Vegane Optionen

rojasavila

Points +72

Vegan
27 Sep 2022

Lovely place!

The food is amazing, the prices are good and the service is the best. They still have a lot of Vietnamese and international dishes that you can try, I recommend the spring rolls and sushi

elien25

Points +256

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Go here for the best food!

This restaurant was a real gem! We came here for all our meals in Dien Bien Phu (3 times) and all of the meals were superb! My favourites were the fresh springrolls, the pho, the sweet and sour ‘pork’ and the braised eggplant. Best food in ages! On top of that the people here are really friendly and nice! Just go and experience it all yourself ;-)

FloraZoet

Points +49

Vegan
14 Dec 2019

Amazing

This is the best place ever. The food is so good and the people are really nice! You have to go here when you can.

Pros: Awesome food, Cheap, Super friendly people

Cons: Nothing.

Ellalauwa

Points +757

Vegan
27 Jan 2019

Go there!

Very nice staff and delicious food. The fried mushrooms were the best!

Jeremie

Points +69

Vegan
08 Apr 2018

Lots of delicious local options

Great neighborhood vegetarian spot. Run by a nice woman inside of a little library. Only thing disappointing was there were no vegan dessert options.

Ashtanga_yogi

Points +27

Vegetarian
24 Jan 2018

Fabulous small restaurant


We were very happy to find this place - it is up a small side street and not visible from the main road but it is marked on google maps. Very friendly service, long opening hours and a decent menu of fabulous food. Highly recommended.

Pros: Friendly, English speaking, Open long hours

Cons: None

SchwarzeTraube

Points +13

Vegetarian
26 Nov 2017

Delicious

Great food, welcoming atmosphere and good prices. We went 2 times and really enjoyed the dishes here. We were even able to finally get Vietnamese breakfast without having to worry about non-veg broth or eggs :)
The portions were a bit small but the prices allow to order several dishes.
The owners speak excellent English and are very friendly and nice to chat with.

It's a bit hidden away in a side allay between normal houses and their sign isn't big, so we nearly gave up. It was worth the search though!

Pros: Really good food, Atmosphere , English

Cons: Location

KevinMizen

Points +459

Vegan
29 Mar 2017

Excellent

Great menu, great food and brilliant service at good prices. Food is made fresh and to order.
The owner personally took me to a bicycle repair shop after I'd asked him where I could get a broken spoke replaced. Must visit this place.

danazoutman

Points +26

Vegan
06 Mar 2017

Heartwarming

On my way from Laos to Hanoi I had about 10 hours to kill in Dien Bien Phu. I walked over to this little restaurant and found a little living room that also functioned as restaurant and bookshop. The owner was so lovely and spoke great English, asking me about my journey and helping me write out a little text about veganism in Vietnamese to hand out during my travels in Vietnam. I tried their Pho, fried springrolls and sweet and sour pork and am still baffled by how amazing the latter was. I actually went to the kitchen and asked how they prepared it and if they were sure it wasn't actually meat.
At the end of my day as I was about to leave, they grabbed my huge backpack and handed me a helmet. They drove me back to the busstation on their motorbike.
Unexpectedly one of the most unforgettable days I've had. Thank you so much.

Pros: amazing food, amazing people, english!

Jacobo

Points +53

Mostly Veg
27 Apr 2016

Great Vegan Food in Dien Bien

While spending a few days exploring Dien Bien I ate here three times. Everything I ordered was prepared fresh and was delicious. The braised eggplant and cucumber salad were some of my favorites.
The two sisters running the place speak English well and are very welcoming. There is also a small cell phone shop inside in case you need buy a new SIM card and get a phone plan.
So happy that this place exists!

Pros: Friendly English speaking staff , Delicious food

Cons: Good food takes time so you may have to wait

blaim

Points +244

Vegan
01 Mar 2014

A Gem!

We were so happy to discover, thanks to a fellow cyclist who blogged about it, this cute little restaurant in Dien Bien on our ride to Laos.
We loved the braised 'fish' with galangal - it was fantastic. Forgot to take a picture of it...
The owner / proprietress is sweet, speaks excellent English, and it is very much a family run place (like all small ventures in Vietnam).
We noticed a set menu selection on the way out so this might be a great option and allow you to try a few dishes. Ask about it.
If in Dien Bien you should visit.

Pros: Vegetarian and almost vegan , Beer, WiFi

rus2311

Points +19

Vegetarian
Owner
18 Jan 2014

Yen Ninh vegetarian restaurant - Dien Bien Phu

It's located on the main road, at 644 Group 1 Tan Thanh ward, around the corner, opposite Truong Chinh street
It opens at 8am to 10pm everyday




This page has been viewed 2679 times.