Vegan
Organic
Juice bar
Take-out
Bakery
Breakfast
Canadian

Plant-based cafe & restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, organic coffee, juice, smoothies, and treats. Location is at the back of the building. Open Wed-Sun 9:00am-2:30pm.


Venue map for Yayu
© OpenStreetMap contributors

27 Reviews

First Review by johnny_s

erinhuber

Points +26

Vegan
03 Nov 2023

Amazing and also very GF friendly- awesome staff too

Staff /owners were so kind and so many GF options too

Pros: All vegan , Lots of GF, Staff

Advertisement

snolan14

Points +16

Vegan
25 Aug 2023

Best breakfast wraps and smoothies

This place is awesome. Food is great, good portion size, and the staff are so welcoming and friendly. They gave some vegan dinner recommendations too. We came here both days we were in Ukee and have zero regrets. Zero!

Pros: Barely wrap, Smoothies, Oat latte

savethetiger

Points +51

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Delicious

A small cafe in the centre of Ucluelet. I had the abundance bowl which was delicious, the flavours were delicate but so tasty definitely 10/10. Shame the opening hours are so short would love an evening meal here.

NinaSophie

Points +336

Vegan
09 Aug 2023

Delicious lunch

Straight across jamies bear watch, which was a pleasant surprise😄. Super tasty, especially the bahn mi!

JanCawthorne

Points +111

Vegan
09 Jul 2023

Delicious Meal

So excited to discover this plant based restaurant on our vacation to Ucluelet on Vancouver Island. We had the Pad Thai and the Abundance Bowl, followed by a brownie and a raspberry thumbprint cookie. All were delicious. We bought a falafel bowl and rainbow rolls to go for tomorrow’s lunch.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-08

HannahCooper

Points +92

Vegan
02 Jul 2023

Tasty healthy food!

Had a couple of the bowls and coffee. Everything was really fresh and tasty. Cafe is really cute, with a lovely patio that allows dogs.

Hazbbb

Points +27

Vegan
29 May 2023

Vegan cafe with great food and views

It's open! Lovely vegan cafe with spectacular mountain and water views from patio. Friendly staff. Had delicious cake and golden mylk- hot tumeric drink. Highly recommend.

RachaelEastman

Points +21

Vegan
23 Nov 2022

Hidden gem!

My family and I were looking for anywhere we could eat while staying on the west coast, and finding a total vegan cafè right in Ucluelet was so exciting for us. We all thoroughly enjoyed what we chose to eat - laksa, abundance bowl and mac n cheese. Our tea and smoothies were also delicious. We went back the next day for more too. It makes me wish I had the skills to open a vegan café where I live so that I could give others that same feeling of total peace in a cafè knowing there is zero harm inflicted for all the food. And the crew working were super friendly too.
Thank you Yayu 🙏🏻
The location on google maps confused me at first, but we found Yayu around the other side of 250 main st.
Ucluelet was very accommodating to vegans. Loved our stay there.

Pros: Great meal options, Super healthy smoothies, The new babybel cheese in the fridge

Cons: Not a lot of seating space

vegbrandi

Points +24

Vegan
13 Sep 2022

Amazing!

All plant based cafe!! I had the pad thai and iced matcha latte. My husband even said it was the best pad Thai he has ever had. Everything was high quality & delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-13

Pros: All vegan!

ChantalPoulin

Points +1466

Vegan
17 Jul 2022

Very nice food and place

The place is lovely, the food is tasty and the staff is nice. I recommend the pad thai.

millreef63

Points +20

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

Fantastic Spot

Delicious food, super friendly staff - definitely worth a visit!

AnnaontheVeg

Points +111

Vegan
20 Jun 2022

Wholesome tasty food

Enjoyed our pad thai and abundance bowl for lunch yesterday. Both very tasty. We found the quantities to be just right. Nice vib.

Pros: Tasty food and drink options, Friendly staff

Cons: Would be great if they were open in the evening

kylijshaw

Points +575

Vegan
13 Jun 2022

Good

We had the beautiful bowl and the pad thai, both were tasty options. The beautiful bowl was on the smaller side, especially for the price.

Pros: Fully vegan , Good options

Cons: Pricey , Smaller options

mysticsonic

Points +746

Vegan
12 Jun 2022

Yummy

Really nice food. As others have stated, the portions are a little small for the price (though I ordered the pad Thai which seemed more substantial than the beautiful bowl which my sister ordered) which I suspect is a supply matter. But maybe we are all used to eating more food than we really need??
Anyway, always happy to support a vegan restaurant!!! And point is, the selection was decent and the taste was really great.

BrianMerkosky

Points +20

Vegan
09 Dec 2021

Tasty but expensive and small portions

Would love to give more stars as the food was tasty but it was so expensive and the portions were so small for the price that it's not enough calories for a meal. I ordered my food with extra tofu and it had about 4 tiny extra chunks of tofu on it for $2.50 plus the meal itself was about $17 for a small portion with no other protein, barely any veggies and left me feeling very hungry afterwards.

It was tasty but unless they increase portion size for my $20 meal I can't ever even think of coming back here. All the ingredients used are super cheap too so it would probably cost very little for them to increase to a normal portion size.

Pros: All vegan, Tasty food

Cons: Very expensive, Very small portions

MarsiaMS

Points +253

Vegan
14 Nov 2021

Good food but pricey

While I enjoyed the food, I found the prices to be quite high for what is offered. There is no seating, this place is take-out only at this time. Portions are quite small. An entree will run for $15-17, which does not include tax and tip. I ordered a Beautiful bowl, which was a salad, and my partner got mac and cheese. It was tasty but not very filling. I would come back here though, as I am happy a vegan restaurant exists in the area.

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Small portions , No indoor seating , Expensive

PatrickBiller

Points +114

Vegan
19 Nov 2020

Everything here is so delicious.

I can’t stop ordering food here, it’s getting crazy.

Pros: All vegan, Some gluten free, Mac & cheeze

CarolynBell

Points +39

Vegetarian
21 Oct 2020

Hidden but heaven

Great selection but look behind the main building - it faces the rear car park area

Pros: All vegan and lots to choose from

Cons: Not obvious To find

nattytatton

Points +414

Vegan
14 Jun 2020

Vegan haven!

This place is incredible! The decor is clean, fresh and tasteful. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and lovely. The food is next level. Thank God there is a healthy option in this town for locals and visitors to enjoy. You can’t go wrong with any of the reasonably priced exquisite dishes for breakfast or lunch, as well as the thoughtfully made beverages. We enjoyed some smoothies, strawberry sunshine and A pineapple blue algae one. We also had an abundance bowl and waffles. I thoroughly enjoyed a golden milk and brownie. I can’t wait to come back and complete the menu! Love this place and anyone who goes here will too.

Pros: Seating in and out, Happy vibrations , Fresh fruits and veggies

Cons: Absolutely none

HaileyM

Points +73

Vegan
03 Mar 2020

A hidden gem

I say hidden because it was a bit hard to find! Make sure you go around the back of the building if your maps leads you to the front! There is also parking back there.

An awesome menu with extremely tasty food.
I had the pad Thai and my mom had the falafel bowl, both were amazing!
The banana bread is absolutely out of this world. They also offer to grill it with a bit of coconut oil which makes it melt in your mouth with a crunchy edges.

MegRivard

Points +59

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

An all time fave ♥️

One of my go to places during my lunch break! It’s SO nice to have a fully vegan spot in town that is healthy. I love the raspberry oat squares, the matcha latte and that they sell Yoggu! I always appreciate the specialty vegan items for purchase in the fridge. Super cute place, great energy and delicious food! 1010 recommend! xx

Pros: Fully vegan menu, Health conscious, Pad Thai 🙏🏽

AlisonMagill

Points +52

Vegan
17 Nov 2019

Amazingly delicious

I had the curry, oh my goodness. So freaking good. Very filling. Served with great naan. Cozy little space, I can imagine how nice it will be in the summer with outdoor seating. Staff (owners?) were friendly and welcoming.

Edit: I ate the brownie and cookie I bought to go and am in vegan dessert heaven 🤤

Pros: All vegan and I'm sure everything is delicious

Cons: Didn't see it at first, it's around back

bohobeautiful

Points +151

Vegan
11 Oct 2019

Omg

Honestly ate here every day we were in town. It’s such a beautiful time in history where wonderful places like this are opening up on beautiful places on the planet like Ucluelet!

Pros: Best food, Best food, Best food

yayucafe

18 Oct 2019

THANK YOU so very much for supporting us. So happy you enjoyed everything, and we are so very proud and excited to be leading the change in Ucluelet!

mackenzie8910

Points +172

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

Small portions

Though the menu is small, each option is delicious in it’s own way. I had a smoothie one day, and I came back for the next for breakfast. I thought the portions were quite small for the price that they were charging, though.
Also, don’t order a smoothie without bringing your own straw. They are very thick smoothies that come served in narrow jars, so it’s hard to drink without a straw. They will charge you $3.75 for one of theirs, or you will have to somehow slurp it without a straw.

Pros: Yummy

Cons: Small portions, No straw options

yayucafe

18 Oct 2019

Thank you so much for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your food, and being such a new business, am grateful for customer feedback, which is why we have actually changed our traditional brekky bowl. It is true we do not offer single use straws, as we always encourage customer to bring their own to-go mugs, straws etc. to reduce environmental impact. We do give customers a chance to purchase their very own bamboo reusable straw that comes with a carry case and cleaner for $3.50.

Burkemurray

Points +24

Vegan
10 Aug 2019

Good food, but small portions for the money

This is a very nice restaurant and the ingredients are mostly local and organic, which probably explains the small portions. We had the summo breakfast bowl and the tofu eggs and potatoes were sparse.other than that we really liked the place, and it was nice to have a vegan restaurant in this small town.

Pros: All vegan, Some gluten free options

yayucafe

18 Oct 2019

Hello and thanks for visiting! The brekky bowl is one of my favorite menu items! I love the roasted potatoes and seasonal veggies, beyond meat sausage served with toast and avocado! But it is disheartening to hear customers say the feel some bowls are expensive. Local and organic produce is the biggest challenge in our small restaurant, not to mention our small town. Because we are located at least an hour and half drive from the closest farms... it IS expensive to bring in local, seasonal and fresh produce. Especially because we are one of the only places in town doing it so there is virtually no one else to split the costs with! Often it is sometimes cheaper to purchase things from the local grocery store, than what the restaurant has to pay for wholesale fresh produce! But we hope that customers can really appreciate and understand we source only the highest ingredients and make everything from scratch.

SharneKiri

Points +546

Vegan
07 Aug 2019

Great spot to start the day or refuel!

What delicious food! Healthy, fresh and great taste! My Omni bf said about his kofta curry “it’s the best plant based curry I have ever had!!!” And he’s had quite a few!! A great find thanks to happy cow 👌🏼

Pros: Fresh and healthy , Lots of options , Great portion size

Cons: Takeaway treats are in plastic containers

yayucafe

18 Oct 2019

Yew! Thanks for stopping in to refuel! Im glad you enjoyed all your treats, the curry is an all time favorite?I also wanted to mention... we DO NOT use plastics!! Our cafe is built on high morals and standards and we pride ourselves in composting, recycling and reducing environmental impact on landfills. The take away containers you see in the fridge (which we no longer display like that) are actually biodegradable corn starch packaging ;)

johnny_s

Points +42

Vegan
25 Jul 2019

Super Tasty! Tricky to find.

First off - it is around the back of the building so tricky to find! Everything we have eaten for breakfast there (twice so far on this holiday) was fantastic. My three kids loved the pancakes and the strawberry mojito smoothie was delicious.

yayucafe

18 Oct 2019

amazing Johnny!! Hope to see you again. Glad we could nourish you and family!




This page has been viewed 3589 times.