Vegan
Chinese
Buffet

Hot pot restaurant operating at a fix price per person. You get a copper hot pot, choice of wild mushrooms from the Yunnan region plus vegetables, tofu, and mock meats from the buffet. You may also order appetizers, drinks, and cooked to-order items such as dumplings, noodle bowls, soy meat, and pancakes. Takes foreign credit cards. 常德路800号1楼, 近康定路. Open Mon-Sun 5:00pm-10:00pm. Kitchen stops 9pm.


Venue map for Yangege 焱格格蔬食料理火锅
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Manjo

sam.bishop3030

Points +121

Vegan
15 Jan 2024

Vegan friendly hot pot with great service and lots of options

Been here two times during work trips. Great variety of hot pot options, plus protein rich side mock meat and curry dishes. I counted that we had 14 different mushrooms during the meal - they kept bringing more!

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-15

Pros: Mushroom variety I can't get at home in the U.S., Friendly, attentive service (by Abao and others), Side dishes...

Cons: A little pricey (but worth it)

Advertisement

HannaBanana

Points +637

Vegan
10 Jan 2024

What an experience!

This was my second time at Yangege, first time was without reservation (would not recommend).
Staff speaks little English but is very friendly and translation apps are helpful.
Happy cow says fully vegan but wasn't sure if the first drink they serve is with honey though.
Alipay & cash only, no credit card or Apple Pay.


Definitely will come back! #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-10

Pros: Location, Staff , Good quality vegetables

Cons: Drink with honey?

er1c

21 Feb 2024

The drink is apparently sweetened with dates.

Victoriaot

Points +176

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

Loved it

Really nice place with a huge variety of delicious foods and drinks to try. You definitely won’t go home hungry!

The staff didn’t speak much English so we had to communicate in a mix of broken Chinese, English and some masculine translations. This is of course fine, I wouldn’t expect everyone in China to speak fluent English, but it did mean that we struggled a bit with how everything worked and what was included in the price. I recommend doing some research on this kind of hot pot before going if you’re a hot pot newbie.
They gave us a menu full of side dishes and drinks you can order in addition to the buffet. We were a bit stressed that it might not be included in the price, and we would get a bunch of extra expenses added to the bill, but everything was included. As far as I understood you can order as much as you want but the language barrier made it a bit difficult so we mostly took from the buffet which was more than enough!

The buffet has a large selection of different mushrooms, veggies, “meat” balls, starches etc. The produce looked really fresh and was beautifully presented.

The atmosphere and decor of the place is also really nice. It was pretty full when we went, so we ended up sitting outside, which was really hot in the summer, but the waiter brought us some small fans and we still had a great time. The outside area is nice and cozy in the evening, and excluding some cats and construction workers (?) milling around, it was pretty empty and quiet outside.
If you want to be sure to get a table inside you might have to book in advance.

I was a bit disappointed that they didn’t have a traditional spicy hot pot broth but trusting the recommendation of the server we ended up with a pretty good one. I unfortunately don’t remember what it was…

Pros: Lovely buffet with high quality items, Nice interior and exterior

Cons: Difficulties because of language barrier, Don’t have a more traditional broth

PeckPohYan

Points +41

Vegetarian
07 Dec 2023

Must come good service

Best Hotpot excellent service nice environment. Will definitely come back when travel to shanghai

Pros: Buffer style so much choice everything was so good

Elliej844

Points +163

Vegetarian
06 Jul 2023

Amazing vegan hotpot experience

This is a beautiful restaurant with an awe-inspring range of vegetables, soups and vegan meat substitute dishes. Buffet-style hotpot and a must-try for a true hotpot experience (vegan-style) this was pretty expensive (we spent about 300-400rmb for two people) but definitely don't regret and such a brilliant experience. Reservation needed.

Pros: Amazing array of buffet hotpot food, Everything vegan , Beautiful restaurant

Cons: Reservation probably needed, Expensive, Was unsure at first about the system of ordering h

rashphoto

Points +31

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

Best Hotpot! All Veg, AYCE

Loved the selection of regional mushrooms! Need a reservation as the place is small and quite popular.

SianEvans

Points +58

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Good for groups

Found this restaurant easily but I had no clue how a hot pot works and the staff didn't speak any English so I got very lost. Turns out hot pots are sharing things so I had way too much food for myself. They declined my card saying they don't take visa so I had to pay with cash. Staff are nice and food is good, would've been better if I had someone to share with!

Pros: Nice staff

Cons: Not good for solo travellers, Declined visa card

AmberLi

Points +73

Vegan
30 Mar 2022

BEST vegan hotpot

I absolutely love this place, there is SUCH a great collection of beautiful and fresh veggies for selection. It’s like a vegan heaven in downtown Shanghai 🤩 You can choose one vegan broth, and everyone has their own hot pot to cook in, so guests can all eat their favorite flavors. Make sure you get the Dianping 团购, it’s 10 rmb off for the set!

LucasWeiss

Points +331

Vegan
29 Dec 2021

Best Vegan Hot Pot in Town

I went there already several times because it's so freaking good. It's an all you can eat vegan Hot Pot with an amazing choice of fresh vegetables, mushrooms, mock meats and sausages, soups and a huge variety of sauces. You can choose from 5 different soups for your Hot Pot and you get an additional mushroom broth that is made from fresh mushrooms on your table. They also serve various fresh juices and teas - all included in the price.

Cost are 228 RMB per person. Considering the quality really good value for the money.

Pros: Nice atmosphere , Very high quality options , Excellent service

AlexKolb

Points +441

Vegan
25 Sep 2021

Pricey

Great hotpot restaurant. Lots of vegetables, mock meats, drinks and fruit to choose from. Excellent service and an impressive atmosphere with lots of dry ice and show. The only let down is the price. They don’t put the price (460rmb for 2) on any of the menus and it was a bit of a shock at the end. It also doesn’t break down how much each bit is.

yehadut

Points +1955

Vegan
15 Sep 2020

Enjoyed this a lot

All you can eat hot pot on those two their hot pot devices. As usual, not cheap, but good. They specialize in mushrooms, there were many mushrooms I'd never seen before, though mostly the taste didn't unless me. However, I liked the soup base and the variety of stuff to cook inside. Of the sides, I liked the soup dumplings best, in general they were hot and miss but all free so it's ok. Hot pot is an experience and this was a really good one so thumbs up.

sam31786

Points +517

Vegan
10 Apr 2020

This place is actually awesome.

It’s an all you can eat hot pot buffet plus tea/juice plus cold dishes plus a la carte menu items (noodles, pancakes, dumplings, etc). The hot pot comes in two tiers: top tier is the special Yunnan mushroom soup that you basically create yourself, and the bottom level is your hot pot. We picked the Japanese konbu seaweed broth for the bottom, which was an ideal choice of broth if you love seaweed like I do, and we picked three different kinds of mushrooms to go on the top. We also ordered the curry pancake (YUM), dry chili sauce wantons and a bowl of udon. Out of all the hot pot buffet items, the sausage/hot dogs and the wasabi cheese balls were by far the most delicious, so make sure you try them. Sure the whole thing is a bit pricy, but you get what you pay for, plus in a relaxed and comfy atmosphere. This place is super special and great and I’d go back for sure.

Pros: All you can eat hot pot + menu items , Delicious

Cons: Pricey , Food didn’t come out quickly by any means

Manjo

Points +59

Vegetarian
07 Dec 2019

Hot pots are fun

Very beautiful restaurant. We had a spicy broth which was on the bottom layer with a less spicy one on top. Choose your veg, mock meat and dipping sauce - plenty of choice.

It's more expensive than most other veggie restaurants we have been to in China - 450 yuan for 2 people and 2 soft drinks. But it was really nice and it is rare to get veggie hotpot.

To get there - go to Changping Rd. Metro station (line 7) take exit 2, turn right out of the exit and see the starbucks in front of you. As you get to starbucks, look right and follow that path down directly to the restaurant at the end of the path.




This page has been viewed 3195 times.