Lacto
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Nepali
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Family-run Nepalese restaurant and bar near the train and bus station. Features a section for traditional Nepalese dining with low tables and floor cushions. Menu lists vegetable dishes, but ask about dairy use. Uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. Booking is advised. Open Tue-Sun 12:00-14:00, Tue-Thu 18:00-22:30, Fri 17:00-10:30, Sat 17:00-22:30, Sun 18:00-22:00.


Venue map for Yak Yeti Yak
© OpenStreetMap contributors

26 Reviews

First Review by isabelroo

irise102

Points +673

Vegan
29 Dec 2023

Fun Food on the Floor!

We chose the more traditional seating at Yak Yeti and ate at while sitting on the floor. It was lots of fun but we were a bit stiff when we got up!

The food was delicious with lots of flavor!! We chose mild, but you can order with lots of heat if you prefer. We started with the crispy poppadum. The pickled veggie dip was a little spicy. The sweet archar dip was perfect for us!! We also had the vegetable momos appetizer (dumplings) which was very nice.

For the main dishes we had the aubergine and the butternut squash with braised black chickpea dishes. So much flavor in both!! Loved the crunchy soy beans in the aubergine dish!! We also had the bhuteko bhat- the fried vegetable rice. We had the maasko dal (black lentils). The dal was the only disappointing item we ordered. It was mostly liquid and the dishes we ordered did not require a liquid addition as they were moist and flavorful as is.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-29

Pros: Friendly and helpful wait staff, Flavorful food, Reasonable prices

Cons: Stiff when we got up; chairs available if desired

Advertisement

CharleyHarris

Points +700

Vegan
27 Dec 2023

Delicious

We had a delicious traditional meal in our family of vegans and omnis. We are at the traditional floor seating area which was an experience!
The food itself was very yummy - portions were generous so if you are small to medium eaters I would recommend one rice between two (the waitress told us it was small but no one finished the rice!). We ordered from the set menus so all of our dishes came well complemented with daal. Would go again!
Medium was a lovely amount of spice for flavouring and not pain! Mild has no spice essentially #Veganuary

Pros: Delicious, Traditional, Experience if you choose floor seats

Cons: Too much rice? Is that really a con tho?

EugeneLovesTofu

Points +1067

Vegan
08 Dec 2023

Love it

Loved Yak Yeti Yak. The food was great, some really unusual flavours and loads of options. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

flocitygirl

Points +1132

Vegan
17 Nov 2023

Amazing Nepalese food

I'm sure this restaurant would get an average of 5 stars on HappyCow if it was fully vegan (or at least vegetarian). Apart from that, I couldn't fault them. Everything was perfect, from the traditional setting to the amazing food, including the customer service.

If you’re after a unique restaurant, this is it. Located underground, it’s hard to notice it by chance so I guess they rely on their happy customers to talk about them – rightly so!

The atmosphere is friendly and their food is great. You have the option to either eat at a traditional table (with chairs) or on cushions on the floor… We chose to try the latter, as it made the experience more genuine.

We ordered a selection of mix and match dishes:
🥘 Cauli Keraw (cauliflower & green peas)
🥘 Pharsi ra Kalo Channa (butternut squash & black chickpeas)
🥘 Chyauko Tarkari (mushrooms in spices)
🍛 Bhuteko Bhat (Nepalese style fried rice)
🍛 Maasko Dal (black lentil dal)
🫓 Poppadoms

Okay it's not fully vegan but it's worth mentioning half their menu is, because a lot of traditional Nepalese food is already plant-based.

Pros: Unique experience, Perfect for sharing, Plant-based Nepalese cuisine

JacobWeller

Points +130

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Great place with great food

Really good vegan options. Staff were friendly. Would highly recommend.

MartinHagard

Points +19

Vegetarian
12 Jul 2023

Amazing food and experience

Plenty of vegan options. All main dishes that were vegetarian were vegan and they had one vegan desert. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was absolutely delicious. Well seasoned and beautifully cooked. We were two people and had three smaller dishes to share. All were great and one was absolutely top notch. Will definately come back if i visit Bath again and can't recommend this place more. Would've given 5 stars if it was possible.

ehm34

Points +229

Vegan
04 Jun 2023

Cute setting for tasty dishes!

We shared momos and three small plates with rice and dal. Very impressed by the flavours in all three small plates - bamboo, pea and squash dishes. Sadly the black dal was not the best, it reminded me a bit of onion gravy... Friendly staff and lovely decor throughout.

Pros: Great small plates for sharing, Clear labelling on menu

Cons: Black dal could be improved

solar

Points +76

Vegetarian
30 Apr 2023

Yummy

A full page of the menu is dedicated to vegan options and the food is really tasty. Asking for spicy for experienced users only.

robpeck98

Points +492

Vegan
30 Dec 2022

Smashing vegan options

If the app let me give 5 stars, I would. The food is fantastic.

friedrice

Points +1269

Vegan
20 Dec 2022

Great vegan options!

They have vegan ghee which means so many of usually-vegetarian dishes can be made vegan here. Portions are a good size and all vegan options are clearly labelled.

badgerboy

Points +511

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Don’t sleep on it

I was first recommended to go to this place back in 2014. Eight years later I finally ended up there and have no idea why I put it off for that long. An enriching place with fantastic vegan options, I’m keen to return…

champoun

Points +1153

Vegan
30 Dec 2021

Nepalese restaurant with vegan options

First time I’ve tried the Nepalese cuisine and I have zero regrets.

It’s not a 100% vegan restaurant but they do have vegan options. I wish they have more though on the menu…

Location is great (not far from the train station) and the staff was nice.

I had the broccoli and asparagus curry and vegetable pakora as a starter.

Both were delicious and really fills you up.

There are limited seatings available so making a reservation in advance is a must! #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-30

Pros: Vegan options , Location, Reasonably priced

Cons: More vegan variety needed on the menu, Limited seatings

evisublue

Points +99

Vegan
16 Jun 2021

Amazing vegan food

First time I've had Nepalese food and so glad I did. Everything incredibly tasty, really recommend the butternut and chickpea curry! Great spice level too.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Big portions , Tasty

Fraser3

Points +48

Vegan
01 Sep 2020

Delicious!

Very tasty food - I would highly recommend this place for the good food, attentive service and the Nepalese mountain hut feel.

Pros: Delicious food.

EBrown5

Points +40

Vegan
03 Nov 2019

Gorgeous food and lovely place!

The food was gorgeous and there are lots of vegan options. On the menu it recommends three dishes and a rice to share for two people and that was enough. Good prices. Definitely going back!!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good prices, Lovely place and staff

VeganOnVacation

Points +275

Vegan
27 May 2019

Great Nepalese food - many vegan options

Really good food and good service.

clarkie

Points +26

Vegan
13 Feb 2019

So cute

What a lovely place! It was a very interesting dining experience being able to sit on pillows on the floor! The food was so tasty with lots of vegan options, will definitely return. :)) I would give 5 stars however it is not fully veggie so it won’t allow me to !

lizipfe

Points +272

Vegan
17 Dec 2018

Great find

Lots of vegetable dishes to choose from, especially loved the watercress and spinach dish. The vegetables are cooked to perfection, still with a bit of crunch not a single mushy one in sight. Dishes look as if they are on the small side, and they are in comparison with your typical Indian restaurant, but the dishes are much deeper than they appear. My partner and I had a starter each and then shared a rice, Dahl, and three vegetable dishes and it was plenty. Really nice to sit on the floor. This place is very popular be sure to book so that you are not left disappointed!

Pros: Sitting on floor cushions, Good flavour, Good atmosphere

Cons: Service can be a bit hit and miss

Kerryneeds

Points +37

Vegetarian
01 Aug 2018

Lovely food and ambience

Great little find in bath if you want something different.

We sat on the floor cushions which was a nice way to eat our meal. Plates are small but very tasty!

ideal for a group or couple.

clap

Points +75

Vegan
22 Mar 2018

Very good

Very nice restaurant, it was my first time trying Nepalese food and I was pleasantly surprised by all the vegan options (almost half the menu) but be sure your food doesn’t have any ghee in it.

ellieallan

Points +248

Vegan
17 Dec 2017

I love this place !

Super yummy place to go, just ask what's vegan! :)

Salmorgan

Points +40

Vegan
12 Aug 2017

Fantastic vegan feed!

After getting off to a rocky start at a nearby tourist trap restaurant we recamped to Yak Yeti Yak. We had no booking on a very busy weekend but they said they could fit us in after a brief wait. The service was above polite, knowledgeable & super efficient and we had an amazing meal. The staff know what is vegan (which is pretty much all the vegetable dishes). They also have a lovely vegan Dahl and cauli pakoras. A hidden gem. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Pros: Inexpensive, Clearly marked vegan dishes , Central

spicybrady

Points +32

Vegan
19 Jul 2017

Nice Eat

Overall a place I would recommend. The food I got was not incredible, but It was good. The atmosphere/vibe of the restaurant was very nice, and the service was pleasant. The main problem, as another reviewer stated, is the cost. The meal is comprised of multiple small dishes (typical for food coming from Spain, middle east, india etc) but each dish is expensive with not much food. I would go back again, but it ranks well below Indian temptation in terms of both taste and bang for your buck (yes Indian food is differnt from Nepalese food, but there is significant overlap of dishes and flavors).

Pros: Great venue

Cons: Expensive

vegantearoom

Points +309

Vegan
01 Mar 2016

Awesome Atmosphere

This place, like most evening places in Bath, is underground and has a lovely Nepalese vibe. In one room you can even sit on the floor on cushions.

To my surprise this place had quite a lot of vegan options (even more than some vegetarian places in Bath) and even a vegan rice pudding desert that was the loveliest rice pudding I've ever eaten.

The food was delicious, the atmosphere was great. My only complaint is that it was quite expensive and you have to order 4-5 dishes to make one whole meal and this adds up to £20+ for one meal. Eeek!

Pros: great atmosphere, lots of vegan options, friendly staff

Cons: expensive

KFo

Points +36

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2015

Knowledgable staff and tasty food

Although this restaurant serves meat, the staff are very sensitive to dietary requirements, and they serve a couple of vegan/veggie options. The dal is delicious. The atmosphere is cosy and I enjoyed sitting on the floor cushions! I've been here a couple of times, and the service and quality of food is consistently lovely.

Pros: Good food, Sensitive staff, Floor cushions!

isabelroo

Points +156

Vegan
21 Jul 2015

Very special traditional Nepalese food and dining

I've visited Yak Yeti Yak twice now - once sitting at normal tables and once sitting in a separated section at low tables with floor cushions - and I have to say I preferred the latter experience! The food and atmosphere is lovely, what with all the authentic Nepalese themed décor and the constant tantalising smell wafting through the place and it's really worth going just for that alone.. but it felt very special dining in a totally different way to what I'm used to in a restaurant environment - a novelty I suppose (for us silly westerners!) The floor cushions were very comfy.
In regard to the menu the choice for veggies and vegans is great - I was told last time I went that every vegetable main dish is vegan, though it's not marked as vegan. And did I mention that the food is delicious? Cause it reeeally is.
There is also a tasty coconuty vegan dessert and a choice of tempting cocktails.
If you plan to go then I'd strongly recommend booking, and if you want to sit at the low tables then make sure you tell them when you book because they seem popular!!

Please note for disabled access - unfortunetly the restaurant is not accessible as it is situated in the basement of a building, with steps leading down to the entrance.

Pros: Traditional Nepalese dining, Beautiful food, Vegan friendly/generally friendly staff

Cons: Almost always need to book, No disabled access




This page has been viewed 6979 times.