CLOSED: Wild Thyme

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 11 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
+852-91819600
Find

1-3 Hart Ave, 4/F, Lee Wai Commercial Bldg, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China

Serves meat, vegan options available. Middle Eastern restaurant opened Jan 2015. Previously vego but omnivorous from Feb 2016 under new management. REPORTED CLOSED, DEC 2016.

Categories: Lacto, Beer/Wine, Middle Eastern, Lebanese, Non-veg

11 Reviews

First Review by JoeNieh

Great not perfect - Edit

We didn't no where to take our non omnivorous visitors and took a risk on this place, which payed off!
We had reasonable service initially and great service towards the end.
All 5 of us really enjoyed all our food and dishes.
The portion sizes were all generous besides 1 with was still adequate. The flavours were very nice and the dishes unique.
They had separate Vegetarian Menu witch was nice and a Vegetarian drinks menu
They took our Vegan request very seriously and checked in and listed everything that was vegan.

The Staff at the end were very friendly and asking for feedback at the end which is always good to see!

She checked in that the food was good the portions were good and the price was reasonable and we all agreed that the were.

Great option for when you have to eat with someone not wanting vegetarian food in my opinion and will certainly go back in this circumstance.

I'm going to give 4 stars as the food could possibly been more amazing and the service initially could have been a bit faster but that's me being picky.

Hope the average reviews don't put you off trying this unique funky little restaurant.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wild Thyme,Hong Kong - Edit

As per this article there has been a management change in early 2016. Wild thyme is no longer all vego.

https://hkveg.wordpress.com/2016/02/23/wild-thyme-no-longer-100-vego

As per comments by another reviewer when you consider the food you are paying for its overpriced.


Updated from previous review on Saturday December 05, 2015

Updated from previous review on 2015-12-23

Pros: Vego booze?

Cons: No longer all vego, Overpriced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

NOT PURE VEGETARIN ANY MORE - Edit

Was the only Vegetarin Lebanese Restaurent in TST ,
Which is no longer pure Vegetarin any more it is a restaurant which serves meat also now !
We have been many times loved the food very Orignal Lebanon food but sad that it is no more Pure Vegetarin
As we haven't seen the chef Tarek any time at all . We haven't seen him interact with the guests by checking how they feel about the food and service ,

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Average boring food at exorbitant prices - Edit

We decided to try this place out based on the all glowing reviews—what a giant mistake that was. Looking at the ho-hum menu and the outrageous price tags, we almost hightailed it out of there. Some examples: HK$80 for tabouleh, HK$80 for hummus, HK$85 for baba ganoush, and HK$110 for a simple kale salad. The most egregious of all were the dips: the mixed nut-based "wild thyme dip" for HK$120 and the "jalapeno dip" for a whopping HK$140. That's US$18 for a dip. Oh wait, if you really want to splurge, the "truffle hummus" can be had for HK$160. None of these cost anywhere that much to make. I don't care if they make me poop gold; that's highway robbery. But, not wanting to look bad, we stayed on and ordered light.

I wanted mohamara but they didn't have it, so I went with hummus with red chili sauce for HK$90, which set us off to a poor start. It came in a small bowl topped with that "homemade" sauce, which I thought would be something special, but it tasted to me like some generic local chili sauce that had reminded me nothing of the cuisine they were trying to present. The hummus was silky smooth, but too tangy without much trace of tahini. It also came with one pathetic piece of pita bread that most likely came out of a bag, cut in half, thin, and cold.

The other two dishes were slightly better. The falafel sliders (HK$90) that my partner ordered off their special menu came in three and, while not bad tasting, were too expensive for what they were. Our last dish was the classic mujadara (HK$120)—lentils and rice topped with supposedly crispy onions (which BTW should be caramelized, but whatever). Here it was just two sad, tiny pieces of dehydrated (?) onions that were neither crispy nor flavorful. To be fair, though, the rest was OK. The lentil rice was well-spiced, so was the cumin-scented tomato sauce (referred to as "red hot sauce" on the menu). Still, it was way too much money for a plate of beans and rice that I could easily whip up at home.

Another thing I had issue with was the authenticity of this place. I've never seen western pastas on a middle-eastern restaurant's menu, let alone two different versions of mac and cheese starting at HK$120 no less. For what it's worth, throughout our meal, all the kitchen staff that I saw come and go were Chinese as well.

Food was overall alright except for the hummus, but so grossly overpriced for what we got it's plain thievery. Needless to say we won't be back.

Cons: horrible value, stingy portions, questionable authenticity

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wild thyme - Edit

removing 1* for service. was the earliest of 5 to arrive and was served water after 30 minutes, only when i asked for it. for a start, we ordered 2 mains (sabanek + macaron el foron), and tabooleh + falafel. the mains arrived 1 hour later! staff apologised - it was crowded and they were understaffed. we were each offered a drink on the house and when my friend commented the sabanek wasn't hot enough, dessert was offered. i'd much rather have had prompt service than remedial actions (cost of drinks/dessert could have hired a temp staff that evening).

the mac+cheese was well received, as was the baklawa (which wasn't made inhouse); the rest my non-veg friends weren't particularly impressed with. i'm prob imagining but i seem to recall more pita with the starters previously (or was it cut into pieces rather than 1 pita for sharing?). we were told the loud thumping music keeps conversations at each table private. coupled with the chatter around us, we couldn't even hear ourselves sometimes.

*** 3 of us shared 3 starters - fettosh salad (hkd85), baba ghanooj (hkd85), falafel (hkd70) - and 2 mains: fried rice (hkd110) and sabanek spinach (hkd160). the total, inclusive of 10% service charge, came up to hkd561. i was initially afraid that we hadn't ordered enough, but the waitress assured us that it should be sufficient and to order more later if necessary.

the food was delicious, filling without being too heavy. particularly memorable were the the baba ghanooj, which creaminess was balanced by the refreshing peppers and pomegranate, and the falafel, which were crispy yet moist. presentation was also impressive. however, for the price, portions could have been much more generous, especially with the starters (which came with pitas, but perhaps one more pita for each dish? or just one more falafel?) and the fried rice (particularly when compared with the sabanek spinach). (from the menu descriptions, it seems that only 2 out of 6 mains are vegan, with the rest containing cheese/yoghurt)

the restaurant was quiet at 7.30 pm, with only two other diners, save for rather loud music. probably because of the enclosed space, it became increasingly noisy through our stay there. it was the diwali week and large families were out celebrating. it's not a place i will frequent because of the hefty price tag, but i'd be happy to be back with friends if they're ever in the mood for high-end, high quality lebanese food.

Pros: delicious food

Cons: very expensive for portion size, service needs improvement, very noisy (please change music!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Middle Eastern Food - Edit

I found all the food really delicious and had a lovely experience eating here.

We had the kale salad, baba ghanoush, falafel, fried rice, and an off-menu vegan chocolate cake:
- Kale salad: whilst the price for this is on the hefty side, the kale was fresh and dressing delicious;
- baba ghanoush: smooth, creamy, with a good smoked flavour and crunch from the bell peppers;
- falafel: perfect, light inside and a little crispy on the outside (with pita and tahini);
- fried rice: was a bit unsure whether to order this or the mojadra but was pleased with our choice. There are lots of nice textures in this with the pine nuts/almonds/cashews, and sweetness from the raisins; and
- chocolate cake: as mentioned, this was off-menu as I asked if they had vegan desserts and they happened to have this (not sure if available all the time). Had been craving vegan cake for the past few months and this was delightful with a mousse/ice cream texture. Wasn't sure if it was made from cashew, tofu or coconut, and turns out it was made from walnuts!

Will be back and look forward to trying different items.

I hope, from reading Stevie's comments, that the restaurant is soon able to confirm its alcohol is vegetarian/vegan.

Even if not, my view is that they have created a place very different to the majority of vegetarian places in Hong Kong, as they are clearly passionate about making delicious, authentic, top quality, Middle Eastern vegetarian and vegan friendly food.

Pros: Delicious, Authentic Middle Eastern food, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Little pricy for certain items

1 Response
Read More

Kam 15 Nov 2015 - good morning,

thank you for your review - am glad you enjoyed the food :)

we have been working on the wine / beverage list and have so far removed Cloudy Bay, all the Bols liqueurs, vermouth, cranberry and pineapple juice from the bar as we have verified that they may have been produced using animal products. Certain items like Bailey's are not vegan but are vegetarian so we shall keep them on.

we are also looking for alternative suppliers for the juices that we have removed.

there are still some products that the distributors have not confirmed yet but we are hopeful to have their responses shortly and will then act accordingly

fortunately most of our wine are already vegan friendly but
we have also added new organic and verified vegan friendly wines to our list ( vendors should be delivering them this week )

once we are 100% sure the list is vegetarian we will reprint our menus but for now, i guess we may revert to old school paper print outs on clip boards as our wine list so please bear with us while we transition ...

all the best,
kam


 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Veggie heaven - Edit

Although Hong Kong is probably one of the world's most Veggie friendly places, it's still a pleasure to dine at a completely Vegetarian restaurant.

Found this one via Happy Cow and in truth, being located on the 4th floor of a nondescript building, it's well hidden away.

I arrived without reservation very early in the evening and was surprised, given the the restaurant was fairly empty, at their uncertainty at being able to fit me in .... It soon became obvious that this restaurant was a local treasure as it very quickly filled. Booking essential.

The food is was incredible, focused on the Med/Middle East but with many different flavours. Very friendly and well worth a visit. I will definitely be returning.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Classy Time at Wild Thyme - Edit

We walked past the building the first time, be on the look out for a professional building in the midst of the glitz and neon lights of the neighborhood at night. The restaurant is on the fourth floor. Very nice classy and elegant dining experience. We shared roasted beets - delicious ! Pita bread and Baba Ganoush as well as the main dish, which was rice and lentils. We did not try the desserts but they looked amazing

Pros: Delicious

Cons: Might be hard to find

1 Response
Read More

Stevie 06 Nov 2015 - Hi Brenda,

The following are all interesting:-

* date you joined happycow - 31 May 2015
* date you added this review - 1 Jun 2015
* date of your last login to happycow - 1 Jun 2015

It's also interesting that:-

* this is the only review you have added to happycow in the 5 months since you joined
* the review is gushing in praise of the restaurant

For the benefit of transparency to happycow users:-

* do you have any affiliation with this restaurant to declare?
* were you given any incentive by the restaurant to write such a glowing review?

I ask since this also seems to exactly fit the pattern of the previous 3 reviews.

Any info is appreciated.

Keep well, Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Exotic Vegetarian - Edit

Simply the best hummus I've ever tasted. Highly recommend the truffle one.

Pros: excellent food, good value for money, great service

Cons: location was difficult to find

1 Response
Read More

Stevie 06 Nov 2015 - Hi HuangYu,

The following are all interesting:-

* date you joined happycow - 14 March 2015
* date you added this review - 14 March 2015
* date of your last login to happycow - 14 March 2015

It's also interesting that:-

* this is the only review you have added to happycow in the 8 months since you joined
* the review is gushing in praise of the restaurant

For the benefit of transparency to happycow users:-

* do you have any affiliation with this restaurant to declare?
* were you given any incentive by the restaurant to write such a glowing review?

Any info is appreciated.

Keep well, Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome - Edit

I think this is the best experience for Vegetarian food. Different kind of Hummus, Kibbeh and Malkish. Perfect flavour and Taste. The place has everything. Well loaded Bar, (961 beer, spanish wine and good collection of Malts), simple Decor, awesome food and to top it all the Music was perfectly selected. Overall a perfect evening.

Pros: Excellent Food, Friendly Chef, Good Value.

4 Responses
Read More

Stevie 06 Nov 2015 - Hi Belani,

The following are all interesting:-

* date you added this review - 9 March 2015
* date you joined happycow - 9 March 2015
* date of your last login to happycow - 9 March 2015

It's also interesting that:-

* this is the only review you have added to happycow in the 8 months since you joined
* the review reads more like an advertisement than a review

For the benefit of transparency to happycow users:-

* do you have an affiliation with this restaurant to declare?
* were you given any incentive by the restaurant to write such a glowing review?

Any info is appreciated.

Keep well, Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Belani 07 Nov 2015 - I have not been to Hong kong after March, hence not been able to visit the place or write a review. Honestly I dont know the terms and conditions of Happy Cow. I have to write a review periodically? If this is so then that was my first and last review.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Stevie 07 Nov 2015 - Namaste Belani,

Thanks for taking a moment to reply to my question. Its really excellent of you to do so. I certainly appreciate that you have done so.

In your reply it doesn't seem that my two questions for you were answered. Could you thus please help again by answering:-

a) do you have an affiliation with this restaurant to declare?
b) were you given any incentive by the restaurant to write such a glowing review?

For the benefit of transparency to happycow users it would be marvellous if you could give simple and clear answers to these 2 questions.

Thanks again for any help you can offer.

Keep well, Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Belani 10 Nov 2015 - I wasn't given any incentive by anybody for the review. I was told by somebody about Wild Thyme and hence I visited. and I wrote what I experienced.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I'm loving it! - Edit

What an exotic surprise! I am not vegetarian but would do Green Monday with my wife when we could. Wild Thyme is not your regular vegetarian restaurant, it is a wild and exotic experience that made us totally forgot we are having vegetarian dinner but only enjoying fine delicious food.
We love the kale salad, the truffle hummos, the smoked spicy macaroni and the Arabic ice cream topped with pistachio. We also love the tiny cups of mint tea they served, not to mention the wide selections of fine Japanese whiskies, I am not driving there next time for sure.
To sum it up, Wild Thyme is the hidden gem in TST! We have the best Green Monday in our life and all friends enjoyed the dinner so much we decided to come back next week, introducing more to join Green Monday.
Oh, one of our lady friend said after a few whiskes that Wild Thyme's amazing chef Tarek is the best looking chef in Hong Kong. Well, I am here just for the food. :)

Pros: Awesome food, Private environment , Good looking chef?

Cons: Building lobby not fancy at all, Service was friendly but not speedy

1 Response
Read More

Stevie 06 Nov 2015 - Hi Joe,

The following are all interesting:-

* date you joined happycow - 8 March 2015
* date you added this review - 8 March 2015
* date of your last login to happycow - 15 March 2015

It's also interesting that:-

* this is the only review you have added to happycow in the 8 months since you joined
* the review is gushing in praise of the restaurant

For the benefit of transparency to happycow users:-

* do you have any affiliation with this restaurant to declare?
* were you given any incentive by the restaurant to write such a glowing review?

Any info is appreciated.

Keep well, Stevie  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kowloon Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Wild Thyme closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3137 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support