• Whole Foods Market - SoMa

  • (11)
    7
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Large and well-stocked natural foods supermarket chain, acquired by Amazon.com in 2018. Offers selections in natural groceries and specialty foods, nutritional supplements and vitamins, fresh fruits and vegetables, as well home cleaning and natural body care products. Find vegan foods like tofu and soy products, plant milks, vegan ice cream, vegan cheese, frozen meals, vegan burger patties, cereals, nuts, and much more. Has deli and prepared foods department. The Whole Foods Markets in San Francisco feature daily fresh baked vegan donuts and vegan muffins. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:00pm. Open daily.


Venue map for Whole Foods Market - SoMa
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by atandt

Zombiecynthia

Points +4634

Vegan
12 Dec 2023

Whole Foods SOMA

Update:
Lines can get long - not what it used to be pre-pandemic. Thankfully it’s still open though!

Previous: Great for locals and travelers. In the heart of SOMA located between Bart & Caltrain and the busyness of the city/ball park area. Lots of vegan options and ample seating areas.
Great for eating and people watching!

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-14

Pros: Vegan/Plant-Based Options Near Moscone Center, Plethora of Kombucha, Great for Locals and Travelers

Cons: Not Fully Vegan/Plant-Based, Expensive on Specialty Items, Overall Vibe Has Diminished

Advertisement

MQHealthydude

Points +145

Herbivore
26 Mar 2023

Great selection. Nice staff in Soma .

"Not bad for a Whole Foods "

Pros: Lots of options , Fast check out , Nice staff

Cons: Expensive , Parking challenges

Kittybiscuit

Points +7469

Vegan
10 Dec 2016

Huge!

This was my first visit to a whole foods and I was just amazed how big it was! I got breakfast here one morning (donut, muffin and coffee) and it was all good. Lots of vegan friendly products. Wish we had a whole foods down the road in my city!

ThomasGerald1

Points +49

Vegan
09 Jul 2014

Just love it!

Great place for vegan people!

sglcklch

Points +2815

Vegan
27 Mar 2014

A typical Californian Whole Foods...

...meaning very fresh produce, tons of local vegan snacks and groceries at lower prices, and great vegan options at the salad bar. Every time I walk into a Whole Foods (or any health food stores in general) in California, it reminds me of how inadequate the ones back in Florida are in comparison. So, if you're visiting like me, take your time and peruse the store - I found quite a few things that I'd love to bring home with me, only if they were more travel-friendly... The downtown location is also a big plus.

Pros: selection, location

GlobalVeganist

Points +60

Vegan
26 Jul 2013

Great staff, great store!

I was looking for my favourite 365 dark chocolate with coconut, but unfortunately the store didn't have any. A friendly staff member gave me a chocolate for free as a sample, how nice! Also, I got a delicious fresh roll, made to order, with grilled tofu, greens and mayo. They didn't have the mayo to hand and apologized repeatedly for making me wait, which was no problem. Great customer service, keep up the good work!

DaniM

Points +2021

Vegan
09 Feb 2013

Perfect

Amazing like every Whole Foods market.

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
07 Oct 2012

Okay

I was walking in the South of Market area and stopped in at this Whole Foods Market, October 2012. This location carries the usual natural food and groceries offered by all the WFMs I've been to. Here it also features some locally produced vendors (like local coffee roasters). Also as with the other San Francisco WFMs this one offers vegan donuts in several flavors. I also found a price difference: the organic freeze fried peas snacks were cheaper here for the exact same thing than the ones at my local WFM in Venice, CA. Interesting...

The only thing I didn't like as much about this particular WFM is the floor plan. Due to its space availability, things are laid out not as orderly as I would have liked. It's a long store with one deep side, like an "L" shaped floor space; I prefer the box or rectangular spaces with rows of perfectly aligned shelves.

Seitan_Nic

Points +201

Vegan
04 Feb 2011

SOMA Whole Foods

This is a pretty good Whole Foods. One thing I like about it is the vegan options at the deli. In addition to the salad/hot food bar, this location always has a sandwich option, and they do a vegan pizza of the month (smothered in Daiya) that you can buy by the slice. They also have a pretty good beer and wine selection and seem to be pretty on it as far as keeping product in stock.

Bummer that the produce section gets so much sunlight....

Pros: Good SOMA/Downtown option, Vegan Pizza

Cons: Line system isn't ideal..., especially if you want to buy a cartful

·X·

Points +17245

Vegan
18 Sep 2010

WFMI

This is a typical Whole Foods, it's a really good size and they have plenty of vegan items. I did see a few things they have that are not available in Chicago or even other cities I've been in, such as Follow Your Heart vegan salad dressings and vegan cookie doughs, so those are items worth checking out.

atandt

Points +141

Mostly Veg
21 Jan 2008

what a place!

there is only one of these in Toronto, so SF is spoiled rotten with its several locations! an organic/health store supermarket of epic proportions. although it sells meat products, Whole Foods very much caters to the whims, needs, & tastebuds of the veg ilk & the health-conscious. an unexpected treat: a LARGE selection of decent wines takes the risk out of buying something disappointing.

Pros: incredible selection, helpful staff, to-die-for buffet

Cons: pricey at times, not 100% vegetarian




This page has been viewed 3944 times.