• Whole Foods Market - Haight

  • (8)
    1
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Large and well-stocked natural foods supermarket chain, acquired by Amazon.com in 2018. Offers selections in natural groceries and specialty foods, nutritional supplements and vitamins, fresh fruits and vegetables, as well home cleaning and natural body care products. Find vegan foods like tofu and soy products, plant milks, vegan ice cream, vegan cheese, frozen meals, vegan burger patties, cereals, nuts, and much more. Has deli and prepared foods department. The Whole Foods Markets in San Francisco feature daily fresh baked vegan donuts and vegan muffins. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:00pm. Open daily.


Venue map for Whole Foods Market - Haight
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by ·X·

ChloeChristine

Points +1417

Vegan
09 Aug 2021

Small store, okay for snacks!

We’ve frequented here a couple of times to get some “picnic” items for our trips to the park. I wouldn’t recommend coming here as a vegan to do a full shop but for little bits and pieces it’s good.

Advertisement

melanievel

Points +34

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

not vegan enough

They don’t have nearly as many vegan options as other Whole Foods. Which is strange since it’s in the Haight, but it’s the closest Whole Foods to me. Also the bathroom system is really weird and hard to manage. Other than that it’s just small, nevertheless a typical Whole Foods.

Zombiecynthia

Points +4695

Vegan
12 Oct 2018

WF on Haight is a Miss

Staff is great and friendly, there are vegan options however maybe due to the popularity of the location, size is small compared to other locations; and feels like inventory on favorites are low or not present at all. Also, word of warning on the bathroom situation- come prepare to purchase items first then get a code, make your way to customer service, or download the app ahead of time. Overall, they do have special items like VEGAN donuts, Hi-Ball energy drinks, and of course KOMBUCHA!

Pros: Haight Street Location, Specialty Vegan Items (pizza, ice cream...), Friendly staff

Cons: Can be expensive even with Prime, Advance planning for using restroom

BrittanyHowze

Points +338

Vegan
08 Feb 2018

my closest grocery store

This is a Whole Foods that caters to both locals and tourists of the haight ashbury district of San Francisco. The produce section is adequate, but much smaller than it should be given the size of the store. If you come in looking for a specific lettuce or green, they might be stocked, out, or have just a couple wilted picked over bunches that no one wants. The bulk food section is also adequate, but should be larger given the size of the store.

There are many prepared foods near the produce section, and it’[censored] or miss on whether they have many vegan options in the to-go salad section, I rarely buy anything from that part of the store. The baked goods vary wildly, sometimes the apple pies, for example, are vegan, sometimes not. There are almost always some vegan doughnuts. Always read the labels.

The organization of vegan refrigerated and frozen items is confusing...vegan cream cheese is next to non vegan cream cheese and butter, but then all other vegan cheeses are next to the tofu. Vegan frozen meat was previously all in one section, but now seems to be distributed among other sections. It seems like it’s always changing.

I go here due to convenience, but there are definitely way better Whole Foods that I have been to.

Pros: employees are helpful, convenience/location

Cons: soooo many instacart workers that don’t look up fr, organization of items, tourist area, can get very crowded

bianchina

Points +167

Vegan
30 Aug 2013

Very good

I was a little disappointed that so much vegetarian stuff containing dairy and eggs was mixed in among vegan items in the fridge, deli and freezer. When you sift through it a bit more, there isn't that many vegan items! Still there's plenty there for us and this place is great in terms of location and convenience as well. Beautiful fresh produce, nice staff.

Pros: Lovely produce, Big selection

Cons: the presence of meat section

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
22 Oct 2012

Agreed with other reviewers Vegan Donut Temptation

this whole foods has a strange set up, I wandered around trying to figure out how the heck you check out for 15 minutes to finally realize you line up in the back of the store... Vegan donuts are on display everywhere be careful!

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
05 Oct 2012

Bright space, nice layout

I've been to so many Whole Foods Markets I can't even count them anymore. This one, I visited today, and was rather pleased with my shopping experience.

It's a large store but not too big like some Whole Foods are. The store is brightly lit, and the layout is comfortable and well-organized.

Bought some treats from the bulk bins, grabbed some organic grapes, and was even tempted to take a vegan donut but refrained. Yes, this place offers assorted vegan donuts!

·X·

Points +17327

Vegan
10 Sep 2012

Whole Foods Market

I think I stopped at this location 4 times during my last stay in SF. My friend lives pretty close to it, hence the number of visits. This was also my first experience with Beyond Meat, the new faux chicken. They offer it in both the Sonoma and tarragon salads - quite tasty! I haven't eaten chicken since I was 5 so I don't remember what it tastes like, but I will say that the texture was reminiscent of the real thing (my friend, who eats chicken, agreed). They will also make you a sandwich with the stuff, so I recommend using the tarragon salad, add veggies - the bread was so good and the chicken salad combined with the veggies was delicious. This location also carries some of the best vegan donuts I've had (save for Might-O Donuts). You can find these donuts in their bakery section, I think the label says "POSH Donuts". The checkout line here is a little strange and the location is small, but they had so many good vegan items packed into one little store.




This page has been viewed 3396 times.