Whole Foods Market - Chelsea

  • Health-food-store Health Store
    ( 13 reviews )

Find

250 7th Ave (at 24th St, Manhattan), New York City, New York, USA, 10001

Large and well-stocked natural foods supermarket chain, acquired by Amazon.com in 2018. Offers selections in natural groceries and specialty foods, nutritional supplements and vitamins, fresh fruits and vegetables, as well home cleaning and natural body care products. Find vegan foods like tofu and soy products, plant milks, vegan ice cream, vegan cheese, frozen meals, vegan burger patties, cereals, nuts, and much more. Has deli and prepared foods department. Open Mon-Sun 7:30am-11:00pm.

13 Reviews

First Review by Bill K

ShauliLessner

Points +169

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Not as vegan as expected

A loot un vegan food make it difficult to find what is vegan when all is mixed together...
Only a few vegan desserts

Pros: Organic , Many vegan options

DaniM

Points +1745

Vegan
06 Nov 2018

Great

Just great with a large variety of different (raw) vegan stuff as the other Whole Food Markets.

rosalindnyc

Points +429

Vegan
15 Aug 2018

Not usually too crowded

Unlike other WF locations in the city, this one is usually more low-key. Great for groceries or quick lunch (takeout no seating).

Advertisement

adriannabn

Points +321

Vegan
08 Oct 2017

I love Wholefoods!

Have wanted to visit here for so long. Bought some cliff bar flavours I had never tried before, the most delicious vegan brownie and a decadent chocolate vegan cake. Also some Beanfields chip which were on special. So much amazing vegan food.

Pros: Range is huge for vegan food, Late opening hours are great, There is a Wholefoods body 2 doors down

Cons: A little pricey, Some vegan goods needed restocking

JanetteO

Points +53

Vegan
04 Aug 2017

Wonderful

We absolutely loved this supermarket/market. They have everything one could want. Perfect fresh produce, plenty of vegan foods, wonderful help yourself salads and dinner options. We visited the store 3 times during our 5 day stay in NY.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Zendi

Points +19

Mostly Veg
25 Jul 2017

Quality Food

I found this supermarket by accident and I ever so glad I did. I went to the one near Bryant Park, on 6th Ave. The variety of goods is excellent. I wish had found sooner.

KatieTerBush

Points +52

Vegan
07 Apr 2017

lots of options!

Whole Foods is always a win for vegan options and the Chelsea Whole Foods is great!

the.friendly.fig

Points +243

Vegan
13 Aug 2016

Shining Star Supermarket

I frequently shop at Whole foods, a upscale, supermarket chain in Manhattan. From the moment you walk through the door, you are greeted with happiness. The y make you feel like the workers actually want to be there. From Larabars to the So Delicious Ice Cream, you name it, they have it. There is a wide variety of vegan essentials.

pulpovegano

Points +133

Vegan
09 Nov 2015

Best organic supermarket i have ever visited

Amazing organic supermarket chain.
Infinite options, many of them vegan.
Stuff are super friendly.
They have a take away self service with plenty of opcions, a lot of them are vegan.
Some of the Whole Foods have a place so you can actually eat some dishes there but is not the case of this one in particular.
A bit pricey

Pros: Huge choice, Take away self service, friendly staff

Cons: Pricey

OnDine

Points +191

Vegan
02 Jun 2015

Many vegan options

This supermarket is good to get a whole customised bowl of vegan salads, tofu, hummus, quinoa, etc. Three different salad bars you can walk around drop whatever you like into your bowl. $8.99 per lb (weigh at the cashier). All signs show ingredients to have full control what lands on your plate. Good place to go to for take-away food with friends that don't want vegan food.

Pros: vegan options & signs, fresh salads & fruit

Cons: lots of meat displayed in the shop , vegan salads next to meat salads, usually crowded

SonjaCPA

Points +5270

Vegan
21 Jul 2013

terrible store layout

Having been to many Whole Foods stores, it's common to find the produce section next to the fish, but this store takes that bad layout to the next level. Not only do you have to smell the poor dead fish, in order to get to the rest of the store, you have to pass the rest of the butcher area with the bakery items right across from it so that you smell the stench while picking out muffins. The rest of the store has all the vegan items intermixed with the non-vegan items, so it's impossible to avoid seeing them, especially in the hot bar area. Additionally, this location has no public restroom. I was able to use the employee one in the back though.

Pros: sells the usual vegan items

Cons: butcher area next to produce and bakery, no restrooms

SynthVegan

Points +4297

Vegan
11 Sep 2011

Whole Foods Market - Chelsea

I had to stop in here because the restaurant I had eaten at moments earlier (Terri) did not have a restroom - so WF came to the rescue. I did check out all of their offerings and noticed that they carry vegan tapioca pudding, something I hadn't seen anywhere. But when it came to the line I decided to put the pudding back...the line was the largest I had ever seen at a WF in my life. That being said, make sure you go to this location during an off time so that you can make it through the line in a timely matter.

Bill K

Points +65

Vegan
18 Dec 2005

Corporatization of Organic

I originally wrote the following about the Union Square Whole Foods Market, but my review is germane to all of these stores: If you think that organic means nothing more than growing food without chemicals or bad pesticides, then Whole Foods is fine. But if you believe that "organic" implies a way of being and living, a way of re-structuring and humanizing society, of creating a radical ecological sensibility, then shun this place at all costs. Whole Foods is a megacorporation; why patronize this place when there are so many locally-owned natural foods stores all over the city? Why buy "organic" produce grown on big agribusiness California farms, and then shipped across an entire continent (admittedly a problem for all health food stores in NY) when there are numerous farmers' markets (the Greenmarket program) throughout Manhattan where you can buy locally-produced food from a farmer you know? Why patronize a store that proudly displays the carcasses of dead animals, offered for sale for human consumption? When it comes to corporate "organic", the old adage "Think Globally, Act Locally" is quite appropriate.

Cons: corporatized "organic", sells dead animals, non-human scale business

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to New York City Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Whole Foods Market - Chelsea closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2804 times.