Lacto
Western
Beer/Wine
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub and restaurant offering vegan burgers, mac and cheese, pulled jackfruit bites, desserts and more. Also offers a vegan Sunday lunch. NOTE: Food not served till 5pm during weekdays. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-22:00.


Venue map for White Horse
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by megmate

Shandyclover

Points +30

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Wonderful, knowledgeable staff, really interesting vegan options, cozy, chilled vibe

Really impressed by fantastic friendly service. We were out for a birthday and although we hadn’t said anything staff noticed and gave birthday boy a choice of extra drink. Really interesting vegan choices, something other than standard falafel wrap etc. I had butternut gnocchi, I don’t usually like butternut but this was delicious, better standard than a pricey meal in London last week!

Pros: Chilled vibe, Knowledgeable friendly staff , Food was obviously freshly cooked

Cons: Could do with a vegetable or salad dish , Salt cellar was empty

Advertisement

ambartheanimal

Points +16

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Lovely Atmosphere, Friendly Staff

This place has a pretty decent vegan menu, staff are very aware of vegan food and all the alcohol/wine is labelled so vegans know what is sfv. The atmosphere is lovely and the staff were really attentive and friendly

Pros: Great decor, Everything well labelled , Friendly staff

Cons: Portions could be bigger

NoelleAn

Points +32

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Lovely pub with great vegan options!

Good amount and variety of vegan options. Good sized portions and delicious dishes! Reasonable prices, inside is nice decore and they have a lovely beer garden have great service!

Pros: Good variety of vegan options , Delicious desserts

StoneVegan

Points +419

Vegan
31 May 2022

New refurb, awesome menu

They've just finished an indoor and outdoor refurbishment here. It has a really nice and relaxed vibe to it.
Reduced menu was on offer but there was still loads of options. I had tofu style fish and triple cooked chips (vegan) and my Mum had halloumi salad (vegetarian) and it was great.

Pros: Lovely food, Reasonably priced, Nice location

Nihaaaaalh

Points +238

Vegan
18 Jan 2022

Good pub with tasty grub

A lot more choice than I'd expect from a pub

Pros: Plenty of options

andque

Points +62

Vegetarian
03 Dec 2021

Friendly pub

Good vegetarian and vegan choices. A Joule's pub with excellent cask ales.

Pros: Creative veggie choices, Good atmosphere, Friendly staff

TinieMelter

Points +194

Vegan
06 Oct 2021

Great variety!

First time trying here and was pleasantly surprised by the variety of vegan options on the menu. We had the pretzel with beer mustard and the not fish fillet which were amazing. There was also a chefs specials board which had a couple options including a vegan cheesecake which I feel I must go back for! Would give it 5 stars if possible.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lovely staff , Great atmosphere

DavidStone

Points +32

Vegan
06 Sep 2021

Just loved the whole experience!

Amazing food and amazing service, lots of choice for vegans and they were really helpful with my wife who needs to avoid garlic. We’ll be back to try more of the menu!

Pros: Great service, Plenty of choice, I hear the chef is vegan too!

SianyHinton

Points +50

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

Great vegan options

I’ve been here a few times and each meal has been fantastic. This pub is really great at catering for vegans and their options are always exciting, no sign of a boring chickpea curry! Options change regularly but examples include: plant based burger, no chicken burger, no pork schnitzel, vegan fish and chips. They also always have at least one vegan dessert. I’ve had a pimms Eaton mess there and it was lovely. Their vegan ice cream is incredible!

Pros: Exciting vegan options , Nice atmosphere , Three courses vegan

Cons: Pricey but worth it

cazzy33

Points +20

Vegan
11 Aug 2021

Amazing food!

Thanks to the Happy Cow app we found this place. We were staying just up the road so very convenient for us. I was with a meat eater so we needed somewhere to accommodate us both and this ticked the boxes. They had about 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 dessert vegan options. I had the corn ribs, no fish fillet and chips and mushy peas. All was soooo good. Highly recommend. 👍

Pros: Multiple vegan options incl. started and desserts, Pleasant staff, Reasonably priced

VelillaDeOswestry

Points +3375

Vegan
21 Aug 2020

Fair amount of vegan options

They had 3 vegan options as mains, 2 starters and 2 desserts. Everything was pretty nice. We got the offer eat out help out so it was very good value for money.

Rachiem

Points +161

Vegan
01 Aug 2020

Awesome vegan food

Fantastic vegan food in a lovely pub, with a vegan chef who clearly pushes the boat out on interesting menus.

Pros: Variety of interesting vegan food, Knowledgable staff, Great prices

axsxhxlxexy

Points +61

Vegan
22 Jul 2020

Highly recommended

Great food and nice surroundings. The butternut squash starter with walnut pesto was particularly amazing. It was of the quality of a higher end restaurant. Nice to have a few different vegan options too.

HeatherKay

Points +159

Vegetarian
26 Jan 2020

Should be 5 stars

All 4 starters were vegan (including vegan 'salmon'), delicious vegan ipa. 2 vegan mains and vegan desserts. All reasonably priced

EmaMorris

Points +26

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

The best vegan food in Shrewsbury alongside the dolphin!!

Would give 5 stars but app won't let me. Food is always amazing, manager is amazing, service second to none!

Pros: Loads of vehan options

Cons: Need more bar staff the make the delious cocktails

LisaDams

Points +46

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

So so good !

I’d wanted to try The White Horse after seeing posts in vegan Facebook groups raving about the food.
Now every time we get to go out we go here. Sunday roast is beautiful. The classic burger is absolutely genius. I can’t fault the place. The menu is pretty much 50/50 vegan and omni stuff so I never feel the minority. And the staff are fab, they get it !! 100% recommend!

Pros: Many vegan option, Staff knowledgeable on which drinks are vegan, Great atmosphere

Randkev

Points +26

Vegan
30 Sep 2019

Excellent

For vegans this is 5 stars, loads options I’m going to head back and try more. It’s just nice to go somewhere with non vegan friends and have just as much choice. Staff were great, service was smooth, we ate about 6pm.

Pros: Loads of vegan options

EllieVans

Points +135

Vegan
24 Sep 2019

Great food, but VERY SLOW service

I loooove this pub so much. Great atmosphere and really tasty food. The green monkey beer is also vegan 😍. However, the service is terribly slow... So only a 3 star from me at the moment.

Pros: Amazing food

Cons: Very slow service

Ljmeep

Points +494

Vegan
13 Sep 2019

Good food slow service

Food was fine, two big plates. Service on the slow side!

megmate

Points +95

Vegan
02 Jun 2019

Love it there

Something for everyone loads of choices and delicious food especially the fake mac!




This page has been viewed 4061 times.