Lacto
Ovo
American
Juice bar
Take-out
Gluten-free
Honey
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Kitchen and juice bar serving juices, smoothies, wheatgrass, and nut milks. Has savory foods menu. Ask to make your order vegan, such as the breakfast bowl with scramble tofu and no cheese or the power bowl of rice & quinoa without cheese. Moved into this space in 2018. Open Mon-Sat 9:00am-4:00pm, Fri-Sat 5:00pm-7:00pm, Sun 10:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for White Birch
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by david12

Shaem420

Points +136

Vegan
16 May 2022

Great Service & Yummy Food!

Cute little cafe with a dog friendly patio! My partner and I stopped here for lunch on our road trip. All of the staff were super friendly and sweet! We both got sweet tea and black bean burger with home fries. The burger sauce is mayo based, so if you’re vegan, ask for no cheese and no burger sauce. The burger was the only labeled vegan options. There were lots of vegetarian options that could probably be made vegan though.

Pros: Friendly staff, Pet friendly patio

Advertisement

beeandbee

Points +707

Vegan
05 Dec 2021

Ate here every meal!

I was staying in Abingdon for camping and fell in love with this restaurant. Came back here multiple times to eat each meal. Our server Sydney was so welcoming and made sure everything was 100% vegan for us. Would give this place a 5 stars if I could!!

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Extra friendly staff

VeronicaVisconti

Points +16

Vegan
18 Oct 2021

So good

I got the bowl with home fries as the base, tofu, no cheese, add avocado

Pros: Good prices, Filling, Flavorful

Cons: Not many vegan options

KtEatsGreens

Points +29

Vegan
08 Aug 2021

Veganizable Options

Veganized the breakfast bowl - homefries topped with tofu, greens, onions and chimicharri sauce. It was amazing! Items are easily made vegan, but you really need to make sure to double check because a lot of items may have dairy snuck in.

I was on a road trip when I stopped and there wasn’t many local options. Happy we stopped because now I’m dreaming of those homefries. They were perfectly cooked.

Pros: Some veganizable options, Customizable & Accommodating, Cute atmosphere

Cons: Serves meat and dairy

GennieBates

Points +91

Vegan
07 Apr 2021

Very nice

Not all vegan but they have good vegan options. Delicious food, little wait time, friendly staff. Looking forward to coming back.

Pros: Nice flavors

ChefZ

Points +28

Vegan
30 Dec 2020

Great vegan and vegetarian options in Abingdon

We found White Birch on a brief stop in Abingdon and were very pleased with our lunch. Staff is super friendly and helpful, prices are reasonable, and appropriate social distancing and masks in place. We ordered the Power Bowl and Breakfast Bowl, requested both to be vegan (just leaving off cheese and subbing tofu for eggs). Both were delicious. The Golden Milk was amazing, be sure to check this out. Overall, a great experience. My only negative is staff were not washing hands between handling cash and serving food. Between regular germs on cash and the virus going around and contact with the public, would have liked to see staff washing hands much more frequently or wearing gloves!

Pros: Nice ambiance, Friendly staff, Good veg options

mcdc

Points +64

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

A gem in the forest

Literally, so grateful for this place. It’s a good haven amidst the sea of “golden brown” restaurants along this corridor of Virginia. Only one option on their dinner menu, but the black bean burger hit the spot. Their juices are cold-presses and pre-bottled for an easy to-go option. We always stop when we are in the area and will return!

Pros: Vegan option with no cheese, Gluten free bread option , Super friendly service

StephTennis

Points +97

Vegan
02 Jan 2020

Always looking for an excellent handmade veggie burger!

This was such a nice break from Chipotle and Subway veggie subs on our cross country trip. The blueberry smoothie was awesome, and the veggie burgers came on what looked like a homemade bun! Only downside is they only have about 2 options. Better than chain junk food for sure.

Pros: Awesome house made black bean burger!, Great smoothies, Cute decor

Cons: Very few options

Izzyeddleman

Points +251

Vegan
28 Oct 2019

Pet-friendly patio

Staff was eager to suit our vegan requests. The power bowl was delicious. The smoothies were made with hand squeezed almond milk. So yummy.

Pros: Vegan options , Fabulous smoothies and juices, Pet-friendly patio

Cons: Power bowl was a little small

Miss.Saye

Points +479

Mostly Veg
26 Jul 2019

The new location is great

The people who work there are kind and knowledgeable

Pros: Dishes are delicious and healthy, Juice bar is Grace, They also serve alcohol and have a full bar

ec0009

Points +72

Vegan
05 Apr 2019

Excellent!

Great food and choices. Real food, healthy, locally sourced. Friendly staff! We loved everything about this place.

Pros: Reasonable priced.

Astridusa

Points +28

Vegan
02 Mar 2019

Excellent vegan options

Several vegan options, or can be customized to be vegan. Smoothies are made with almond milk. I had the power bowl: lots of veggies and very tasty.

Also meat options, which my husband liked.

Pros: Several choices of vegan food, Vegan Smoothies and juices, Friendly staff

veganhubby

Points +1048

Vegan
20 Feb 2019

Not a Vegan Restaurant

A few sandwiches and juices available. Items can be made Vegan but they serve meat and dairy here. Be careful

Pros: Nice place , Juice options

Cons: Not vegan, Limited choices

soibeens

Points +30

Vegan
19 Feb 2019

Best vegan option along 81 corridor in VA

I travel regularly between DC and Asheville, NC and am always trying to find the best vegan place to stop, since it’s a 7.5 journey. There’s not a lot of options along 81, but I found White Birch in Abingdon and it was easy enough to access from the highway (thank you Happy Cow for the suggestion). The cafe is not 100% vegan, but they’ve got dishes that can be made vegan as well as a few smoothie options. I had the Birch Bowl, which was a rice and quinoa bowl with a veggie medley on top. The portion size was a bit small for my big appetite, so I supplemented with a Greeña Colada vegan smoothie.

Pros: Healthy , Fresh , Vegan options

Cons: Expensive

david12

Points +68

Vegan
08 Nov 2018

Bright, conscience, and delicious

This is our second visit for lunch. The vegan burger is great. Many vegan options or dishes that can be modified.
My wife had the super bowl with broccoli, avocado, beets and a great dressing

Pros: Wonderful varied menu, Casual, small town atmosphere , Attentive staff




This page has been viewed 3695 times.