Lacto
Ovo
Bakery
French
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Little tearoom and pastisserie with sofa chairs for seating, opened Mar 2014. Offers coffee drinks, organic tea and beverages along with a couple veg/vegan food items like baked goods, light wraps and salads. Open Tue-Sat 10:00-19:00.


Venue map for What The Cake
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by StacyLeibowitz

GercekOzguc

Points +257

Vegan
24 May 2023

Strawberry cake

Strawberry cakes’s taste needs improvement.

Pros: Friendly staff, Lovely place

Cons: Not very tasty

Advertisement

solanya

Points +126

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

Fun and cozy café

Delicious cake and good coffee and tea. The armchairs were old but super comfy.
Staff was friendly, fast, and speaking English.

Pros: Chocolate cake 😍

Cons: Not a big vegan selection.

myvs

Points +54

Vegan
25 Jun 2022

Little choice, but cake was good

There were only 2 vegan cakes on the menu, and one of them was sold out. Would have been nice to have some more choice. However, the taste was good and the café is nice and cozy. I did find it a bit too pricey for what you got

GercekOzguc

24 May 2023

I tried the same cake and didn’t like it much. 😄😇

mephistofelix

Points +44

Vegan
11 Jun 2022

delicious strawberry and pistachio cheesecake

really nice place, chill people, cute dishes too.
the pricing isn't excessive

Pros: delicious vegan cheesecake, free substitution for soy milk

Cons: not a lot of option, oat and almond milk cost extra

shannen.veryperfect

Points +2028

Raw
17 Feb 2022

Dirty Chai Erweckung

Ich durfte während meiner vergangenen Ausflüge in diverse Cafes und Restaurants schon viele verschiedene Varianten von Chai-Lattes und Espressos probieren - jedoch kam mir nie in dem Sinn, dass die Kombination dieser beiden Getränke eine wahrlich gute Idee wäre.

Das What the Cake hat diesem Versäumnis nun endlich abhelfen können und ich wurde geläutert.

Zusätzlich wurden wir mit einem Erdnuss-/Schoko Riegel bzw Kuchen und einem Zitronenkäsekuchen versorgt. Der Riegel schmeckte wie ein Snickers nur mit einem viel hübscheren Äußeren 🥰 Der Zitronenkäsekuchen war ebenso sehr lecker und mir gefielen besonders die kleinen Zitronenstückchen auf der Füllung.

Das Ambiente war ebenso sehr gemütlich und erinnerte an eine Wohnzimmerromantik. Lediglich der Service hätte freundlicher und aufmerksamer sein können 😅 Wir werden aber trotzdem wieder vorbeikommen für den Dirty Chai und um weitere Kuchen zu probieren.

AlicjaWy

Points +454

Vegan
22 Jan 2022

Great cakes and matcha!

Friendly staff and great cakes. I had chocolate cake with peanuts- delicious. Very good matcha also. I saw they also had lemon cheesecake that looked interesting 😍

Knorbel

Points +1167

Vegan
30 Oct 2021

Geschmacklich gut

Wir wollten uns eigentlich reinsetzen, da es geregnet hat, es wurden auch gerade Plätze frei. Die Mitarbeitenden, die soweit freundlich waren, meinten aber, dass sie niemanden mehr hinsetzen lassen, da sie in knapp einer Stunde schließen, dies betraf auch andere nach uns.

Die veganen Kuchen sind gelabelt und es gibt die Möglichkeit einige Getränke vegan zu bekommen, wobei für die Pflanzendrinks ein Aufpreis genommen wird.

Wir haben dann Kuchen und Kakao mitgenommen. Beides war sehr lecker, aber der Kakao war, gerade zum mitnehmen, recht teuer.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-30

Pros: Die Mitarbeitende wissen was vegan bedeutet, Vegane Kuchen sind gelabelt

Cons: Aufpreis für Getränke mit Pflanzendrink

Katy-Anna

Points +225

Vegan
25 Jun 2021

Mignon et délicieux

Pâtisseries véganes très bonnes (notamment les cheesecakes !!) dans un joli salon de thé vintage, à proximité du centre-ville. Je m’y arrête à chaque fois que je vais à Strasbourg !

Easy

Points +591

Vegan
04 Jul 2020

Champions League

Obwohl es etwas kostspielig ist waren die veganen Kuchen sooo lecker wie ich es weltweit selten erleben durfte. Ein Geschmackserlebnis, Danke! Außerdem sehr freundliches Personal!

amitsch

Points +137

Vegan
24 Dec 2019

Great vegan cake!

Super nice staff and tasty desserts

splushok

Points +134

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

Very cosy

Very cosy, tiny and friendly, tasty desserts and cacao)
I'd gave it 5 stars if it was possible within the app!

Wilkou

Points +868

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Delicious cakes

The vegan Cheesecake is very nice and so pretty! Soy milk for your Coffee doesn't cost extra.

Pros: Several vegan options

MaroussiaWirz

Points +28

Vegan
05 Sep 2019

Super endroit

Le lieu est super joli, plusieurs option vegan et sans gluten. J'adore ! Je recommande vivement :)

Pros: Lieu très charmant

Cons: Fermé le weekend

Jean-PierreCatalano

Points +19

Vegetarian
16 Aug 2019

Bon et bien situé

La carte est restreinte mais tout est bon 😋 Vaut mieux ça que l'inverse. Même quand on est allergique au tofu comme moi on y trouve sans problème ce qu'on veut. Ils sont super sympa. Et les desserts sont aussi bons que beaux. Une excellente adresse sur Strasbourg !

Pros: Bon, Les desserts !

Cons: C'est petit donc vite plein

SFinnvik

Points +50

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Great cafe!

Super nice vegan cakes, wrap was also super nice and staff was very friendly.

Pros: Great location (close to Petite France), Friendly staff

miidot

Points +181

Vegan
30 Jun 2019

Good cheesecake

The lemon cheesecake had a very fluffy texture to it
Iced choco almond latte however didnt really have a good enough chocolate flavor to it

nokomis

Points +48

Vegan
16 May 2019

Super petit café

Très bon wrap et cheese cake vegan😄
J'ai jamais été déçu.e

Escribanomsara

Points +61

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Opciones veganas

Cafetería en la que suelen ofrecer solo un par de opciones veganas. Eso sí, muy ricas. El precio un poco excesivo.

SapiensSapiens

Points +366

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

😊/€€

Chocolat chaud amende 👍🏽 trop sucré
Chocolat chaud soja👍🏽
Cheesecake citron 😍
Cheesecake coco 👍🏽
Cup cake choco peanut butter 👍🏽
SERVICE 😊
AMBIANCE😍

ChristinaKunkel

Points +143

Vegan
27 Dec 2018

Nice place

I had a piece of cake to take away because the restaurant was full. It looked cozy though. The cake was very good but small for the price. I'm always happy when a non-vegan restaurant integrates vegan dessert options.

maevekelly

Points +60

Vegan
28 Aug 2018

Cute place, yummy deserts

J’ai choisi le cupcake citron/cajous qui était très bon. Il y a deux options vegan. La décoration à l’intérieur est trop mignonne, avec un atmosphère confortable. Le chai latte aurai dû être mieux.
I chose the lemon/cashew flavored cupcake which was really good. There are two vegan options and all the drinks can be made with soya milk. The atmosphere was cosy and adorable. I don’t recommend the chai latte, too bland.

ClaireDelaRenta

Points +49

Vegan
15 Apr 2018

Cosy and warm, perfect hygge vibes

I love that coffee shop, very trendy and comfy. Always very well served, rather expensive tough.

CéliaA

Points +44

Vegan
28 Mar 2018

Pâtisserie vegan délicieuse

Il y avait 2 options pour des pâtisseries vegan et le reste était sans gluten. J'ai choisi le cheesecake citron vert qui était délicieux. En revanche je ne recommande pas le chai latte au lait de soja car je l'ai trouvé un peu fade, il manquait d'épices à mon goût. Cela un reste un endroit vraiment sympathique, avec un décor cosy et des fauteuils confortables. À tester donc !

Pros: Quelques options de pâtisseries vegan

Cons: Chai latte trop peu épicé

KathrynLamb

Points +311

Vegan
27 Feb 2018

nice for coffee and cake!

Nice comfy and pretty café with plenty of space to sit. Just a few vegan options but clearly labelled, including a cupcake and cheesecake, and soya milk for coffee. Nice coffee and cake stop in the centre of town!

kohdox

Points +116

Vegan
20 Sep 2017

coffee and cake

Great little cafe with vegan options clearly marked. Had a vegan chocolate cheesecake with a hot chocolate and cappuccino on soy milk (super hard to find in France). Staff were lovely. All their syrups are vegan as well.

Pros: vegan cheesecake, soy milk, lovely staff

jenny_noisy

Points +695

Vegan
31 Aug 2017

Cosy and lovely place

I love this place so much, especialy for their vegan cheesecake and the big salad and wrap for lunch (with an amazing eggplant caviar). They change the menu regularly (for cheesecakes, cupcakes and wraps), a good reason to have a break at What the cake every month. :)

I also love the decoration, so cute and cosy. Also, every month you can discover a new photography/illustration exposition (local artists).

Pros: Amazing cheesecake, Friendly and welcoming, They replace cow milk by soy milk if you ask

Happymouse

Points +452

Vegan
03 Jan 2015

Ok

We bought a cupcake and a piece of cheesecake. Both cost around 4€ which is rather expensive.

The cupcake was tasty but the chocolate-speculoos cheesecake wasn't anything special at all for this price. It didn't really taste like chocolate, wasn't very sweet but contained a lot of fat.

The desserts were lovingly decorated.

Pros: big range

Cons: rather high prices




This page has been viewed 9621 times.