Chinese
Beer/Wine
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pan-Asian restaurant and bar that's celiac-friendly. Ask for the vegan menu, which offers small sharing plates including six-spice tofu, vegetable gyoza, several salads, noodles, beancurd, and lots of vegetables. Open Tue-Thu 17:00-22:00, Fri 12:00-23:00, Sat 12:00-00:00. Closed Sun-Mon.


Venue map for Wee Buddha
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by RedAmaranth

VeganBones

Points +79

Vegan
28 Oct 2023

Wee Buddha, big flavours!

Love the Wee Buddha. It’s a cosy and friendly place with a great vegan menu. Highly recommend the Woojo chips, Jhei cauliflower, courgette stir fry. Although I’ve never been disappointed with anything off the menu.

Advertisement

EugeneLovesTofu

Points +1067

Vegan
20 Apr 2023

Good find

Nice Thai/pan Asian, freshly cooked and loads of options. Had a nice time. Dog friendly.

PaulMackie

Points +20

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Great fresh food, friendly staff

Separate vegan food, all freshly prepared

banananna

Points +391

Vegan
03 Jan 2023

An absolute gem

Plenty of vegan/veggie options and all absolutely delicious! Great selection of drinks and friendly staff. Well worth a try.

bethaney99

Points +119

Vegan
24 Aug 2022

Amazing food

Would have been a 5* however not fully vegan.
Tucked off the main road, friendly atmosphere, staff super helpful. Food arrived super quick once ordered and was packed full of flavour.

wincoop

Points +474

Vegan
17 May 2022

Vegan menu with lots of choice.

Great vegan food with lots of choice. Liked the vegan gyoza very much.
We were with 2 people and had the spring rolls, vegan gyoza, chippy sauce bean curd (tofu), ka pow and Jin dui seasame balls (desert). And the Japanese green tea with roasted rice. I liked everything except maybe for the spring rolls. What I liked best was the gyoza and the Jin dui.
Total cost was about £55,-

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Fast and friendly service, Great taste

linsey93

Points +629

Vegan
02 May 2022

Hidden gem

I have been to this restaurant a few times now, originally stumbling across it after going to nova pizza. It is a lovely place with a cozy atmosphere - fairy lights and neutral colours.

There is plenty of variety to choose from at this restaurant with a separate vegan menu in place.

I originally tried the wooju chips which were really spicy and the Japanese veg noodles. The portions were big and very tasty. I have since returned to try more on the menu as pictured. Lovely vibe and will be back.

The Japanese green toasted rice tea was fab! Would recommend trying!

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-02

Pros: Cute and cozy, Tasty food , Separate vegan menu

Cons: Pricy but the portions are huge so it’s worth it

FlissField

Points +387

Vegan
11 Apr 2022

Inventive Pan-Asian Tapas

We've visited Wee Buddha many times and always found it delicious.

They serve meat but there's a separate vegan menu and a gluten-free menu too, which makes it one of my favourites to take groups of people to.

Chippy sauce tofu is not to be missed and the black kale is amazing! We used to share but now get one each.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Caters to multiple diets

Cons: Mid-price, Usually need to book

EmmaFaeEdinburgh

Points +1360

Vegan
16 Feb 2020

Try the crispy tofu!

I really love the food at Wee Buddha - I've never had a disappointing meal here. The vegan stuff is kept on a separate menu, but there is plenty of variety to choose from. My favourite dish is the moreish crispy tofu - I would order it on the side of the sir-fried noodles and veg.

VeggieEssie

Points +175

Vegetarian
15 Feb 2020

Great flavours and good value

Dedicated vegan section of the menu, with great options. Lovely, cosy vibes too.

We shared 3 starters, 2 mains and had 2 small glasses of wine for £50 including a tip (optional).

Staff were very friendly and accommodated us despite not having a booking. The website was a bit confusing and we thought you could book unless you had a group of 6 of more. This must have been my mistake. If you do want to visit here I would strongly recommend booking! It was busy even on a Thursday eve.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-15

Pros: Vegan menu, Good value , Friendly staff

Hoptza

Points +90

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

🌱

Food was good but the staff very confused and unhelpful.

whumpty

Points +524

Vegan
26 Sep 2019

Great food

Has a separate vegan menu. Lots of options. The crispy tofu is to die for and the curry and noodles were excellent. Lots of veg used in the dishes.. nice not have just an onion and mushroom curry. Service was super fast and seemed reasonable cost wise - although a few of the smaller plates are quite expensive. Can recommend the spring rolls. You get lots for the price too.

Pros: Excellent food, Good range of vegan dishes, Fast service

Cons: Not many vegan desserts

katy.graham95

Points +162

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

lots of choice

lots of choice and all very delicious! lovely decor and vibe.

caw

Points +2539

Vegan
24 Oct 2018

Good

Edit. Went back last week for the first time in months and the lettuce tofu wraps are no longer an option, you have to pay £6 to add the tofu, disappointed :(


Brilliant veggie and vegan options, the tofu lettuce wraps, veggie haggis wontons and veggie gyoza ❤️

Cons: Bit pricey

LelaCoco

Points +28

Vegan
06 Feb 2018

delicious

Little restaurant with a small menu but a lot of things can easily made vegan. The food is very fresh and has a good quality and tasted amazing. Additionaly the portion sices are very fair, which is soo important.

RedAmaranth

Points +176

Vegan
27 Sep 2017

Fresh and tasty Asian food

I love this place so much.
Cute and cosy inside, with a great wee bar (big range of beers, gins and a few nice cocktails).
The chef is a star - he's genuinely interested in providing interesting vegan options and regularly pops out to chat to diners. The six-spice beancurd is to die for - we always end up ordering extra. I really like the wakame salad and the gyoza too.

Pros: Really fresh, bright flavours, Great value for money, Friendly staff

Cons: Definitely need to book at evenings and weekends




This page has been viewed 4127 times.