European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ask to make the vegetarian menu items vegan. Sample dishes such as crusted tofu with sweet potato noodles, mushroom and broccoliini risotto, salad.


Venue map for Watergate
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by gursharan001

LaylaCrow23

Points +36

Vegan
21 Sep 2023

Watergate

Pretty good veg menu that most could be made vegan. Huge portions. We both had the linguine. Quite expensive but very yummy. They had a few vegan options for dessert but too stuffed to even share one.

Pros: A veg menu , Portion size

Cons: Cost

Advertisement

AmberFlamank

Points +248

Vegan
12 Mar 2023

Yummy

Sesame tofu was great. Gluten free option was to eliminate the noodle salad and substitute with greens and salad. Really delicious tofu and salad. Very nice restaurant but very busy atmosphere.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-12

Pros: Tasty food, Good portion sizes, Very friendly staff

Cons: $35 for tofu and salad

Tsturz_

Points +139

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Delicious vegan options

This restaurant was fine dinning with a beautiful setting! The staff were friendly and the service was great!! Food was delicious and so nice to see so many vegetarian dishes that could easily be made vegan!!
If not already vegan.

Pros: Had a large vegetarian menu , Happy to modify meals to make vegan , Food was delicious

Cons: Could always have more vegan options

KristenCampbell

Points +633

Vegan
13 Jan 2022

Amazing!

We loved our visit to Watergate. We couldn’t believe how lovely, informed and kind the staff were.
They were also very knowledgeable about which dishes were vegan.
We had the bread & dips, linguine and crispy tofu. The linguine doesn’t have the ‘V’ next to it, but can still be made vegan.
Lots of cocktails to choose from too!
On the pricier size, however 110% worth it for great service and yummy, flavoursome food. Will definitely be coming back here on our next visit to PD. #Veganuary

Pros: Enough Vegan options to choose from , Food is AMAZING, Staff are wonderful

Mattchuuuveitch

Points +147

Vegan
18 Oct 2021

Great Vegan Options

The options were great, Pumpkin linguine was tasty and filling. The sesame tofu was full of flavour.
Will be coming back again very soon.

Pros: More than half vegetarian menu can be made vegan, Great atmosphere

OliviaWallis

Points +40

Vegan
02 Jul 2021

Vegans catered for

Beautiful setting and amazing dishes

TarshaJones

Points +28

Vegan
13 Jan 2021

10/10

Loved dining here- experience was great! Vegan meals also much cheaper then other main meals.

Pros: Great food, Menu is clearly labeled , Yum cocktails

PLveg

Points +13

Vegetarian
23 Feb 2020

Must Eat Here.

Love that they had a dedicated Vegetarian Menu. We ate here 2 days in a row because it was that good. I like food full of flavour & hate eating out because most veg options provided really don’t inspire me to eat out, but watergate was exceptional. First night I had Linguine with pumpkin chilli which was fantastic. 2nd night I had Gnocchi, it was the best Gnochi I’ve ever had. It was full of flavour & the texture was simply perfect. I like that the sauce was nice and peppery. The balance of flavours on these two dishes were perfect.

The Macaroni & Cheese Croquettes were nicely prepared, but a bit bland for my taste. The sesame encrusted tofu as also a bit bland for me. I think they could be enhanced if they put more flavour spice in them.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-23

Pros: Dedicated Vegetarian Menu , Spicy dishes were full of well balanced flavour , Friendly staff

Cons: No Airconditioning

giovern

Points +354

Vegan
29 Sep 2019

So so good!

We almost ate here twice on our trip. They have a separate vegetarian menu and the wait staff is super knowledgeable about what they can make vegan. The vegan dishes were out of this world, bursting with flavor and so many dimensions. We got the sesame crusted tofu and the coconut risotto cake- both were just incredible. Their outdoor seating is peaceful, romantic, and just perfect. Make sure this restaurant is high on your list!!!!

Leah93

Points +20

Vegan
05 Sep 2019

Food was the only great thing

The vegan options we had were delicious but nothing else about our visit was good. Our waiter was quite rude and we felt like we were being ignored most of the night. He would engage in conversation with the tables around us but was very reluctant to serve us. We just felt really uncomfortable being there.

SimonSez

Points +140

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

Vegans Well Catered For

We had a fantastic meal here in gorgeous tropical settings. Our waitress made us comfortable by checking all ingredients and offering vegan alternatives. The meals were simply delicious, a shared entree with a main meal each left us comfortably full. We will definitely eat here again as there are no 100% vegan or vego places here yet.

Pros: Friendly Staff, Vegans Catered for, Reasonably priced although some consider expensiv

MatthiasG

Points +32

Vegan
29 Jul 2018

Outstanding Vegan Options

Very nice place, even if a bit dark for dining. Very nice and attentive staff. Good selection of vegetarian dishes, most of them could be served vegan, too. Here I had one of the best tofus ever (seasoned with sesam, teriyaki, came with soba noodles and pak choi and a tasteful sauce).

GrahameLloyd

Points +18

Vegan
09 Apr 2018

Great staff and service

The staff here happily modified their vegetarian offering to meet my request for a vegan dish and the results was excellent.
I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for somewhere nice to take their other half for dinner.

mt19

Points +339

Vegan
05 Sep 2017

Top notch dining

Has a separate vegetarian menu, they are happy to veganise dishes. Risotto was fantastic, as was the crusted tofu. Some vegan wines available. Upmarket, particularly for Port Douglas, worth the money for the dishes, the service and the ambiance. Pricey but very much worth it.

Pros: Vegetarian menu, will veganise, Service

Cons: Pricey, but worth it

gursharan001

Points +28

Vegan
22 Aug 2017

Good food, service and ambience

Great overall experience. We enjoyed our time and would come again.

Pros: vegan options, staff helpful and clarified all questions with che, great ambience

Cons: a bit expensive




This page has been viewed 2526 times.