• Warung Agus Balinese Cuisine

  • (8)
    20
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Catering
Indonesian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Balinese restaurant with a dedicated vegan menu, a vegan banquet menu, and a vegan & gluten-free menu. Dishes include fried corn & mushroom fritters, tempeh goreng, gado gado, mie goreng, sweet potato chips, and combination platters. Desserts include black rice pudding, banana fritters, and vegan ice cream. Vegan dishes are prepared separately. Open Wed-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 12:00pm-4:00pm.


Venue map for Warung Agus Balinese Cuisine
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by mchaza

chatreuse

Points +2240

Vegan
19 Oct 2023

Very good but oily and expensive

- Mie goreng: very nice, made with a nice wheat noodle, topped with delish fried shallots
- Roast potatoes: very good, topped with delish fried shallots, very oily though
- Corn fritters: very good especially tamarind sauce, but extremely expensive at $25.00?!

Enjoyed the food, but the mie goreng and the roast potatoes were drenched in oil.

Pros: delicious fried shallots

Cons: expensive

Advertisement

beancurdled

Points +1475

Vegan
02 Nov 2021

multi-sensory sensation

I very clearly remember the first time I ate here for a friend’s 20th birthday, which is getting close to 20 years ago now! It was an absolute sensory revelation. The beautiful pot plants that covered the front window, the smells, and of course the flavours were like nothing I had ever experienced! Love the combo of warming spices, aromatics, nutty tempe, and sweet creamy coconut in Balinese food and Warung Agus does it best in Melbourne. I hadn’t been to the restaurant for a while but when they started delivering their giant lockdown boxes, I had to try all 3 vegan options. Amazingly, I had never tried their famous avocado dish in creamy coconut gravy because it sounded too rich to me but now I’m hooked - it’s perfect. If you can’t decide what to order (I can never choose from so many delicious options) get the nasi campur for an intro to Balinese food on a plate. Looking forward to dining in again when we can.

JadeFlorenceMulvaney

Points +104

Vegan
13 Mar 2021

Best Balinese in Australia!

5 stars!! (HappyCow won’t allow for some reason)

Warung Agus are the best thing in North Melbourne by far. Suci and Mary are wonderful hosts and bartenders and they do everything they can to make sure you and your friends or family are having the meal of a lifetime. Santhi is an exceptional cook who always delivers her absolute best from the kitchen. During quarantine they have been a life saver with the takeaway options.

My favourites include the tempeh goreng and the eggplant curry (both vegan and scrumptious), such a great place to bring non vegans too because sharing options are so easy and they won’t be left out!

Everything on the menu is moreish and I’d ask their own recommendations if you are not sure what to get. Book in or ring ahead for takeaway as it all goes quickly!

I’d recommend eating in when places open up again because the dining in experience just means more time to be surrounded by the family photos and Balinese serenity. Very very kid friendly and also a great date spot (book into the sun bed if possible)

Updated from previous review on 2020-06-04

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lots of vegetarian options, Great for kids and families

YohanⓋ

29 Nov 2022

Hi Jade! The max 4 star rating is because this restaurant serves meat. 5 star ratings are only allowed for fully veg/vegan places 😊

Hardatthepleather

Points +80

Vegan
21 Jan 2021

The best!

The absolute best. Their vegan nasi campur is my comfort food now. Super lovely family run business. Very vegan friendly. Easy take away options also. Would give ten stars if i could (4 is the highest HC will allow for non-all-vegan places).

Pros: The tempeh, The sambal, The vibe

Cons: None

kmbrophy

Points +1010

Vegan
24 Jan 2020

Delicious vegan food & friendly staff

Staff were great and attentive to vegan needs. They have an entire separate vegan menu with tons to choose from. Delicious authentic Balinese cuisine.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Dedicated vegan menu, Dessert & starter options

p16eldritch

Points +52

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Outstanding Balinese food

Great little restaurant with friendly staff and delicious food

Pros: Lots of vegan food, Good price, decent quantities

HeidiW

Points +495

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Double page vegan menu

If you’ve been to Bali you will love the food here, and if you haven’t come here to try delicious vegan Balinese food. A good place to go if you have some not yet vegans in your group. They have good lunch specials as well

Pros: Vegan and non vegan menu

Cons: Serves meat as well not full vegan

mchaza

Points +115

Vegan
04 May 2019

Amazing little gem

This cute little Balinese restaurant has a extensive vegan menu that will blow you away with flavour and spice.

Pros: Vegan menu, lots of options, Traditional vibes




This page has been viewed 3225 times.