Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Japanese
Fast food
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. International chain offering Japanese inspired cuisine. Created a separate vegan menu in 2017 which includes choices like wok fried greens, stir-fried udon or soba, katsu curry, fried rice, vegkatsu with rice, gyoza/dumplings, bao buns with mushroom and aubergine, and sorbet for dessert. Serves juice and smoothies. Currently open for click & collect. Open Mon-Thu 11:00-22:00, Fri-Sat 11:00-23:00, Sun 11:00-22:00.


Venue map for Wagamama
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by orangensaft

HenryBlane

Points +10492

Vegan
23 Feb 2024

Great selection and very tasty!

I've been to many different branches of Wagamama and always leave very satisfied! They have a great selection of vegan options with lots of variety and a clearly labelled menu including drinks (vegan options have a green box next to them).

For my drink I got the Pandan Passion Fruit Colada. It was very tasty but unfortunately it was pretty small! Next time I'll probably go for the Sakura Pink G T as I got to try that and it was also really tasty but much bigger than my Colada!

For starters I shared a portion of King Oyster Mushroom Skewers and Sticky Vegan Ribs with my wife. The mushroom skewers were tasty but my main observation with them is that they were so much like ham! So if you like ham I think you'll really like these!
I basically always get the Sticky Vegan Ribs when I go to Wagamama as they are just so tasty with such a great texture and these were no different – so good!

For my main I got the Yasai Katsu, which is my favourite main at Wagamama. The sauce was delicious and flavourful, the vegetables were really tasty with a lovely crispy batter and the salad was nice and fresh.

For dessert me and my wife shared a Banana Katsu. Again the batter was lovely and crispy, but my favourite part was actually the miso caramel ice cream which was just delicious!

I also really like the layout of this branch with pillars giving it a cozier feel. The staff were also all really lovely and very attentive.

Pros: Tasty food, Clear vegan labelling (Including drinks), Attentive staff

Advertisement

karenjohnston76

Points +286

Vegan
30 Jun 2022

Rib ramen

I had the vegan rib ramen. It was ok, but not very flavourful. The staff were ok, but kept trying to take away dishes and cups, even before we finished. Good chocolate orange cheesecake. I wish Wagamama would bring back the Yasai Itame, none of their new options are as good as this one was.

Pros: Various vegan options, Good dessert

Cons: Felt hurried to finish

CynthiaRoyer

Points +140

Vegan
03 May 2022

Best chain restaurant for Vegans

My favourites are the Kare Burosu Ramen and Tofu Raisukaree

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Expensive

JadeC

Points +289

Vegan
05 Jan 2022

Always great service!

Been coming to this Wagamama branch for years, and never had a bad experience!
I love that their menu is now 50% plant-based. And now in January 2022, for Veganuary, they've brought out another new dish for us! It seems to be a Japanese take on "fish n chips". Looking forward to trying it soon! #Veganuary

Pros: Lots of vegan options (50%!), Always tasty food, Staff are great

Cons: Occasionally so busy we need to wait a while

TARAMCDONALD

Points +8040

Vegan
10 Dec 2021

Amazing vegan options

Love that it has a special vegan menu and new options. Available for click and collect through covid not for delivery.

Always tasty and a safe bet.

Food is well spiced, packed with flavour and well priced.

I especially love the lemon grass noodle ramen with coconut milk. The fresh juices are great.

Went again tonight, vegan menu has greatly improved with lots more options and everything was delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2021-02-14

Pros: good choice, not expensive, clearly labeled vegan

Sugapiesan

Points +53

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Great for vegans and none vegans alike (even the kids and they are a hard sell!)

Vegan menu is a huge plus point for me so that I don't have to squint looking for the V or Ve symbols on a cluttered menu! The choices are excellent with good choices even for dessert (which you don't get in other chains - just the usual sorbet). This is our new family favourite as even the kids liked it and they are very hard to please! Keep up the good work Wagamama, you are leading the way for other chains to have a vegan only menu on offer!

Pros: Vegan specific menu, Great for the kids, Food is amazing and at a good price

Cons: Food comes out when ready in whatever order, it is ready, so 'starter' can come after a 'main', bit weird if used to a starter and then a main.

orangensaft

Points +460

Vegan
02 Jan 2016

Not a particularly amazing restaurant for vegans?

Not entirely sure why this is on here as I don't regard Wagamama as a particularly vegan friendly restaurant, although I suppose it is better than certain chains and I suppose there isn't really anywhere else to go in Maidstone if you're wanting a vegan evening meal.

They do have a small number of menu items which are vegan, but not listed on the menu. If you want to find out if something is vegan, you can request their special diets menu, which is the most confusing thing I have ever attempted to interpret. It's a shame they can't just add some little green V symbols to their menu like everywhere else does.

The food is fairly good, although I find it very expensive.

Pros: food is ok

Cons: menu is very confusing, expensive




This page has been viewed 1996 times.