• Wagamama - Castle Terrace

  • (16)
    15
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Japanese
Fast food
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. International chain offering Japanese inspired cuisine. Created a separate vegan menu in 2017 which includes choices like wok fried greens, stir-fried udon or soba, katsu curry, fried rice, vegkatsu with rice, gyoza/dumplings, bao buns with mushroom and aubergine, and sorbet for dessert. Serves juice and smoothies. Open Mon-Thu 11:00-22:00, Fri-Sat 11:00-23:00, Sun 11:00-22:00.


Venue map for Wagamama - Castle Terrace
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by imogenmichel

zanderfilms

Points +182

Vegan
22 Feb 2024

Can’t go wrong

Delicious food and large selection. They were understaffed and despite there being only slight delays, they offered us desserts on the house - marvellous. Can’t complain

Advertisement

SunSeeker

Points +552

Vegan
05 Dec 2023

Always a safe bet

Wagamama has been my most visited restaurant through the years because of its accessibility and choices that cater to most tastes and preferences. Really appreciate the consistency of the taste and quality.

rachrobinson

Points +194

Vegan
05 Dec 2023

Bring back the no duck donburi

Love a waggas but really miss the no duck donburi, the sticky ribs can’t go a miss tho! 💪🏼

KenzaB

Points +76

Vegan
07 Apr 2023

Vegan ramen

The vegan chicken ramen was delicious! It had a of flavor. Sadly enough I wasn’t a fan of the vegan chicken, tofu would have been perfect.

LaraLemons

Points +1688

Vegan
11 Mar 2023

Good for vegans

Same as any other Wagamama really but a safe bet for vegans! Had the yaki soba which was yummy.

IirisHuttu

Points +38

Vegan
16 Dec 2022

Absolutely banging

A lot of tasteful vegan options

Pros: Flavourful vegan taste experiences, TRY THE RIBS

TheMolches

Points +108

Vegan
29 Sep 2022

Bland food

The vegan chicken bao buns were great! Crispy and well seasoned.
However, everything else was very very bland and not appealing.
They have a great selection of vegan food, which looked good at first.
The vegan katsu curry sauce didnt really taste like anything except curry powder, also the rice was mushy. The salad dressing was nice.

The vegan chicken ramen was spicy, but not well-seasoned. It missed a lot of umami, saltyness and acidity. Also u get Udon noodles and not ramen noodles. The vegan chicken as well as noodles were too squishy.

The staff was very friendly. Sadly, we got our meals 7 mim apart, which means my curry was cold before my partners ramen arrived. Also not because it wasn‘t done, it was sitting on the counter, as we later realised.

Would‘t come back, sadly.

Pros: Great bao buns, A lot of vegan options

Cons: Food mostly bland, Pricy for the food they offer, Food doesn‘t come at the same time

t1gg

Points +141

Vegan
14 Sep 2022

Average Wagamama

As per every Wagamama, the food is unauthentic but good, and comes out whenever it’s ready meaning you eat in the weirdest order.

However, it’s one of the only UK chains that consistently respects my dairy allergy and has never given me a reaction, so when my partner and I travel to a new city it can be a bit of a comfort food option.

This branch was no different, and my only critique is that the veg gyozas were weirdly bready this time compared to past visits to other chains. The spicey faux chicken ramen was great though.

Pros: Vegan menu , One of the only chains that respects my allergy

Cons: Food comes out in the weirdest order

Cha0s

Points +65

Vegan
21 Apr 2022

New favourite place

50% of their menu is vegan friendly and the food is really good!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , not too expensive

Hoptza

Points +90

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

🤤

Best bao buns ever! Amazing ramen and beautiful vegan eggs. Love this place!

afishstolemyhat

Points +43

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Surprised!

Had the vegatsu which is their take on vegan Katsu chicken which was very yummy! There is a separate vegan menu that is extensive which makes it easy to choose something yummy to eat - good place to go with a group I reckon

craigmc

Points +31884

Vegan
18 Jul 2018

better options nearby

I've stopped in at wagama on the odd occasion and although not a fan of chains it's a decent option.
If you are never sure you can ask for an allergen booklet they keep which allows you to eat with confidence.
There are far better options elsewhere with employers who treat their staff better,buy locally and cook food rather than prepare it.

Pros: location

Vaughn

Points +28

Vegan
23 Oct 2017

Horrible Service

Waiting 10 minutes at the door was somewhat frustrating given that half the tables were empty but we did get a table. Then we waited and did some more waiting. After nearly a half hour with no server stopping at our table we noticed the couple nearby who arrived 20 minutes after us getting there order taken. We weren’t in her service area so we’d have to wait. Being hungry we left to find a friendly restaurant with friendly service.

Pros: They have vegan food

Cons: Service is horrible

Herbiv4

Points +1795

Vegan
30 Dec 2016

fair

I've been to this chain a number of times in the past. Their food is always acceptable. It's nothing to rave about but I do like that there are options for vegans (you may have to ask for a modification - request your ramen without the egg, etc). I had the ramen and the veggie gyoza. I'm not a fan of cilantro, so the gyoza dipping sauce wasn't the best. This location does work with the Deliveroo service if you are local. So, it's a quick fix if you don't want to leave out.

Pros: veg*n options, will modify some dishes if requested, Deliveroo works with this location

Tilde

Points +30

Mostly Veg
09 Jun 2016

Disappointing Changes

Wagamamas used to be our payday dinner out of choice, but they recently changed their menu. The ingredients have changed, and nothing really tastes quite as good anymore. The prices also seem to have gone down, which could have been a good thing if it wasn't so painfully obvious that the quality has suffered.

We went a few more times after realising this, but it didn't improve, and finally I was served some really bad mochi ice cream that tasted entirely of fridge. It was inedible. We haven't gone back since.

They have a few vegan options, and a lot of meat on their menu, but we've had helpful servers who gladly customized our orders.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options, Free green tea is pretty great, Not ridiculously expensive

Cons: Tastes bland, Fridge flavour mochi, Vegan options come in tiny portions for some reaso

imogenmichel

Points +2631

Vegan
21 Oct 2015

Decent vegan options

Wagamama offers eat in or takeaway food and are very helpful and knowledgeable about what options on their menu can be made vegan. I came here for a takeaway yasai itame, which was delicious and filling. There are definitely better options for vegans in Edinburgh, but Wagamama is a decent option in the centre of town.

Pros: Decent vegan options, Central




This page has been viewed 3089 times.