VIDA Bakery

  • Bakery Bakery
  • Vegan
  • ( 54 reviews )

Find

139 Brick Ln, East London, England, E1 6SB

Vegan and gluten-free bakery offering cakes, cupcakes, brownies, hot drinks and soft serve ice cream. Est. 2017 previously at 152 Brick Ln. Open Mon 13:00-19:00, Wed-Sun 11:00-19:00.

Categories: Bakery

54 Reviews

First Review by lauraXsynthesis

VeronicaAntinori

Points +18

Vegan
17 Oct 2021

Insanely good!

Went today for the first time with my partner and we absolutely loved it! We recommend the salted caramel muffin and the rainbow cake 😍

Pros: Everything is vegan , Lots of options, Pet friendly

LaraLemons

Points +581

Vegan
01 Sep 2021

My eyes are too big for my tummy!

I always buy way too many cakes when here. But they are really rather great!

christinamarie731

Points +70

Vegan
02 Aug 2021

Amazing custom cakes!!

I ordered a custom cake for my birthday and it was PERFECT! My non-vegan friends couldn’t believe that it was vegan, let alone gluten free! It was absolutely gorgeous and tasted even better than it looked.

Advertisement

darrenb

Points +165

Vegan
29 May 2021

Simply superb

Super cafe with fab choice of cakes and cupcakes - all vegan and gluten free. So spoilt for choice. My daughter was in heaven. Cakes were delicious. Staff very friendly. And there was a lovely dog who was very chilled with the kids.

LizzieMitchell

Points +6

Non Veg
28 Apr 2021

Best Gluten Free & Vegan Cakes!

As someone who has been gluten and dairy free for years, I've become used to missing out on nice treats. But then I stumbled across Vida, and I was so surprised to find somewhere I could actually eat! They had a selection of tiered cakes, cookies and cupcakes. I chose one of each and they were all delicious! Probably the best gluten free treats I've ever had. They kept in the fridge for about 4 days as well, and were just as nice after that long.

The lady who served me was lovely and friendly. It was a great experience and if I lived closer I would definitely be going on a regular basis!

Pros: Good Location, DELICIOUS CAKES - best I've had! , Lots of choice

Cons: Slightly expensive

biancam09

Points +405

Vegan
20 Apr 2021

Vegan Sweets

Tried the rainbow cake here and it was decent. It wasn’t my favorite, but would love to try some of their other stuff.

supersupergirl

Points +279

Herbivore
09 Mar 2021

Delish cake

Vida Bakery is another success story, they started off four years ago with stalls at markets and festivals selling cakes free from dairy gluten and egg.
They became so popular that they opened a permanent shop on Brick Lane in the summer of 2018.
Vida Bakery is hard to miss on Brick Lane with its rainbow cake displays.
Inside, you will find captivating cup cakes and cakes to choose from.
The best day to visit would probably be the weekend as they have more cakes to choose from while on weekdays there are only three.
I decided to try the red velvet cup cake and leave the cakes for the weekend when there would be more choices.
The red velvet cup cake was shockingly good, the texture was spot on.
I loved the way it was firm yet moist just like your regular cake but this was eggless!!
The cakes are definitely worth trying because they are unsuspectingly eggless and vegan!
Will definitely be coming back.

Le.Mon

Points +6

Non Veg
30 Jan 2021

Not quite there yet as a business

Bought some cookie dough and a cake tub off their website on a Thursday morning during Lockdown 3.0. The website stated:

We bake all orders fresh, so placing an order doesn’t mean it will be processed and baked on the same day.

Place your orders no later than Mondays 4PM for guaranteed shipping on Tuesday/Wednesday.

Shipping days are as follows:

Brownies, cookies, tray bakes: Tuesday and Wednesday ONLY
Cookie THO: Tuesday to Friday
Delivery time: 1-3 business days after shipping

As I was placing the order on a Thursday morning, I was expecting my order to be shipped the following Tuesday or Wednesday, and hopefully arrive in time for my birthday which was the following Thursday. But no, it arrived within 24 hours on Friday.

Normally one might think this is excellent service, but when we're talking about baked goods and a special occasion that you have tried to plan for exceptionally, this was rather frustrating. I was left to eat my birthday cake a week in advance and now have no cake on my actual birthday unless I buy more.

The cake itself was okay, pretty tasteless and awfully sweet. It just tasted like sugar and made me think I hadn't been missing much these past 14 months since being diagnosed as coeliac.

Then there's the cookie dough. I wrote to them along with my complaint about the shipping to say I also don’t really get the cookie dough and think you should include some more messaging around this as to why it needs to be refrigerated when it arrived without any packaging to keep it fresh (e.g. ice packs) and asked whether the the refrigeration thing just to do with the quality of baking rather a perishable reason? The explanation I got back was "The cookie dough is safe to be out of the fridge for a certain amount of time (in this case less than or just 24 hours), and it has to be refrigerated once you get it. Then it lasts for at least 6 months. This has been microbiologically tested." Great info, so please include this on your website as I suggested or at least say "thank you for that suggestion, we will add it to our website".

Overall, the response I got to my complaint was poor. It blamed me for not writing a note on my order to say I didn't want the order until the following Thursday instead of acknowledging that their website said they would only ship baked goods on Tuesday and Wednesday but in this case did so on a Thursday which led to the arrival of my order at the wrong time.

Pros: A vegan and gluten free bakery

Cons: Customer Service, Shipping arrangements, Cake fairly tasteless

PastelOphelia

Points +28

Vegan
14 Nov 2020

My absolute favourite place for cakes

A really cute, and fun place with an amazinglselection of vegan cakes. Whenever I'm in London I now always make sure to pop by to pick up a rainbow cake slice (or two) πŸŒˆπŸ’•

VeganBecks87

Points +1031

Vegan
08 Sep 2020

Vegan Life Vida Bakery stall

Last year I was lucky enough to come across the Vida Bakery stall at Vegan Life in London.

The cupcakes and cookies were absolutely out of this world and I’ve definitely recommend if you’re ever in London giving them a visit! So many flavours and options to choose from! The cupcakes had such creamy icecream and cookies really soft and tasty!

Lucifer94

Points +108

Vegan
08 Sep 2020

Hidden gem

I’ve been living in shoreditch for a couple of years and only just spotted this bakery (not sure if it is a hidden gem or if I’m just oblivious). Great find, lots of nice treats, cookies looked great but I went for a donut cupcake and got chocolate (so creamy).

Pros: All vegan , Hot chocolate was yum, Lots of cakes

GerryStewart

Points +76

Vegan
01 Sep 2020

Yay! Rainbow cake!

My friends and I were on the hunt for vegan doughnuts but sadly the place we went to had run out, we knew Vida was on the same street so all pilled in for cakes! Great range of cupcakes, and cookies and brownies! And glorious rainbow cake!
Amazing service too, was even given free cake 😍
Banana and caramel cupcake was to die for! 🀀

Pros: CAKE!!!!, Gluten free!!!, Great service!

Mel.L

Points +69

Vegan
01 Sep 2020

Absolutely delicious

This is my go to self love date place whenever I'm looking for a lovely piece of cake and cup of tea. Will definitely be back whenever I'm in London xx

marina6891

Points +13

Vegetarian
10 Mar 2020

positive experience

Since finding this place in May of last year, it's been my go-to place for cakes. I've always had a positive experience here and find their cakes to be delicious. Will continue to go here as often as my purse and waistline will permit.

Pros: friendly staff, variety of food, lovely tea

Cons: can be busy during rush hour, not much seating, no toilets on site

PlantbasedMimi

Points +24

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Very poor customer service King's Cross

Waited in vain to be served at their Kings Cross pop up shop. When I let them know that this happened, instead of an apology, they deleted my comment. Very short sighted business strategy clearly relying on one-off customers, rather than trying to build a strong brand. I will not visit again.

anm74

Points +126

Vegan
25 Jan 2020

Kings cross pop up

Very excited to get cupcakes at the Vida Kings Cross temporary site. They were not great. So so dry. Clearly the original site is much better.

MichaelRobinson

Points +1952

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Like The Desserts, Miss The Rain

After a Mooshies burger my rainy night in London concluded with conversation, coffee and cake on Brick Lane. As I'm not a cupcake or icing fan I went with the brownie, my friend had a passion fruit cupcake. The brownie was rich, moist and sweet enough to satisfy my tooth, this is the place to go for your vegan cake fix. Cute interior & friendly staff who didn't chase us out into the rain even though it was past closing.

Pros: Vegan cake, Cute interior, Friendly staff

taffa

Points +293

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Great little shop

A lovely little all vegan shop offering a wide selection of cakes, cookies and coffee. Cute mugs and plates.

Pros: So many options

Cons: No decaf coffee :(

bladymerry

Points +26

Vegan
04 Dec 2019

🌈

The rainbow cake is legendary!

Kristen_stanley

Points +246

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

All I can say is ... YUM! This place is such a gem.

I am so glad I stumbled across this place in Shoreditch. I was first drawn to the adorably decorated storefront. Then, I noticed that all the items sold here are vegan! The bakery has agorgeous aesthetic and cute interior (so instagram-able). I highly recommend the two items I purchased - the chocolate chip cookie and peanut brownie.

mrswaf

Points +55

Non Veg
03 Nov 2019

Great bakery

Locally owned dream bakery and the pride of ownership shows. Creative and thoughtful to what one might miss as a vegan (hello vegan Nutella frosting!)

Pros: All vegan

Cons: No cons

Smoelfine

Points +644

Vegan
06 Oct 2019

Chocolate heaven

Very wonderful little cupcakes. Cozy little place.

Pros: Nice staff, Decent prices, Good selection

AtVegan19

Points +392

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Lovely vegan bakery

All vegan bakery selling cupcakes, cakes by the slice, cookies and ice cream, alongside various drinks. Reasonably priced and SO many options!!! Lovely decoration too and friendly staff.

Pros: Lots of options , All vegan

MoniqueGordon

Points +379

Vegan
05 Sep 2019

Amazing

Such a beautiful little vegan cafe with with a nice selection of cakes, cookies and cupcakes. We only tried the strawberry lime coconut as they’re quite large and about Β£4 a slice, so 2 people shared one.

Pros: Tasty, Fully vegan, Gorgeous layout

sal.zski

Points +464

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

So cute

Simple. Everything looks so good you would want to eat all cupcakes and cakes in there... but what really caught my attention was the rainbow cake and for the price you get a huge slice. Brava

Postboxcat

Points +99

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

Super cute place for coffee and cake

Stopped by here whilst in Brick Lane for coffee and a cupcake. Was very calm on a week day but I bet it gets busy at weekends! The decor is super cosy. Oat milk cappuccino was really nice, they do soya milk too. Everything is 100% vegan and gluten free - I'm so happy this business exists! Wish them every success

Pros: Lovely decor, Great coffee, Tasty cakes

Cons: Expensive, but normal for London

zkiryu

Points +136

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Yummy

We went to the brick lane market and by accident saw this cute cafe and thought it must be destiny. I’m not gluten free myself but I know how baking gluten free can be a pain in the ass. The rainbow cake was very good

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to East London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has VIDA Bakery closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 13751 times.