Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Pizza
Fusion
Vietnamese

Nha hang chai vegetarian restaurant est. 2018 in Ha Noi. Features gardens, koi pond, and upmarket dining that's much fancier than your typical Vietnamese chay places. Serves mostly Vietnamese food with a few others, such as pizza and vegetable sushi. Many dishes are vegan though some items and drinks contain dairy. Can accommodate large groups. Open Mon-Sun 9:30am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Vi Lai
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by Dirk

Simran123

Points +13

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2024

Service is not good

Not worth the price. Service was horrible. Had a decent variety and good ambience.

Pros: Ambience

Cons: Service, Price

Advertisement

meganchick

Points +70

Vegan
01 Feb 2024

Magical vegetarian restaurant in Hanoi

Huuuge menu, all vegetarian and mostly vegan. The restaurant is down a dark alley but the entry and interior is incredible, the staff were really friendly and the food was delicious and came in very big portions.

Pros: Lots of choice, All fresh, Big portions

Nataliee_

Points +63

Vegan
11 Mar 2023

Überbewertet

Das Restaurant scheint zwar eine gute Fotolocation zu sein, der Geschmack der Gerichte war leider nicht so gut. Auch der Service war sehr langsam, obwohl fast keine Gäste vor Ort waren. Wir waren leider sehr enttäuscht und würden nicht mehr kommen. Es gibt viel bessere vegetarische und vegane Lokale in der Stadt.

kyagizem

Points +76

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Nice atmosphere, rich menu

It is far from the city center, kinda hidden. I really liked the atmosphere there. There are a lot options. We had fresh rolls and ordered hot pot. I really enjoyed the experience.

Pros: Delicious! , A lot of options

Cons: A little bit pricey

janger

Points +279

Mostly Veg
02 Jan 2023

Worth a visit

Food was good. I had the forest mushroom pâté. They have a number of dishes that I don’t often see in Vietnam. The drinks list is quite long but they didn’t have many of them available when I visited. They have a wine list but no beer that I saw. Decor is impressive. It’s set back from the main road so it’s not too noisy. Staff were attentive and spoke pretty good English. Menus in English and Vietnamese. They take payment by card. It’s a bit quiet if you’re going by yourself but a good spot for dinner and conversation with friends or a date. Only real complaint was that they left the front door open a lot, which was quite drafty in December.

Pros: Extensive and varied menu, English menus and English speaking staff, Decent wine list

Cons: Expensive, Many drinks not available, Cold inside the restaurant in winter

davidredstone

Points +1406

Vegetarian
14 Dec 2022

Amazing atmosphere

Get a lotus table and cushions, over the water, where the smokey mist is.

Great menu. Lovely staff. We had a great experience.

Pros: Vegan, Great atmosphere & lovely staff

Cons: Expensive

Trambau

Points +2464

Vegetarian
05 Dec 2021

Luxury but taste was not that special

Nice food and luxury decor for guest welcoming

LiamFitzpatrick

Points +67

Vegan
05 Feb 2020

Very poor service

Not a vegan restaurant, but a vegetarian restaurant. I do not recommend going for the following reasons.
Firstly, I ordered mushroom soup, which was pictured as mushrooms in clear broth, and had no mention of dairy on the menu. Came out full of cream. When we politely complained about this, they would not take it back. As not all in our group was vegan, we said ok - but make sure everything else comes out vegan.
Next thing, the 'vegetable bread' comes out covered in melted cheese. We complain again, but have to argue heavily about it because they do not want to take it back and wanted to make us pay for it (we were certainly not going to do so).
Other dishes that came out were ok. 'Japanese tofu with tomato based sauce' had no tomato based sauce and was just a few tiny squares of flavorless tofu. Most of what I ate was the two serves of fried rice, which could have been prepared much much cheaper at home.
Very disappointed with this place, very bad service and bland, small servings of food, despite being quite expensive.
Also, we sat on a platform among a goldfish pond, which sounds nice but there were several old electrical cables from the kitchen hanging in the water. Hugely unsafe. Unbelievably negligent that they would have such a huge and obvious hazard.

Pros: Peaceful atmosphere, Food presented well

Cons: Electrical cables hanging in pool, Really terrible service, Overpriced for nothing special

MelissaJaspers

Points +57

Vegetarian
04 Feb 2020

Love this place

Call before you go here and book a table on the water. That makes the experience in the restaurant much nicer.
I have been here a couple of times and love all the options they have on their menu.
It are all Vietnamese (fusion) dishes.

Pros: Everything is Vegan

Cons: The tables which are not on the water. It is not , so cozy to sit there.

Hattiebluebell🌱

Points +861

Vegan
01 May 2019

Nice setting

Very fancy restaurant with outdoor seating. Wine expensive, so had delicious watermelon water. Food nicely presented. I had green coconut curry & rice. Portions adequate but not enormous. Quite expensive for Vietnam: 500,000vnd for 2 mains, 2 drinks (no alcohol)

Pros: English menu, English spoken, Beautiful setting

Cons: Expensive

VeronicaCut

Points +15

Vegetarian
09 Apr 2019

Vi Lai muy recomendable

La comida esta deliciosa. Y el lugar muy bonito. Se encuentra en una calle un poco escondida. Pero vale la pena. Es un lugar relajante y los precios están muy razonables.

_travel__

Points +526

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

Nice atmosphere

The fancy plating and the well designed environment let you forget about the busy city. Definitely recommended.

WeeKeongNeoh

Points +39

Vegetarian
27 Mar 2019

Unique dining experience

Exquisite environment with nice food. Excellent services

Dirk

Points +76

Vegetarian
23 Feb 2019

Genieten in prachtig restaurant

Heel origineel en mooi vormgegeven restaurant. Via een mooie, idyllische voortuin kom je in het restaurant. Binnen is het ook zeer origineel ingericht. Het restaurant heeft een conventioneel gedeelte met tafels en stoelen maar ook een gedeelte waar een soort meer in het restaurant is gemaakt! In dit meer bevinden zich een soort ronde lage tafels als eilandjes. De eilandjes bereik je via vlonders. Er wordt gebruik gemaakt van droogijs zowel in het meertje als aan tafel. Dit verspreidt een soort mist en creëert een sprookjesachtige sfeer. Het menu is zeer uitgebreid en toch authentiek Vietnamees. Het personeel is zeer vriendelijk. Al met al een plek om heerlijk te eten in een rustgevende omgeving. Ik kom hier graag nog eens terug!




This page has been viewed 4650 times.