Vegan
American
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Fusion

Plant-based chain founded 2006 and under ownership by Next Level from January 2024. Offering a variety of burgers, sandwiches, salads, bowls and more. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Veggie Grill by Next Level - Westgate Shopping Center
© OpenStreetMap contributors

Featured Review

MizzB

Points +3715

Vegan
11 Aug 2017

Vegan delightful & delicious

This was my first visit to this location, 2nd visit overall to a Veggie Grill. Chose this one from HappyCow because of the location being in mall parking lot, as we were visiting San Jose for the day, and did not want to deal with looking for parking during evening rush hour with a toddler in tow. Good food, even better since 100% vegan & no need to ask about what's in the food & how it's prepared. Tasty buffalo cauliflower could use a bit more seasoning. The toddler enjoyed the creamy, well seasoned Mac & cheese, as did I. Standard fries. Crab cake sandwich was quite good! Opted out on dessert as we were quite full.


27 Reviews

First Review by macmantrl

hetalshah24

Points +678

Vegan
06 Feb 2024

Best for fast-food burgers but with quality ingredients

Have been here multiple times and something always changes on the menu which is sometimes frustrating .. sometimes fun. This time had the Santa Fe chick'n sandwich, Kimchi burger, chicken tenders with Ranch and lentil soup. I preferred the Santa Fe sandwich to the Kimchi burger. The latter for some reason disintegrated in a few bites. Lentil soup and tenders were pretty good too. Would definitely go here again.

Went there recently and did not like the new caesar salad. I wish they bring the OG one back.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-15

Pros: Good food, All plant based

Advertisement

JoanSim

Points +38

Vegetarian
14 Jan 2024

Convenient vegan food

Comforting vegan food with healthy and tasty options. My favorites are the Reuben sandwich and the sesame tofu salad. The East Asian bowl and Buffalo wings are also very good.

They also have curbside pickup which is great when I have my toddler in the car with me.

Brycew

Points +352

Vegan
04 Dec 2023

Vegan healthy fast food

Veggie Grill is a large chain doing what should be done in the world. Offering an alternative to fast food that is affordable, fast, and delicious!
In the south Bay Area, this location exists along with another location at Santana Row. Unfortunately the Mountain View location closed.
They also serve Mexican options under the name Más Veggies Taqueria. Más Veggies was originally a delivery-only restaurant from the same management. The decision to offer the Más Veggies items on the same menu for dine-in has been a GREAT improvement as now there is even more variety on the menu.

Pros: Affordable, Fast, Constantly adding new menu items

Cons: Corporate

yourneighborhoodvegan

Points +223

Vegan
13 Sep 2023

Love the new Yo Egg dishes!

Veggie Grill partnered with YoEgg! and has added 3 EXCLUSIVE menu items featuring NEW #plantbased Yo Egg!

Huevos Rancheros
Avocado Toast
Kimchi Burger

The food was delicious and staff was amazing. The manager Kayla was a sweetheart- I can't wait to return!

Find this and more reviews @yourneighborhoodvegan and yourneighborhoodvegan.com

NicoleParks

Points +1329

Vegan
26 Aug 2023

amazing!!

i always love veggie grill and this location was no different. i tried the nashville hot chicken sandwich for the first time and got a side of mac and cheese. sooooooo good

baoo

Points +101

Vegan
30 May 2023

Really good

Got Beyond Banh Mi Steak Sandwich and Crispy Cauliflower. Super delicious.

msorrentino

Points +22

Vegan
27 May 2023

Never have to worry about quality

Veggie grill is consistently good. They’ve got lots of options and even have sweet things for those of us that have a sweet tooth.

Pros: Variety, Quality

Cons: Pricing

BaileySchneider

Points +2105

Vegan
21 Aug 2022

Great salads, high prices

This is the second location I’ve been to.
Staff was nice but seemed to do bare minimum. Still not really any complaints though.
I got the Chinese chicken salad without cucumbers. It was really good. They seemed to give you much more chicken than the other location does which is nice. I have nothing bad to say about taste. I still like the Caesar more, but it was still delicious.
I also got the strawberry lemonade. Yummy as always.
Price was very high. Almost $19 for just a salad and a drink. For a chain restaurant, I know they are making a huge profit. If they were a few bucks cheaper I would come much more often.
Inside was also a little dirty, but I came around lunch so I understand. However, there was a lot of staff just hanging around not really doing anything when they could have picked up some tables and trash.
Service could use a little fixing, as well as pricing, but salads are always tasty here.

volcanoveg

Points +34

Vegan
05 Aug 2022

Good food, quickly

I ordered a bean burger and a Mediterranean lentil soup. Both were very tasty and filling. My friends ordered a “fish” sandwich and a curry(?) bowl. We did this thru the website and picked it up when they said it would be ready. It was so easy and quick!

Dancingbarefoot

Points +577

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

Excellent

Great food and affordable. Friendly staff. We had the Cesar salad, BBQ wings (both good!), mac n cheeze (a little gluey) and then almost all of the deserts (all amazing!)

LindsayNeussl

Points +788

Vegan
06 Sep 2021

Who doesn't love vegan fast food?

Always a staple when visiting Cali, best vegan fast food and decently healthy!

Pros: All vegan

Cons: None!

Adventurechica

Points +1095

Vegan
17 Mar 2021

Vegan fast food

Good quick eats. Nom nom! I can get in and out order and pick up quick vegan meal

Pros: Lots of options , Easy ordering , Online order

Cons: Busy parking lot , Not many locations

hopevsnschaick

Points +261

Vegan
27 Nov 2020

Great Food. Been there numerous times

Just had there Thanksgiving meal

Pros: Had pot pie , Pumpkin pie, Mashed potatoes and carrots

Dariush

Points +740

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Nice option

Obviously the bulk of the menu is fake meat-centered fast food. However there are some healthier whole food options. Great place to take omnivores.

NatalieMayer

Points +378

Vegan
15 Dec 2019

I'm obsessed with Veggie Grill

Whether a burger or a salad..this place has it all! Great, quick service, nice seating area and delicious food of course!

Pros: Delicious!! wide variety of food, close to target

Cons: Nothing :)

veganpatch

Points +5252

Vegan
19 Oct 2019

Great Customer Service

We enjoy Veggie Grill although we find them bit expensive at times.

We went around 3pm on a Saturday and have a great experience. The staff were surprisingly friendly, knowledgable and professional, something I don't really expect from a cafe type place like this.

We've really enjoyed most things we've had at Veggie Grill.

We don't like their mashed potatoes and gravy and have heard their Mac n cheese isn't good. But other than that it's been great.

We love that it normalizes veganism. We'd love to be able to take our family to one of these.

LRosenquist

Points +48

Vegan
21 Sep 2019

Will absolutely go back

First time here and had a great meal and great overall experience.

Pros: 100% vegan, Has both junk food and healthy options , Damn tasty, and has friendly folks

sleepytumbleweed

Points +29

Vegan
18 Jun 2019

Good food, and quick

I eat here at least 2x per month. The food is good and they have gluten friendly options. Their menu's change with the season and the changes are to be looked forward to! 😀

Pros: All vegan and nothing but. Gluten free brownies!

Cons: Can get expensive.

jjo

Points +348

Vegetarian
19 Dec 2018

the McDonald'ization of a previously good vegan place

Veggie Grill has been lowering its quality: tastes like canned vegetables, generic "full-smile-don't-care" impersonal customer care, and venue lacking mood / vibes.

Pros: vegan

Cons: mac-donald's style place, untasty vegetables

Anasmokra

Points +40

Vegan
19 Sep 2017

Too spicy

Everything, besides fries, we ordered was too spicy, so we didn't finish it. Will not come again.

MizzB

Points +3715

Vegan
11 Aug 2017

Vegan delightful & delicious

This was my first visit to this location, 2nd visit overall to a Veggie Grill. Chose this one from HappyCow because of the location being in mall parking lot, as we were visiting San Jose for the day, and did not want to deal with looking for parking during evening rush hour with a toddler in tow. Good food, even better since 100% vegan & no need to ask about what's in the food & how it's prepared. Tasty buffalo cauliflower could use a bit more seasoning. The toddler enjoyed the creamy, well seasoned Mac & cheese, as did I. Standard fries. Crab cake sandwich was quite good! Opted out on dessert as we were quite full.

EmiOh

Points +28

Vegetarian
01 Aug 2017

Non meat eaters liked it too!

I have been to this restaurant with meat eaters a few times now, and they all are surprised how good the food is.

Recently, my spouses company ordered from them for lunch for the entire office. Everyone was happy with their meal. And, the beast burger was a big hit.

The BLT is really good, and the grilled corn on the cob tastes great too. Just the right amount of crunch, and spice.

It is one of the few places I can get my non-vegetarian friends to go with me.

Pros: Clean and bright, friendly staff, Lots of menu options, quick service, No meat contamination

Cons: The specialized teas and ades were not my favorite

ElleKay

Points +13

Vegetarian
22 Jan 2017

Quality Down...

Have been a faithful fan of this chain for the last five years - eating mostly out of the Santana Row location, but switched to the Westgate one since it is more convenient for parking. Ate here last night after a gap of more than 6 months and was shocked at how the quality of some of the menu items had deteriorated- the crispy cauliflower that used to be a delicious golden bite had transformed into a soggy brown underfried but smoky disaster (even after the staff had replaced it), and the grilled cheese tasted old and rancid. Some of the items continue to be standouts - the buffalo chicken, the recent Masala Bowl were excellent. Please fix what is broken to retain a loyal customer.

Limitlesslove

Points +30

Vegan
22 Oct 2015

delicious for all (meat eaters included!!)

I didn't know about this chain and that their menu is all plant based until using this app. I'm super excited to go back and try more items from the menu as my visit was superb!

They have a really great selection- from salads to wraps to faux chicken dishes. We ordered 4 meals and a chocolate chip cookie and we love them all!

This is a great choice if you're looking for a place to satisfy meat eaters as well. My brother in law even thought his sandwich was truly chicken (and he gives rave reviews).

Pros: varied menu, friendly staff, delicious

Cons: fresh juices all have added sugar

mgohil84

Points +16

Vegan
03 Sep 2015

Yummy Vegan joint!

My husband and I ate here this past Sunday, I was really impressed by the customer service and the food was pretty awesome. I ordered the Chikn' strips and the grilled chikn' Burger, pretty cool how they we're able to do a mock of the chicken meat, very tasty vegan Burger. I didn't like the Buffalo Burger much it tasted to artificial for my taste. Over all, this will be one of my go to places for American food.

Pros: Great vegan options, the faux chicken is pretty am

Cons: a bit on the pricey range, now sure if their food

WokWildside

Points +158

Vegan
23 Jun 2015

Good Quality and High Expectations

The Veggie Grill in San Jose, Westgate, is one of the newer (as of June 2015) locations of this national chain. Much like Native Foods and Loving Hut, there is a familiarity and level of quality that is expected and delivered from each location of Veggie Grill. This one does not disappoint. Service was friendly, food was made quickly, and flavors were very good. A few Veggie Grills suffer from inconsistent serving portions, but this one was very generous with the All Hail Kale that I ordered. The lightly grilled tempeh was perfectly done and went well with the well-seasoned salad. There was a little less quinoa than what I've come to expect in the salad, but that's not uncommon... I think I was spoiled at a few locations of Veggie Grill that gave a lot more quinoa. The summer menu item of Haricot Vert was good. The sauce was very well-balanced, and there wasn't too much of it. My one complaint would be that the green beans could have been trimmed a little better. There were a few green beans that were a bit rougher at the ends. Not inedible in any way, but attention to detail is important.

Pros: Veggie Grill Brand as expected, well-balanced flavors at a good value, very good customer service

Cons: Just opened and still working on details, Should standardize ingredient quantities

macmantrl

Points +165

Vegan
31 May 2015

Vegan comfort food

Same, great vegan comfort food, as always. Veggie Grill never disappoints.
This location is pretty close to the one in Santana Row, so if you either don't want to deal with Santana Row or find this location more convenient (as it is for me) then this Veggie Grill is a great alternative. Same food as all other locations. This one is on the premises of the Westgate Mall (but not inside, a separate building) which makes it really convenient if you need to do some shopping and grab a bite to eat.




This page has been viewed 8391 times.